Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.28.5 (build 3282) - 23 February 2024

Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of drop-down menus to 2030)

Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items) from the Wiki

VP not woken - Help for a new user

Discussion specific to Davis weather stations
inmyrvm
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu 19 Nov 2020 9:16 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Windows 10

VP not woken - Help for a new user

Post by inmyrvm »

Hi,

Brand new to this as I'm trying to find a replacement to Virtual Weather Station for creating a web site with my VP2 which is connected to my PC via a USB datalogger. Saw a lot of good comments about this and decided to give it a try. I've downloaded the CumulusMX software and unzipped it to C:\CumulusMX. Did the netsh command per the Wiki. Started CumulusMX and ran the admin interface to enter my configuration (VP2). Wasn't sure what to put for COM port but started with COM1 and log file says it connected to station but as you can see by the screen shot of the dashboard and the comments in the MXdiags log file it's not able to make a connection to the console. I see messages about VP2 not woken and LOOP2 may not be supported, etc. Also interesting though perhaps not relevant is the inability to determine the firmware version.

Have I missed a step, or perhaps need some additional software/hardware?

Thanks.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 12567
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2/WLL
Operating System: Bullseye Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: VP not woken - Help for a new user

Post by mcrossley »

I think you need to find the correct COM port. Open Device Manager, and look for "Ports (COM & LPT)", expand that and you should find your stations com port in there.

You will need to restart Cumulus after changing the port in the configuration.
inmyrvm
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu 19 Nov 2020 9:16 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: VP not woken - Help for a new user

Post by inmyrvm »

That's what I thought too. But I've only got two ports listed in there (see attached), COM1 and LPT1. I'm assuming my VP2 is connecting to COM1 via the USB connection.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 3292
Joined: Tue 09 Dec 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: W10 - Threadripper 16core, etc
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: VP not woken - Help for a new user

Post by beteljuice »

Note your USB device 'failure' ...

Try the steps mentioned here
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !
inmyrvm
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu 19 Nov 2020 9:16 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: VP not woken - Help for a new user

Post by inmyrvm »

That failed USB port was just the camera I use for zoom calls and such. I just re-seeded it and it was fine and now there's a COM6 listed which I assume is the camera. I restarted CumulusMX after that and got the same messages in the log file. It's just not connecting to the VP2 console. But the data is feeding into WeatherLink on my desktop fine and posting to WU, etc. How do I know for sure what com port my VP2 is using?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 3292
Joined: Tue 09 Dec 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: W10 - Threadripper 16core, etc
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: VP not woken - Help for a new user

Post by beteljuice »

Thought ...

In Device Manager, under 'View' did you check 'Show Hidden Devices' ?

right-clicking on a port should tell you what's connected.
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !
RayProudfoot
Posts: 3370
Joined: Wed 06 May 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: VP not woken - Help for a new user

Post by RayProudfoot »

Anything plugged into a USB port needs the "Allow the computer to turn off this device to save power" to be deselected. Right-click entry, Properties, Power Management tab.
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image
User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 12567
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2/WLL
Operating System: Bullseye Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: VP not woken - Help for a new user

Post by mcrossley »

You are also using WeatherLink?

Look in the WeatherLink config - it will show which port it is using.

You know you cannot run both Cumulus and WeatherLink at the same time?
inmyrvm
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu 19 Nov 2020 9:16 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: VP not woken - Help for a new user

Post by inmyrvm »

I did NOT know that WeatherLink and Cumulus couldn't be run concurrently so it seemed like that would be the game changer. But I closed WL and started Cumulus again and got the same exact responses in the log.

I also did check the power management tab and the save power box WAS checked so I unchecked it.

And according to WL config I'm using COM1 which is what Cumulus is set to.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
freddie
Posts: 2404
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2011 11:19 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2 + Ecowitt
Operating System: GNU/Linux Ubuntu 22.04 LXC
Location: Alcaston, Shropshire, UK
Contact:

Re: VP not woken - Help for a new user

Post by freddie »

@mcrossley - this looks like it is using usb rather than serial. Doesn't that cause problems?
Freddie
Image
prodata
Posts: 317
Joined: Sat 05 Feb 2011 7:13 pm
Weather Station: VP2
Operating System: Windows - all flavours
Location: Littleport, East Cambs, UK

Re: VP not woken - Help for a new user

Post by prodata »

freddie wrote: Fri 27 Nov 2020 5:29 pm @mcrossley - this looks like it is using usb rather than serial. Doesn't that cause problems?
Not Mark of course, but yes the USBXpress entry in the USB ports list looks suspiciously like the logger being in USBX mode rather than serial. Probably needs the CP210X USB to Serial converter running (from the Weatherlink section of the Windows Start menu). Weatherlink will then need moving to use Serial (over USB) rather than straight USB. And still one program at a time please.
John Dann
Prodata Weather Systems
Littleport, East Cambs, UK
http://www.weatherstations.co.uk
User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 12567
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2/WLL
Operating System: Bullseye Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: VP not woken - Help for a new user

Post by mcrossley »

prodata wrote: Fri 27 Nov 2020 6:29 pm Not Mark of course, but yes the USBXpress entry in the USB ports list looks suspiciously like the logger being in USBX mode rather than serial. Probably needs the CP210X USB to Serial converter running (from the Weatherlink section of the Windows Start menu). Weatherlink will then need moving to use Serial (over USB) rather than straight USB. And still one program at a time please.
+1
inmyrvm
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu 19 Nov 2020 9:16 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: VP not woken - Help for a new user

Post by inmyrvm »

Yep the serial converter did the trick. Thanks.

Quick question, I was uploading my data to WU and CWOP. I assume that's still possible with Cumulus since I won't have WL running?
inmyrvm
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu 19 Nov 2020 9:16 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: VP not woken - Help for a new user

Post by inmyrvm »

I found the internet settings in Cumulus and CWOP is transmitting but WU is not updating after 20 minutes and I did confirm station iD and password. Any special tricks for WU or does it just take longer?

* update: I see in the cumulus log it is trying to send to WU using the updateweatherstation.php script but the response is that it's unauthorized. I did confirm the station id and password. To be sure I changed the password in WU and then in Cumulus and it's still saying unauthorized.
Last edited by inmyrvm on Sat 28 Nov 2020 9:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
freddie
Posts: 2404
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2011 11:19 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2 + Ecowitt
Operating System: GNU/Linux Ubuntu 22.04 LXC
Location: Alcaston, Shropshire, UK
Contact:

Re: VP not woken - Help for a new user

Post by freddie »

If you look in the log file in the MXdiags folder you can check whether or not the WU sends are working okay.
Freddie
Image
Post Reply