Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX V3 release 3.28.6 (build 3283) - 21 March 2024

Cumulus MX V4 beta test release 4.0.0 (build 4019) - 03 April 2024

Legacy Cumulus 1 release 1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014
(a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of drop-down menus to 2030)

Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items) from the Wiki

Can't connect CumulusMX to Weather Station

Topics about the Beta trials up to Build 3043, the last build by Cumulus's founder Steve Loft. It was by this time way out of Beta but Steve wanted to keep it that way until he made a decision on his and Cumulus's future.

Moderator: mcrossley

Locked
beezer38
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri 25 Mar 2016 7:41 pm
Weather Station: N96GY
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Eastleigh

Can't connect CumulusMX to Weather Station

Post by beezer38 »

I'm sure there's a simple explanation but I can't connect CumulusMX to my Weather Station.
Initial running CumulusMX.exe results in the attached file which seems ok.
I assume that I then open Firefox & type in http://localhost:8998
This results in The connection has timed out.
What am I doing wrong.

Running Windows 10 & .NET Frameworks v4.6 Full
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 12756
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2/WLL
Operating System: Bullseye Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Can't connect CumulusMX to Weather Station

Post by mcrossley »

Have you opened up the ports on your firewall?
User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26701
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Can't connect CumulusMX to Weather Station

Post by steve »

Sometimes localhost doesn't work on some systems for whatever reason, so you could try using the IP address instead.

(Posting from a motorhome in the Brecon Beacons)
Steve
User avatar
jpsc
Posts: 179
Joined: Tue 23 Aug 2011 6:06 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue, belfryboy USB
Operating System: Raspbian Bullseye
Location: Wye valley, Herefordshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Can't connect CumulusMX to Weather Station

Post by jpsc »

Lovely weather we've been having (I work in Crickhowell)
John Cooper

Cumulus 3 on RPi3 with SSD

http://weather.mountpleasanthouse.uk

Image
beezer38
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri 25 Mar 2016 7:41 pm
Weather Station: N96GY
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Eastleigh

Re: Can't connect CumulusMX to Weather Station

Post by beezer38 »

mcrossley wrote:Have you opened up the ports on your firewall?
Can't figure out how to open port on Eset Smart Security Firewall but it still doesn't work with the firewall disabled.
Perhaps I'll stick with v1.9.4 while MX is still in beta.
Mapantz
Posts: 1808
Joined: Sat 17 Dec 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 11 x64
Location: Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: Can't connect CumulusMX to Weather Station

Post by Mapantz »

'Localhost' doesn't work for me either, so I use: http://127.0.0.1:8998/
Image
martinjac
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri 24 Jan 2014 3:54 pm
Weather Station: Instromet MetPlus
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Harrow

Re: Can't connect CumulusMX to Weather Station

Post by martinjac »

I can get all of the following to work correctly with a Symantec (or Norton) Internet Security in place.

localhost:8998
127.0.0.1:8998
computer name, e.g. win17-wx:8998
Computer IP address, e.g. 10.0.1.17:8998

I did allow 'CumulusMX.exe' as an allowed program in the Internet Security program control.

Hope this helps.
Locked