Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.11.4 (build 3133) - 25 May 2021
Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of drop-down menus to 2030)

Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items) from the Wiki

If you are interested in supporting Cumulus then maybe you would like to contribute to the maintenance of the Wiki? This need not take hours of your time - just a half hour here and there can make a big difference, particularly if many people are doing this. Any contributions are very welcome, whether they involve new content or editing of existing content. It will be very helpful to current and future users of Cumulus software if the Wiki is kept well-maintained and current. If you are interested then please contact forum user saratogaWX and ask for a Wiki account.

Decimal places barometer VP2

Discussion specific to Davis weather stations
Post Reply
Stefano G
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun 30 Jun 2019 8:17 am
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Raspbian

Decimal places barometer VP2

Post by Stefano G »

Hi,

is there a way to show the barometer as 1 decimal point instead of 2 decimal points in CumulusMX?

Thanks
Stefano

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 8565
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2/WLL
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Decimal places barometer VP2

Post by mcrossley »

MX uses 1 dp for hPa/mb and 2 dp for inHg in web tags, there is no way of changing that via MX, though you can do what you want on your web site of course

Stefano G
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun 30 Jun 2019 8:17 am
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Raspbian

Re: Decimal places barometer VP2

Post by Stefano G »

mcrossley wrote:
Sat 04 Apr 2020 6:32 pm
MX uses 1 dp for hPa/mb and 2 dp for inHg in web tags, there is no way of changing that via MX, though you can do what you want on your web site of course
Not for me! I see the barometer with two dp also in hPa, and the tag <#press> returns the same value on the website
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Hobbyist
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon 30 Jun 2014 12:02 pm
Weather Station: Instromet Mk 3
Operating System: Raspberry Pi Zero & CumulusMX
Location: Kent

Re: Decimal places barometer VP2

Post by Hobbyist »

Interestingly my webpage with an Instromet data logging system shows 1 decimal place on pressure in mb.
My identical set up with a Davis Vantage Pro2 logging sytem does show 2 decimal places on pressure in mb!

Dave

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 8565
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2/WLL
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Decimal places barometer VP2

Post by mcrossley »

Ah! You're talking about the admin interface. Yes at the moment that displays whatever the station sends. It should really honour the defined formats for everything. I'll put it on the ToDo list!.... :)

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 8565
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2/WLL
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Decimal places barometer VP2

Post by mcrossley »

Another look, and the code is all in place, but Cumulus increases the number of decimal places for Davis stations by one.

I notice that in build 3042 Steve added an option for Davis stations to switch off the extra dp that gets added for them...

https://cumuluswiki.org/a/Version_3.0.0 ... 17.2C_2017

DavisIncrementPressureDP=0

User avatar
HansR
Posts: 2199
Joined: Sat 20 Oct 2012 6:53 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2+
Operating System: Raspbian GNU/Linux 10 (Buster)
Location: Wagenborgen (NL)
Contact:

Re: Decimal places barometer VP2

Post by HansR »

Thanks, interesting parameter. Nobody knew and neither did you. The funny depths of an application :lol:
Hans

https://meteo-wagenborgen.nl
Cumulus build 3132 ● Davis Vantage Pro 2+ ● RPi 3B+ ● Raspbian 5.10.17-v7+ ● Mono 5.18.0.240

Stefano G
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun 30 Jun 2019 8:17 am
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Raspbian

Re: Decimal places barometer VP2

Post by Stefano G »

mcrossley wrote:
Sat 04 Apr 2020 11:32 pm
Another look, and the code is all in place, but Cumulus increases the number of decimal places for Davis stations by one.

I notice that in build 3042 Steve added an option for Davis stations to switch off the extra dp that gets added for them...

https://cumuluswiki.org/a/Version_3.0.0 ... 17.2C_2017

DavisIncrementPressureDP=0
Thank you so much, I added the line and the problem is now fixed!

Post Reply