Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.28.5 (build 3282) - 23 February 2024

Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of drop-down menus to 2030)

Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items) from the Wiki

Extreme Weather script(s)

Other discussion about creating web sites for Cumulus that doesn't have a specific subforum

Moderator: daj

User avatar
ace2
Posts: 679
Joined: Tue 14 Jan 2014 12:38 pm
Weather Station: maxkon ws-1081pc
Operating System: windows 7 & 8
Location: Adelaide, south Australia, Australia
Contact:

Re: Extreme Weather script(s)

Post by ace2 »

ace2 wrote:
gluepack wrote:btw, your site needs a parameter to switch the damn crickets off, I keep thinking there is one in the house ;)
There is actual 2 switches as such...
1. Large speaker below top heading :clap:

2. down the bottom speaker with the words 'Turns background audio OFF/ON. **On IOS & Android, this turns audio ON/OFF**' :clap:

See... :groan:
And your lucky it wasn't windy or raining!!!!
Sounds as well as CSS change based on conditions...
It wasn't too loud was it??
I intended for them to be like a background sound......
CHRIS
Image
web site
http://www.ace2weather.com
Follow me on Twitter
http://tinyurl.com/kwlr9re
YouTube channel
http://tinyurl.com/lehwpgp
Facebook page
http://tinyurl.com/k3sap4s
Tiny URL links used
User avatar
ConligWX
Posts: 1563
Joined: Mon 19 May 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis vPro2+ w/DFARS + AirLink
Operating System: Ubuntu 22.04 LTS
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: Extreme Weather script(s)

Post by ConligWX »

PaulMy wrote:Thanks, got it now.

The first time I selected on a country/region other than ones I had opened before it gave a warning about "No such file ..." for lines 226-229 of the script but then a reload and all is good. After a few minutes and going back to the page now any country selected display correctly, so likely just a pause in creating the extremeCache_ file. All is good now.

Paul
appologies for this belated entry. I had a similar issue, though created the /cache/extremes folder but when i looked at the values here:

Code: Select all

// Default location when this script is first started
if (!isset($_GET['extremes']) ) {
  $country    = $defaultlocation;
  $selected   = $country;
  $useunits   = 'M';
  $siteCache  = '../cache/extremes/extremesCache_'.strtolower($country).'.php';
  $stations   = $stations; // only displayed when script is first started
}
// Default location (use same options as above)
if (isset($_GET['extremes']) && $_GET['extremes'] == false) {
  $country    = $defaultlocation;
  $selected   = $country;
  $useunits   = 'M';
  $siteCache  = '../cache/extremes/extremesCache_'.strtolower($country).'.php';
  $stations   = $stations; // only displayed when script is first started
}

$key = 0;
if (isset($_GET['extremes']) && $_GET['extremes'] == true) {
  $key = array_search($_GET['extremes'], $extremesLocations);
  for ($i = 0; $i <= $key; $i++) {
    $country   = $extremesLocations[$i];
    $selected  = $country;
    $useunits  = 'M';
    $siteCache = '../cache/extremes/extremesCache_'.strtolower($country).'.php';
In my situation I had to remove one of the fullstops in the path for siteCache.

Code: Select all

// Default location when this script is first started
if (!isset($_GET['extremes']) ) {
  $country    = $defaultlocation;
  $selected   = $country;
  $useunits   = 'M';
  $siteCache  = './cache/extremes/extremesCache_'.strtolower($country).'.php';
  $stations   = $stations; // only displayed when script is first started
}
// Default location (use same options as above)
if (isset($_GET['extremes']) && $_GET['extremes'] == false) {
  $country    = $defaultlocation;
  $selected   = $country;
  $useunits   = 'M';
  $siteCache  = './cache/extremes/extremesCache_'.strtolower($country).'.php';
  $stations   = $stations; // only displayed when script is first started
}

$key = 0;
if (isset($_GET['extremes']) && $_GET['extremes'] == true) {
  $key = array_search($_GET['extremes'], $extremesLocations);
  for ($i = 0; $i <= $key; $i++) {
    $country   = $extremesLocations[$i];
    $selected  = $country;
    $useunits  = 'M';
    $siteCache = './cache/extremes/extremesCache_'.strtolower($country).'.php';
it then worked as expected without any errors onscreen. only issue however is the page fails a Valid XHTML 1.0 check.
Regards Simon

https://www.conligwx.org - @conligwx
Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus with Daytime FARS • WeatherLink Live • Davis AirLink • PurpleAir •

Image
User avatar
ConligWX
Posts: 1563
Joined: Mon 19 May 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis vPro2+ w/DFARS + AirLink
Operating System: Ubuntu 22.04 LTS
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: Extreme Weather script(s)

Post by ConligWX »

necroposting here :)

This script (worldextremes.php) seem to be broken now as the ogimet website has included more fields into the equation.

https://www.ogimet.com/ranking.phtml.en

it now shows 6 headings of data. however the old wordextremes.php script only caters for 3, and thus the Maximum Precipitation fields are incorrect.

not sure if anyone has a newer version, but would appreciate any help here.
Regards Simon

https://www.conligwx.org - @conligwx
Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus with Daytime FARS • WeatherLink Live • Davis AirLink • PurpleAir •

Image
Mapantz
Posts: 1772
Joined: Sat 17 Dec 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 11 x64
Location: Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: Extreme Weather script(s)

Post by Mapantz »

Aha

I came across that problem months ago and fixed it all up.. I actually added in more fields as well.

Feel free to grab the bits you need, or all of it.

It may need to some editing to fit your webpage.

https://warehamwx.co.uk/worldextremes.php
Image
User avatar
ConligWX
Posts: 1563
Joined: Mon 19 May 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis vPro2+ w/DFARS + AirLink
Operating System: Ubuntu 22.04 LTS
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: Extreme Weather script(s)

Post by ConligWX »

Mapantz wrote: Tue 07 Nov 2023 6:24 pm Aha

I came across that problem months ago and fixed it all up.. I actually added in more fields as well.

Feel free to grab the bits you need, or all of it.

It may need to some editing to fit your webpage.

https://warehamwx.co.uk/worldextremes.php
Thanks though I cannot download the file source directly and ?sce=view doesn't seem to work with it. could you attach the file here, thanks? ps I hadn't seen this post before I had emailed you today sorry..
Regards Simon

https://www.conligwx.org - @conligwx
Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus with Daytime FARS • WeatherLink Live • Davis AirLink • PurpleAir •

Image
User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 3743
Joined: Sun 28 Sep 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2+ Cumulus1 / CummulusMX
Operating System: Windows8 / Windows10
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: Extreme Weather script(s)

Post by PaulMy »

Thanks Mapantz and Simon , I have mine updated http://www.komokaweather.com/komokaweat ... tremes.php

Enjoy,
Paul
Davis Vantage Pro2+
C1 www.komokaweather.com/komokaweather-ca
MX www .komokaweather.com/cumulusmxwll/index.htm
MX www.komokaweather.com/cumulusmx/index.php
MX www.komokaweather.com/cumulusmx/index.html

Image
alexvanuxem
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu 11 Mar 2021 3:41 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vntage Pro 2 Plus
Operating System: windows 10

Re: Extreme Weather script(s)

Post by alexvanuxem »

where's the link?
water01
Posts: 3183
Joined: Sat 13 Aug 2011 9:33 am
Weather Station: Ecowitt HP2551
Operating System: Windows 10 64bit
Location: Burnham-on-Sea
Contact:

Re: Extreme Weather script(s)

Post by water01 »

alexvanuxem wrote: Fri 10 Nov 2023 4:27 pm where's the link?
Go to Paul's page and add ?sce=view after the .php and the source will show up.
David
Image
User avatar
ConligWX
Posts: 1563
Joined: Mon 19 May 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis vPro2+ w/DFARS + AirLink
Operating System: Ubuntu 22.04 LTS
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: Extreme Weather script(s)

Post by ConligWX »

alexvanuxem wrote: Fri 10 Nov 2023 4:27 pm where's the link?
https://www.conligwx.org/worldextremes.php?sce=view

Then copy and paste into your own file. Edit settings according.

PS thanks to Mapantz for this version :clap:
Regards Simon

https://www.conligwx.org - @conligwx
Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus with Daytime FARS • WeatherLink Live • Davis AirLink • PurpleAir •

Image
alexvanuxem
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu 11 Mar 2021 3:41 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vntage Pro 2 Plus
Operating System: windows 10

Re: Extreme Weather script(s)

Post by alexvanuxem »

thx!!!
User avatar
BeaumarisWX
Posts: 346
Joined: Mon 09 Apr 2012 2:38 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Plus - 24hr FARS
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro Hades Canyon
Location: Beaumaris, Tasmania, AU
Contact:

Re: Extreme Weather script(s)

Post by BeaumarisWX »

Hi Mapantz and Simon,
See this post : I found some errors in the script. https://www.wxforum.net/index.php?topic ... #msg466135
Kindest regards,
Tony
Tony Beaumaris, Tasmania (AUS)

CUMX Mobile : https://beaumaris-weather.com/BWX/
CUMX Default: https://beaumaris-weather.com/cumulusmx_default/
Colour Dashboard : https://beaumaris-weather.com/dashborad_color.php
Banner below - Saratoga Template :
Image
User avatar
BeaumarisWX
Posts: 346
Joined: Mon 09 Apr 2012 2:38 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Plus - 24hr FARS
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro Hades Canyon
Location: Beaumaris, Tasmania, AU
Contact:

Re: Extreme Weather script(s)

Post by BeaumarisWX »

Hi Simon/Mapantz/PaulMy I created a few new worldexremes files.

All the detail is at : https://www.wxforum.net/index.php?topic ... #msg466208

One New version running on my site : https://beaumaris-weather.com/wxworldextremes.php

Kindest Regards,
Tony
Tony Beaumaris, Tasmania (AUS)

CUMX Mobile : https://beaumaris-weather.com/BWX/
CUMX Default: https://beaumaris-weather.com/cumulusmx_default/
Colour Dashboard : https://beaumaris-weather.com/dashborad_color.php
Banner below - Saratoga Template :
Image
User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 3743
Joined: Sun 28 Sep 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2+ Cumulus1 / CummulusMX
Operating System: Windows8 / Windows10
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: Extreme Weather script(s)

Post by PaulMy »

Hi Tony and thanks.
I have spent a bit of time this morning on the komokaweather.com site and updated the World Extremes. Most dead links are gone but still some to do, and others to re-add.

I'll be watching the Australia page for Bellenden Ker, QLD who claims they are in the highest rain total area... but the rain season still to start.
Also noticed that for Australia there is no Wind Gust data. Maybe a temporary BOM issue?

p.s. also thanks to mapantz and Simon for starting this script update.

Enjoy,
Paul
Davis Vantage Pro2+
C1 www.komokaweather.com/komokaweather-ca
MX www .komokaweather.com/cumulusmxwll/index.htm
MX www.komokaweather.com/cumulusmx/index.php
MX www.komokaweather.com/cumulusmx/index.html

Image
User avatar
BeaumarisWX
Posts: 346
Joined: Mon 09 Apr 2012 2:38 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Plus - 24hr FARS
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro Hades Canyon
Location: Beaumaris, Tasmania, AU
Contact:

Re: Extreme Weather script(s)

Post by BeaumarisWX »

Thanks Paul,
Glad you liked it.
Just one tip, I would say you might prefer KMH in the first column rather than MPH (I defaulted it with MPH first primarily to show Simon/Mapantz).
To change yours in the settings :
From : (windUnits)

Code: Select all

// Wind Units 1=AU(Metric) or 0=USA/UK(Imperial)
$windUnits          = 0; // added for displaying Both KMH and MPH
$defaultUnits       = 1; // added for displaying Both (Metric) and (Imperial)
To : (windUnits)

Code: Select all

// Wind Units 1=AU(Metric) or 0=USA/UK(Imperial)
$windUnits          = 1; // added for displaying Both KMH and MPH
$defaultUnits       = 1; // added for displaying Both (Metric) and (Imperial)
Regards Bellenden Ker, QLD. Took me back a few years to when I was 19 was sent from Mackay QLD up to Carins QLD to manage one of our chain of Food Supermarkets I worked for. The main reason for my transfer was to come up with a timely storage strategy for the Monsoon Wet Season, all our stock was Trucked from Brisbane QLD as Air or Ship was too slow or expensive. This was to ensure we did not run out of stock when the highway between Tully QLD and Babinda QLD (which is near Bellenden Ker QLD) would flood sometimes for weeks. So Tully/Innisfail/babinda I recall where the main wet spots back then. I did good job averting out of stock issues even If I do say so myself :D .
I always recall the street gutters in those towns if you stepped out of your car you had to be careful not to fall down them (so deep).

Anyway thanks for reviving some old memories.

Yes I did a big Dead Link clean a month or so back, I also noticed on your footer it seems that https://www.mad-weather.com/topsites/ url seems dead.

Kindest Regards,
Tony
Tony Beaumaris, Tasmania (AUS)

CUMX Mobile : https://beaumaris-weather.com/BWX/
CUMX Default: https://beaumaris-weather.com/cumulusmx_default/
Colour Dashboard : https://beaumaris-weather.com/dashborad_color.php
Banner below - Saratoga Template :
Image
User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 3743
Joined: Sun 28 Sep 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2+ Cumulus1 / CummulusMX
Operating System: Windows8 / Windows10
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: Extreme Weather script(s)

Post by PaulMy »

Hi Tony,
I'll have to tell Mike to add the extremes script https://www.bellendenkerweather.com/index.php
and from his work experience maybe he is an old customer of yours...

This is a picture of his rain gauge recently...

Enjoy,
Paul
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Davis Vantage Pro2+
C1 www.komokaweather.com/komokaweather-ca
MX www .komokaweather.com/cumulusmxwll/index.htm
MX www.komokaweather.com/cumulusmx/index.php
MX www.komokaweather.com/cumulusmx/index.html

Image
Post Reply