Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.28.5 (build 3282) - 23 February 2024

Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of drop-down menus to 2030)

Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items) from the Wiki

Extra sensor data missing

From build 3044 the development baton passed to Mark Crossley. Mark has been responsible for all the Builds since. He has made the code available on GitHub. It is Mark's hope that others will join in this development, but at the very least he welcomes your ideas for future developments (see Cumulus MX Development suggestions).

Moderator: mcrossley

Post Reply
packman2008
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri 30 Dec 2022 5:33 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 + WLL
Operating System: Debian Bullseye
Location: Blackpool, UK
Contact:

Extra sensor data missing

Post by packman2008 »

My main station is a VP2 but I've just added an Ecowitt GW1100 as a second station to allow me to add some (cheaper!) extra sensors to monitor other places, e.g. the greenhouse.

I've gone through what I think is the correct configuration but I'm missing some of the extra sensor data and can't figure out why. Here's what I know...

1) The GW1100 is set up and connected to WiFi. It's currently got two sensors registered on it (WN32 - T/RH sensor and WH51 - Soil moisture). These sensors, along with the indoor temp and pressure from the GW1100, and battery status, are all correctly displaying in the Ecowitt app on my phone.

2) I've configured extra sensors in CMX to have Ecowitt HTTP and have set the GW1100 (using the phone app) to have the correct CMX IP/Port and data path (/station/ecowittextra) with an update freq of 16s for the customised upload option. This appears to work because I've turned on debugging and can see something like this every 16 seconds in my MXdiags log

Code: Select all

2023-11-26 17:29:53.827 ProcessExtraData: Processing posted data
2023-11-26 17:29:53.827 ProcessExtraData: Payload = PASSKEY=<PassKey>&stationtype=GW1100A_V2.2.8&runtime=2423&dateutc=2023-11-26+17:29:28&tempinf=68.36&humidityin=50&baromrelin=29.870&baromabsin=29.796&tempf=42.98&humidity=83&soilmoisture1=32&soilad1=190&wh26batt=0&soilbatt1=1.6&freq=868M&model=GW1100A&interval=16
2023-11-26 17:29:53.829 ProcessExtraData: Complete
So correct data is being reported to CMX by the GW1100.

3) I looked at the Extra Sensors page in CMX but didn't see any values. That lead me to searching the forum where I saw that I probably hadn't enabled sensor visibility. So I turned on extra sensor T1/RH1 and Soil 1 visibility. Now I see the correct soil moisture value (32%), but not the T/RH values.

4) I also checked in the ExtraLog file and see this...

Code: Select all

26/11/23,17:39,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,32,0,0,0,0,0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0,0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0
26/11/23,17:40,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,32,0,0,0,0,0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0,0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0
...all zeroes apart from 32 which I assume is the soil moisture value.

Any thoughts on what I'm doing wrong and how to fix it?
Chris

https://blackpool.weather-watch.com/
CMX build 3278 ● CU 6.23.5 ● Davis VP2+WLL & Ecowitt GW1100 ● Khadas Edge v1 ● Debian Bullseye 11.7 ● Mono 6.12.0.200
packman2008
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri 30 Dec 2022 5:33 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 + WLL
Operating System: Debian Bullseye
Location: Blackpool, UK
Contact:

Re: Extra sensor data missing

Post by packman2008 »

Having done some digging and looking at the source code I think I understand more now. If I'm right, even though the Ecowitt data is being delivered to /station/ecowittextra the indoor and out door temp and humidity (tempinf/humidityin and tempf/humidity) in the extra data aren't treated as extra temperature/humidity values. They're alternatives to the indoor/outdoor values provided by the Davis VP2 and as you can only have one indoor/outdoor value the VP2 value is used in preference (as I've not used the setting to use the Ecowitt values instead).

So, that means I can't use the indoor/outdoor values as input to CMX. I assume I'd need to buy one of the 8-way T/RH sensors to get extra T/RH values? Unless...

I can point the GW1000 to a PHP web page of my own and capture the data string being passed. If I then copied tempinf to temp7f, tempf to temp8f, humidityin to humidity7 and humidity to humidity8, and then sent the string on to /station/ecowittextra CMX would log the '7' and '8' values as if they were extra sensors?

I can easily capture the data sent by the GW1000. How would I formulate a call to /station/ecowittextra to upload the modified data, e.g. POST vs GET, MIME encoding, etc? /station/ecowittextra looks to be a 'virtual' web page within the code of CMX so I've not been able to figure out what it's expecting to see so far.
Chris

https://blackpool.weather-watch.com/
CMX build 3278 ● CU 6.23.5 ● Davis VP2+WLL & Ecowitt GW1100 ● Khadas Edge v1 ● Debian Bullseye 11.7 ● Mono 6.12.0.200
freddie
Posts: 2402
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2011 11:19 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2 + Ecowitt
Operating System: GNU/Linux Ubuntu 22.04 LXC
Location: Alcaston, Shropshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Extra sensor data missing

Post by freddie »

Surely the answer to your question is that the format MX requires is the one that you will handle with your PHP page as you intercept the data from your ecowitt gateway?
Freddie
Image
User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 12553
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2/WLL
Operating System: Bullseye Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Extra sensor data missing

Post by mcrossley »

freddie wrote: Sun 26 Nov 2023 10:44 pm Surely the answer to your question is that the format MX requires is the one that you will handle with your PHP page as you intercept the data from your ecowitt gateway?
Correct, it is POST, with the data in the body, bizarrely formatted as a URL string that could just have been sent as a simple GET :groan: :roll:

You also posted it in the log excerpt above.
packman2008
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri 30 Dec 2022 5:33 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 + WLL
Operating System: Debian Bullseye
Location: Blackpool, UK
Contact:

Re: Extra sensor data missing

Post by packman2008 »

I got a 404 error when I tried to forward the data into CMX. I'll try again tomorrow when my brain is less tired.
Chris

https://blackpool.weather-watch.com/
CMX build 3278 ● CU 6.23.5 ● Davis VP2+WLL & Ecowitt GW1100 ● Khadas Edge v1 ● Debian Bullseye 11.7 ● Mono 6.12.0.200
packman2008
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri 30 Dec 2022 5:33 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 + WLL
Operating System: Debian Bullseye
Location: Blackpool, UK
Contact:

Re: Extra sensor data missing

Post by packman2008 »

I re-wrote my quick and dirty test script and it's working OK.
Chris

https://blackpool.weather-watch.com/
CMX build 3278 ● CU 6.23.5 ● Davis VP2+WLL & Ecowitt GW1100 ● Khadas Edge v1 ● Debian Bullseye 11.7 ● Mono 6.12.0.200
iandrews
Posts: 139
Joined: Sun 03 Jan 2010 10:57 am
Weather Station: Davis Pro2
Operating System: Windows 2012R2
Location: London

Re: Extra sensor data missing

Post by iandrews »

packman2008 wrote: Mon 27 Nov 2023 1:28 pm I re-wrote my quick and dirty test script and it's working OK.
That's good. I do something similar with a PowerShell script, and get the GW1100 temp, and the temp of the CO2 sensor, and map them to extra sensor 9 and 10 so I can see them on the same graph as my other extra temps.
Post Reply