Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.12.0 (build 3141) - 29 July 2021 (A minor fix for dashboard gauges is available. The fix is only required for certain configurations, and will be included in the next release)
Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of drop-down menus to 2030)

Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items) from the Wiki

If you are interested in supporting Cumulus then maybe you would like to contribute to the maintenance of the Wiki? This need not take hours of your time - just a half hour here and there can make a big difference, particularly if many people are doing this. Any contributions are very welcome, whether they involve new content or editing of existing content. It will be very helpful to current and future users of Cumulus software if the Wiki is kept well-maintained and current. If you are interested then please contact forum user saratogaWX and ask for a Wiki account.

Webcam Overlay Script

Hardware/software/hints and tips/discussion/webcam links etc
Post Reply
Mapantz
Posts: 986
Joined: Sat 17 Dec 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64
Location: Dorset - UK
Contact:

Webcam Overlay Script

Post by Mapantz »

Hello

Quite a few years ago, my friend came up with his interpretation of overlaying my weather on my webcam script, it used to work very well, but as browsers and cameras have come a long way since, it is getting tired and a bit laggy for liking.

Old page: http://www.warehamwx.co.uk/cumulus/webcam.htm

I decided to just make a simple page, showing my camera, and updating (with no lag) every second. It is much more efficient, and I made it so that I could resize the 640 x 480 image, to a slightly bigger size. I'm really happy that there's no delays, or lag when trying to go through the menus, etc.

New page: http://www.warehamwx.co.uk/cumulus/refresh.htm

However, I now miss my simple weather overlay, but I don't know how to incorporate it with the simple webcam page. I have seen on here, that there is some kind of overlay script, but it looks like it uses data/info from Weather Display.
I was wondering if anybody knew a simple way that I could get my weather info back, or whether the overlay I use on the old camera could be made use of on the new one?

Overlay: http://www.warehamwx.co.uk/cumulus/webcam/cur/test.php
Pasted: http://paste.ofcode.org/ZT3BMxKqPGHs8DgfVJgUbT

If anybody could help, i'd be very grateful! :)

Best regards.
Last edited by Mapantz on Fri 26 Aug 2016 9:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 8602
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2/WLL
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Webcam Overlay Script

Post by mcrossley »

Something like...?

Code: Select all

<div style="text-align:center;position: relative;">
    <img src="http://warehamwx.ddns.net/cgi-bin/CGIProxy.fcgi?cmd=snapPicture2&usr=visitor&pwd=visitor1234&t=1472242835126" width="850" onload="setTimeout(function() {src = src.substring(0, (src.lastIndexOf("t=")+2))+(new Date()).getTime()}, 1000)" onerror="setTimeout(function() {src = src.substring(0, (src.lastIndexOf("t=")+2))+(new Date()).getTime()}, 5000)" alt="">
    <img src="http://www.warehamwx.co.uk/cumulus/webcam/cur/test.php" alt="" style="position: absolute;left: 18px;top: 77px;">
</div>
Then you need to refresh it in a script.

Mapantz
Posts: 986
Joined: Sat 17 Dec 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64
Location: Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: Webcam Overlay Script

Post by Mapantz »

mcrossley wrote:Something like...?

Code: Select all

<div style="text-align:center;position: relative;">
    <img src="http://warehamwx.ddns.net/cgi-bin/CGIProxy.fcgi?cmd=snapPicture2&usr=visitor&pwd=visitor1234&t=1472242835126" width="850" onload="setTimeout(function() {src = src.substring(0, (src.lastIndexOf("t=")+2))+(new Date()).getTime()}, 1000)" onerror="setTimeout(function() {src = src.substring(0, (src.lastIndexOf("t=")+2))+(new Date()).getTime()}, 5000)" alt="">
    <img src="http://www.warehamwx.co.uk/cumulus/webcam/cur/test.php" alt="" style="position: absolute;left: 18px;top: 77px;">
</div>
Then you need to refresh it in a script.
Nailed it! Thank you so much Mark, that is great.
I've added a reload function for the overlay, so that is updating too. Perfect! :)
Image

Post Reply