Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.28.5 (build 3282) - 23 February 2024

Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of drop-down menus to 2030)

Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items) from the Wiki

Stay to "Download Data"

Post Reply
User avatar
vaggos
Posts: 160
Joined: Sat 06 Feb 2010 7:00 pm
Weather Station: PROWEATHER STATION 1080
Operating System: XP SP3, win7, Win10
Location: Acharnes Athens Greece
Contact:

Stay to "Download Data"

Post by vaggos »

Hello
A friend of mine has a weather station La Crosse. At the end of November, he left from vacations. Till then and for one year his weather station working very well. When he came back he try to star Cumulus and the program stay to "download data". I gave a look and i see that the discs suspended in one hour. I put it "never". He has lost also the time of pc. I repair it. I make a new today.ini like this:
[General]
Date=10/04/2012
Timestamp=10/04/2012 10:00:00
CurrentYear=2012
CurrentMonth=4
CurrentDay=10
Starting from the day he last time he close the pc. Again the same "download data" always.
I did a new copy of cumulus and then i back up hes old data exsept today ini. Again the same.
Any suggestion?
Thanks in advance
Vaggelis

EDIT: He has windows7
Image
Acharnes Athens Greece Meteo station
http://www.meteoacharnes.gr
https://weather.meteoacharnes.gr/
Thanks Sandaysoft
User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26702
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Stay to "Download Data"

Post by steve »

It's not going to be able to download data from that far back anyway, and in particular the La Crosse logger doesn't hold much data - only about 170 entries, if I remember correctly. If you set the dates and times to just a few hours ago, it may work. If not, zip up the diags folder and attach it and I'll take a look.
Steve
User avatar
vaggos
Posts: 160
Joined: Sat 06 Feb 2010 7:00 pm
Weather Station: PROWEATHER STATION 1080
Operating System: XP SP3, win7, Win10
Location: Acharnes Athens Greece
Contact:

Re: Stay to "Download Data"

Post by vaggos »

Steve
You mean in today.ini? I try also and yesterday with no result.
Is this the best solution as i read in faq? "You should be able to get it going again by doing a reset - remove batteries and the USB cable. Recent Fine Offset models have a problem where they can lock up frequently, requiring a reset".
Image
Acharnes Athens Greece Meteo station
http://www.meteoacharnes.gr
https://weather.meteoacharnes.gr/
Thanks Sandaysoft
User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26702
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Stay to "Download Data"

Post by steve »

It's not a Fine Offset, so that specific problem doesn't apply. But it may be that it will need to be reset anyway. If you zip up the diags folder and attach it, I'll see what's going on.
Steve
User avatar
vaggos
Posts: 160
Joined: Sat 06 Feb 2010 7:00 pm
Weather Station: PROWEATHER STATION 1080
Operating System: XP SP3, win7, Win10
Location: Acharnes Athens Greece
Contact:

Re: Stay to "Download Data"

Post by vaggos »

I sent you the diags file and the today.ini as i modified it.
Thanks
diags.rar
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Image
Acharnes Athens Greece Meteo station
http://www.meteoacharnes.gr
https://weather.meteoacharnes.gr/
Thanks Sandaysoft
User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26702
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Stay to "Download Data"

Post by steve »

It looks like the station isn't replying with any data. But if you turn on the debug log for a few minutes, that will possibly give more information. Delete any existing debug.log file first.

You keep changing the station type to 'Fine Offset'. That won't help.
Steve
User avatar
vaggos
Posts: 160
Joined: Sat 06 Feb 2010 7:00 pm
Weather Station: PROWEATHER STATION 1080
Operating System: XP SP3, win7, Win10
Location: Acharnes Athens Greece
Contact:

Re: Stay to "Download Data"

Post by vaggos »

I change it to fine offset just to have look to the settings and now to set the debug.log. Otherwise Cumulus don't responding. But its not writing something. The console is not reponding.
Image
Acharnes Athens Greece Meteo station
http://www.meteoacharnes.gr
https://weather.meteoacharnes.gr/
Thanks Sandaysoft
User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26702
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Stay to "Download Data"

Post by steve »

Is the port set to 2400 8-N-1?
Steve
User avatar
vaggos
Posts: 160
Joined: Sat 06 Feb 2010 7:00 pm
Weather Station: PROWEATHER STATION 1080
Operating System: XP SP3, win7, Win10
Location: Acharnes Athens Greece
Contact:

Re: Stay to "Download Data"

Post by vaggos »

Yes Steve
2400 8-N-1.
Ill' check if serial pci has the problem.
Thanks a lot
Image
Acharnes Athens Greece Meteo station
http://www.meteoacharnes.gr
https://weather.meteoacharnes.gr/
Thanks Sandaysoft
Post Reply