Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.28.5 (build 3282) - 23 February 2024

Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of drop-down menus to 2030)

Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items) from the Wiki

WLL Average wind speed

Discussion specific to Davis weather stations
Post Reply
Mapantz
Posts: 1770
Joined: Sat 17 Dec 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 11 x64
Location: Dorset - UK
Contact:

WLL Average wind speed

Post by Mapantz »

Does the WLL calculate an average wind speed?

I have been trying to get the average wind speed logged natively in the Realtime SQL table, in tenths. I disabled 'Calculate average wind speed' in CMX and it stopped updating altogether.
Image
User avatar
ConligWX
Posts: 1563
Joined: Mon 19 May 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis vPro2+ w/DFARS + AirLink
Operating System: Ubuntu 22.04 LTS
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: WLL Average wind speed

Post by ConligWX »

it seems to be shown here at least

https://weatherlink.github.io/weatherli ... local-api/

Capture.PNG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Regards Simon

https://www.conligwx.org - @conligwx
Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus with Daytime FARS • WeatherLink Live • Davis AirLink • PurpleAir •

Image
Mapantz
Posts: 1770
Joined: Sat 17 Dec 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 11 x64
Location: Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: WLL Average wind speed

Post by Mapantz »

hmm

Well, turning that option off stops the average wind speed from updating for me.
Image
User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 12492
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2/WLL
Operating System: Bullseye Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: WLL Average wind speed

Post by mcrossley »

The WLL does not send an average speed in the broadcast data.
The "current" data does, but it only updates once a minute and lags by a minute.
So the station enables the calculate option.
Mapantz
Posts: 1770
Joined: Sat 17 Dec 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 11 x64
Location: Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: WLL Average wind speed

Post by Mapantz »

mcrossley wrote: Tue 21 Nov 2023 6:21 pm The WLL does not send an average speed in the broadcast data.
The more I explore Davis, the less I understand!

Is there any way to get the average wind speed in tenths, in to the standard realtime table?
Image
User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 12492
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2/WLL
Operating System: Bullseye Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: WLL Average wind speed

Post by mcrossley »

Ah, yes...

Station Settings | General Settings | Units | Advanced Options | Wind speed average decimals
Mapantz
Posts: 1770
Joined: Sat 17 Dec 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 11 x64
Location: Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: WLL Average wind speed

Post by Mapantz »

mcrossley wrote: Tue 21 Nov 2023 7:32 pm Ah, yes...

Station Settings | General Settings | Units | Advanced Options | Wind speed average decimals
That's the one!

The dragons kept me out.

Thanks Mark!
Image
Post Reply