Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.28.5 (build 3282) - 23 February 2024

Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of drop-down menus to 2030)

Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items) from the Wiki

weatherunderground saya PWS is not reporting

General news concerning announcements of new releases, forum outages etc.
Post Reply
DavidHOLMAN
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat 19 Sep 2009 2:30 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 10 64bit
Location: Cornwall

weatherunderground saya PWS is not reporting

Post by DavidHOLMAN »

Good morning

I have had longterm problems with Cumulus running under my Windows 10. It crashes every2-6 hours and the log usually says somehing about lack of resources or a stack error.
I have emailed you a log previously and it is a Windows problem that I cannot identify.

I therefore moved up to CumulusMX.
It is working fine except for updating WeatherUndergound.
The log appears to show no data being sent.
I have attached the log.

Any suggestions most welcome!!

David HOLMAn
Polgooth, Cornwall
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26702
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: weatherunderground saya PWS is not reporting

Post by steve »

The log shows that it's sending data (your wind speed appears to be zero)

http://weatherstation.wunderground.com/ ... =updateraw

But WU is responding with a usage help message, which suggest that it thinks the format is wrong. Without giving too much away, does your password perhaps contain 'unusual' characters (non-alphanumeric such as an ampersand)? It could be that MX needs to be doing some encoding which it isn't doing.
Steve
DavidHOLMAN
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat 19 Sep 2009 2:30 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 10 64bit
Location: Cornwall

Re: weatherunderground saya PWS is not reporting

Post by DavidHOLMAN »

Yes my password does contain an unusual character, should I remove it?

Looking at WU, I can't see where to change my login details!!

David
DavidHOLMAN
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat 19 Sep 2009 2:30 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 10 64bit
Location: Cornwall

Re: weatherunderground saya PWS is not reporting

Post by DavidHOLMAN »

I have changed my PW to one without an unusual character, restarted MX, but still not updating.

My wind vane is not working on the station hence reporting zero

David
DavidHOLMAN
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat 19 Sep 2009 2:30 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 10 64bit
Location: Cornwall

Re: weatherunderground saya PWS is not reporting

Post by DavidHOLMAN »

If I cut and paste the http entry from the log it updates Ok and WU shows it has worked but subsequent updates from MX do not seem to update.
I have tried with rapoid fire enabled and disabled in cumulus.

David
User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26702
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: weatherunderground saya PWS is not reporting

Post by steve »

With rapid fire turned off, what does the diags log now show?
Steve
DavidHOLMAN
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat 19 Sep 2009 2:30 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 10 64bit
Location: Cornwall

Re: weatherunderground saya PWS is not reporting

Post by DavidHOLMAN »

Here is the log with Rapidfrire Off

David
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26702
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: weatherunderground saya PWS is not reporting

Post by steve »

It still seems to be complaining about the format of the update string. Sorry, but I'm baffled. If you've changed your password at WU to one with just alphanumerics, and changed it in Cumulus, I don't know why WU is still complaining. Can you check in Cumulus.ini that it has your new password?
Steve
DavidHOLMAN
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat 19 Sep 2009 2:30 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 10 64bit
Location: Cornwall

Re: weatherunderground saya PWS is not reporting

Post by DavidHOLMAN »

Steve

I have checked and it is OK.

I have turned Rapidfire back on but satill not joy!!

David
User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26702
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: weatherunderground saya PWS is not reporting

Post by steve »

Is the clock on your PC correct?
Steve
DavidHOLMAN
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat 19 Sep 2009 2:30 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 10 64bit
Location: Cornwall

Re: weatherunderground saya PWS is not reporting

Post by DavidHOLMAN »

Steve

Yes checked and correct.

David
User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26702
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: weatherunderground saya PWS is not reporting

Post by steve »

I'm out of suggestions. The only thing I can think of is that if you want to PM me your password, I can try it from here and see what happens.
Steve
DavidHOLMAN
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat 19 Sep 2009 2:30 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 10 64bit
Location: Cornwall

Re: weatherunderground saya PWS is not reporting

Post by DavidHOLMAN »

Steve

i can see that you must have done something because it is reportin 22.5 degrees just over ten minutes ago but then it flashes back to my original data as at three hours ago!!

David
Post Reply