Welcome to the new home of the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See the Wiki for download

Wetbulb and Cumulus

Discussion of Ken True's web site templates

Moderator: saratogaWX

Post Reply
User avatar
aznetcowboy
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri 04 Jan 2013 6:03 pm
Weather Station: Davis 6153 Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 Home 64-bit
Location: Tucson, AZ
Contact:

Wetbulb and Cumulus

Post by aznetcowboy » Fri 06 Oct 2017 12:55 am

I got an email today asking "Could you consider posting wetbulb like frogville. This is valuable for guys using evaporative cooling."

First of all, Frogville is another site in Southern Arizona using a different software than Cumulus. Next, I have no idea what make this wetbulb this work. Is there such a thing a wetbulb for Cumulus or Saratoga Template systems?
Tom Wills
Kingston Knolls Terrace, Tucson, AZ

El Gheko Neighborhood Weather Station: http://www.elgheko.us
El Gheko Neighborhood Association: http://na.elgheko.us

Image

User avatar
saratogaWX
Posts: 906
Joined: Wed 06 May 2009 5:02 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro Plus
Operating System: Windows 10 Professional
Location: Saratoga, CA, USA
Contact:

Re: Wetbulb and Cumulus

Post by saratogaWX » Fri 06 Oct 2017 1:51 am

Yes, Cumulus does produce a wet bulb temperature tag. In the Saratoga template, it shows as $WX['wetbulb']

On a page where you'd like the value shown, just use

Code: Select all

<?php print "Wet bulb Temperature ".$WX['wetbulb'].$SITE['uomTemp']; ?>
I'd not included a $wetbulb value in the CU-defs.php, but using $WX['wetbulb'] works just as well.

Hope this helps...

Best regards,
Ken

User avatar
aznetcowboy
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri 04 Jan 2013 6:03 pm
Weather Station: Davis 6153 Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 Home 64-bit
Location: Tucson, AZ
Contact:

Re: Wetbulb and Cumulus

Post by aznetcowboy » Fri 06 Oct 2017 5:43 pm

What is involved in setting up a "wetbulb"? I assume there is some equipment that is required. Would that equipment need to be attached to my Davis weather station or how does it communicate to the "$WX['wetbulb'] " code?
Tom Wills
Kingston Knolls Terrace, Tucson, AZ

El Gheko Neighborhood Weather Station: http://www.elgheko.us
El Gheko Neighborhood Association: http://na.elgheko.us

Image

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26714
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Wetbulb and Cumulus

Post by steve » Fri 06 Oct 2017 5:47 pm

It's calculated from your outside temperature and humidity. No additional sensors required.
Steve

User avatar
aznetcowboy
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri 04 Jan 2013 6:03 pm
Weather Station: Davis 6153 Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 Home 64-bit
Location: Tucson, AZ
Contact:

Re: Wetbulb and Cumulus

Post by aznetcowboy » Fri 06 Oct 2017 6:05 pm

Thank you, Steve. I will add that code to my site. Then I can be up there with Frogville. With our climate, this is importat information (so I am told) for those people who use evaporative coolers instead of air conditioning.
Tom Wills
Kingston Knolls Terrace, Tucson, AZ

El Gheko Neighborhood Weather Station: http://www.elgheko.us
El Gheko Neighborhood Association: http://na.elgheko.us

Image

Post Reply