Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.28.5 (build 3282) - 23 February 2024

Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of drop-down menus to 2030)

Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items) from the Wiki

2nd Anemometer Failing

Discussion specific to Davis weather stations
Mapantz
Posts: 1770
Joined: Sat 17 Dec 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 11 x64
Location: Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: 2nd Anemometer Failing

Post by Mapantz »

I'm 10 miles from the coast, and sheltered by the Purbeck hills. Salt air isn't an issue here.

Anyway, I'm sticking to what I said earlier. I'll let the anemometer finish itself off, but I won't be replacing it, nor any other parts of the Davis station.

The only original part of my initial set up is the sim box. Unacceptable to go through so many parts failures in such a short space of time. Davis equipment isn't any more reliable than the competitors, and it's grossly overpriced.
Image
User avatar
ConligWX
Posts: 1563
Joined: Mon 19 May 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis vPro2+ w/DFARS + AirLink
Operating System: Ubuntu 22.04 LTS
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: 2nd Anemometer Failing

Post by ConligWX »

prodata wrote: Tue 28 Mar 2023 8:14 pm
Well, I could say several things to that, but let me keep it short:

1. Ever wondered why dealers don't engage more often with this sort of forum? Maybe I am stupid to even try and help by trying to explain things from a dealer's perspective.
I think for most people they dont know of the situations that dealerships have with the vendor. why should they, though it is nice that you at least, interact with your customers on forums to allow valuable information to be given/received in these situations. Much appreciated in my opinion.
Regards Simon

https://www.conligwx.org - @conligwx
Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus with Daytime FARS • WeatherLink Live • Davis AirLink • PurpleAir •

Image
RayProudfoot
Posts: 3361
Joined: Wed 06 May 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: 2nd Anemometer Failing

Post by RayProudfoot »

What I don’t understand is why potentiometers are still being used when a Hall Effect sensor must be a viable option.

My other hobby is flight simulation and I used to use Saitek throttle quadrants. £60 for a three axis unit. It worked fine for around 4 years but when the pot failed the whole unit had to be thrown away as Saitek made no provision for replacing pots costing a few pence.

That’s pretty outrageous really when we’re trying to stop waste.

So maybe Davis need to up their game and make their anemometers as robust as possible. It can’t be beyond the wit of man to replace a pot with a Hall Effect sensor. :bash:
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image
User avatar
Super-T
Posts: 890
Joined: Tue 09 Sep 2008 3:37 am
Weather Station: wh-1081
Operating System: Weather Laptop - Windows 10 Pro
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: 2nd Anemometer Failing

Post by Super-T »

Hi John
The beauty of the Consumer Guarantee Act is that a Distributor, Seller, Shop can't negotiate out of the the CGA.
The CGA only applies to NEW stuff but I think there can be a case for USED goods that are falsely advertised.
prodata
Posts: 317
Joined: Sat 05 Feb 2011 7:13 pm
Weather Station: VP2
Operating System: Windows - all flavours
Location: Littleport, East Cambs, UK

Re: 2nd Anemometer Failing

Post by prodata »

RayProudfoot wrote: Wed 29 Mar 2023 9:11 pm What I don’t understand is why potentiometers are still being used when a Hall Effect sensor must be a viable option.
I suspect that there are multiple reasons why the 6410 anemometer still uses a pot, like:

It's relatively rare for the direction reading to become faulty, certainly as a result of a wearing potentiometer. Where there is a problem then it can also be a faulty ISS board or a cable fault. (Please don't interpret this as me saying that the pot is never at fault, but honestly it is pretty rare, at least within the first 5 years - maybe longer - of use.)

Second, Davis do know all about Hall Effect direction sensors - after all this has been standard in the Vue model for 12-13 years now IIRC.

But compatibility is probably the reason. AIUI a HE sensor would need a change to the ISS SIM board input circuitry and so we would end up with old and new versions of both SIM board and anemometer, which would be mutually incompatible. This has significant cost implications for both Davis and dealers (in all of development, manufacturing, stock-holding and support) and so overall my guess is that there simply isn't a convincing cost-benefit justification.
John Dann
Prodata Weather Systems
Littleport, East Cambs, UK
http://www.weatherstations.co.uk
RayProudfoot
Posts: 3361
Joined: Wed 06 May 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: 2nd Anemometer Failing

Post by RayProudfoot »

Thanks for explaining things John. Makes sense. I can’t recall my direction indicator failing. It’s always been the speed element.
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image
Mapantz
Posts: 1770
Joined: Sat 17 Dec 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 11 x64
Location: Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: 2nd Anemometer Failing

Post by Mapantz »

The 360° directions are really kicking in today.
Image
User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 12492
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2/WLL
Operating System: Bullseye Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: 2nd Anemometer Failing

Post by mcrossley »

You get 360 when the pot goes "open circuit" ie the wiper has lost contact with the track. So either the track is worn out or contaminated. As above, I'd really try giving it a soak in contact cleaner and spinning it around manually and see it that fixes it.
Mapantz
Posts: 1770
Joined: Sat 17 Dec 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 11 x64
Location: Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: 2nd Anemometer Failing

Post by Mapantz »

I can't get to it without hiring a roof ladder for £50, so it's staying up there until it dies.
Image
Mapantz
Posts: 1770
Joined: Sat 17 Dec 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 11 x64
Location: Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: 2nd Anemometer Failing

Post by Mapantz »

It has pretty much had it now, almost always 360 today.

As I said, I'm not replacing any more items. I'm done with the ridiculous cost and poor quality of Davis.
Image
nossis
Posts: 89
Joined: Wed 28 Nov 2012 6:12 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Operating System: Win 10
Location: Perth AU
Contact:

Re: 2nd Anemometer Failing

Post by nossis »

Very late to the party on this thread. Full disclosure that I haven't read all the posts on this thread either. (Apologies for my slackness)
BUT.... For servicing of the anemometer check here. (if not been posted already) https://www.chatteris.biz/blog/davis-64 ... 3-version/
This has been my goto and I have had success using the steps. Has saved me much pain knowing what look for and what to expect.
I see the link provided is referred to in this posting viewtopic.php?p=141972&hilit=chatteris.biz#p141972
Hope this can be useful
Mapantz
Posts: 1770
Joined: Sat 17 Dec 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 11 x64
Location: Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: 2nd Anemometer Failing

Post by Mapantz »

Mine is the newer version, which doesn't have a reed switch.

Either way, it's beyond my pay grade to meddle with any of that. I'm still sticking to my original plan, and that is to leave it until it fails completely, and end it there.

I refuse to keep paying expensive Davis prices.
Image
uncle_bob
Posts: 505
Joined: Wed 17 Aug 2011 2:58 pm
Weather Station: WeatherDuino Pro2
Operating System: 2008
Location: Canberra

Re: 2nd Anemometer Failing

Post by uncle_bob »

Mapantz wrote: Thu 23 Mar 2023 8:56 pm Initial outlay of the Pro2 system. £600
Bought the anemometer transmitter. £200
That doesn't sound right. Where do you get that from? The boards and components I thought would be 200 pounds max for both the TX and RX units. Maybe you're counting expensive enclosures or something?
Interested in building your own Weather Station? Maybe check out the WeatherDuino Pro Project Here
Conder, Canberra Weather
Image
RayProudfoot
Posts: 3361
Joined: Wed 06 May 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: 2nd Anemometer Failing

Post by RayProudfoot »

@Mapantz, I’ve been watching your wind direction for over 2 minutes and it never moved to North once. Unlike a couple of months ago when it was seen on several occasions.

Maybe the problem is resolved.
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image
freddie
Posts: 2394
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2011 11:19 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2 + Ecowitt
Operating System: GNU/Linux Ubuntu 22.04 LXC
Location: Alcaston, Shropshire, UK
Contact:

Re: 2nd Anemometer Failing

Post by freddie »

My money is still on damp ingress - either on the transmitter unit connection or in the measuring unit itself. I have an identical issue, definitely intermittent - and there is a high correlation with wet weather and certain wind directions.
Freddie
Image
Post Reply