Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release v3.0.0 build 3047 - 03 February 2019. See the Wiki for download

National Geographic Weather Station Issue

Discussion and questions about Cumulus weather station software version 1. This section and its subforums are the main place to get help with Cumulus. Anything which is not specific to the type of weather station goes in here; for anything specific to a type of weather station, please use the appropriate subforum. Use the 'website development' section for any questions relating to creating or running a web site for Cumulus data. Discussion of the stations themselves in these sections is fine.
Post Reply
Alpine_Skier_UK
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri 23 Sep 2011 10:07 pm
Weather Station: National Geographic 265NC
Operating System: Windows XP
Location: Ontario, Canada

National Geographic Weather Station Issue

Post by Alpine_Skier_UK » Fri 23 Sep 2011 10:16 pm

Hi....



This may be the wrong place to ask this, and my apoligies if it is, but i just got a National Geographic Weather Station. I was using the bundled software (Easy Weather) but found it to be lacking.

After reading a recomendation for the Cumulus Software, i downloaded that and it works wonderful. Except for one niggleing issue. When the unit is not connected to my computer, it doesnt log any data. So if i turn my laptop off over night, i cant see what occured!!!

Has anyone used this setup before and if so, is there some silly setting i have missed to ensure it logs data when not connected to the laptop, or is it some setting in Cumulus to retrieve logged data??

Any help would be gratefully received.

Thanks.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26717
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: National Geographic Weather Station Issue

Post by steve » Sat 24 Sep 2011 9:48 am

Cumulus will automatically download logger data when it starts up, unless you tell it not to. I've seen Fine Offset stations stop logging on occasion; sometimes resetting the logging interval using Easyweather gets it going again. If you zip up the Cumulus diags folder and attach it, I'll take a look.
Steve

Alpine_Skier_UK
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri 23 Sep 2011 10:07 pm
Weather Station: National Geographic 265NC
Operating System: Windows XP
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: National Geographic Weather Station Issue

Post by Alpine_Skier_UK » Sat 24 Sep 2011 1:24 pm

Thanks Steve,

The Weather station still has the data as i can scroll back on the touch screen and see it ok.
Hope the attached file is what you wee after and they shed some light on how to resolve.

Thanks for your help. :D
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26717
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: National Geographic Weather Station Issue

Post by steve » Sat 24 Sep 2011 1:32 pm

You've selected a station type with solar sensors, but I don't think your station has solar sensors?
Steve

Alpine_Skier_UK
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri 23 Sep 2011 10:07 pm
Weather Station: National Geographic 265NC
Operating System: Windows XP
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: National Geographic Weather Station Issue

Post by Alpine_Skier_UK » Sat 24 Sep 2011 1:53 pm

Oh... Is that the issue!!! Oooppps... newbie error!!

Sorry.

I have corrected that error so will that fix the other problem?

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26717
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: National Geographic Weather Station Issue

Post by steve » Sat 24 Sep 2011 2:41 pm

Yes, that was the problem. It couldn't make sense of the logger data because of the wrong station type.
Steve

Alpine_Skier_UK
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri 23 Sep 2011 10:07 pm
Weather Station: National Geographic 265NC
Operating System: Windows XP
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: National Geographic Weather Station Issue

Post by Alpine_Skier_UK » Sat 24 Sep 2011 8:06 pm

Well i just got back from a 5 hour trip out and plugged in the weather station...... and it worked!!!

Thanks for your help Steve. Sorry it was such a silly problem. :bash:

Post Reply