Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.8.0 (build 3090) - 12 August 2020 (please see important announcement regarding releases since 3.5.0)
Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of the NOAA report and Snow Index drop-down menus to 2030)

Use this link to Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items). Software

Barometer & Wind Gauges look "odd"

Discussion and questions about Cumulus weather station software version 1. This section is the main place to get help with Cumulus 1 software developed by Steve Loft that ceased development in November 2014.
westonweather
Posts: 166
Joined: Sun 29 Dec 2013 8:37 am
Weather Station: WMR88
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Weston-super-Mare
Contact:

Barometer & Wind Gauges look "odd"

Post by westonweather »

Sorry I can't be more descript, but the effect can easily be seen here: http://www.westonweather.co.uk/gauges.htm

Basically, the first 2 gauges, Barometer & Wind look like the graphics are somehow corrupted.

Is it a setting I've inadvertently changed?

Thanks.

tumutbound
Posts: 154
Joined: Thu 11 Mar 2010 11:03 am
Weather Station: WH1081
Operating System: Linux, Raspberry Pi (Wheezy)
Location: Port Huon, Tasmania , Australia
Contact:

Re: Barometer & Wind Gauges look "odd"

Post by tumutbound »

Try changing the Cumulus setting for 'Transparent gauge backgrounds' in Display settings and see how that looks.
It just may be that the characters don't show up well against a solid blue background
My weather
CumulusMX (3036)
Raspberry Pi: Wheezy
FineOffset WH1081

westonweather
Posts: 166
Joined: Sun 29 Dec 2013 8:37 am
Weather Station: WMR88
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Weston-super-Mare
Contact:

Re: Barometer & Wind Gauges look "odd"

Post by westonweather »

I thought that was going to be the answer, but alas, no.

It was set to transparent, but now it's not and I've done 2 fresh uploads just to be sure.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26702
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Barometer & Wind Gauges look "odd"

Post by steve »

tumutbound wrote:It just may be that the characters don't show up well against a solid blue background
Yes, this the reason. The images are just 'grabs' from the Cumulus screen, and the anti-aliased font isn't looking good against that blue background.
Steve

westonweather
Posts: 166
Joined: Sun 29 Dec 2013 8:37 am
Weather Station: WMR88
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Weston-super-Mare
Contact:

Re: Barometer & Wind Gauges look "odd"

Post by westonweather »

steve wrote:
tumutbound wrote:It just may be that the characters don't show up well against a solid blue background
Yes, this the reason. The images are just 'grabs' from the Cumulus screen, and the anti-aliased font isn't looking good against that blue background.
Ahhh. It's the Blue Background! Thought it was something I had changed as I don't remember the problem before.

Thanks guys. Something to do this evening. Colour tweaking!

Appreciate your time.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26702
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Barometer & Wind Gauges look "odd"

Post by steve »

Actually, those particular images aren't from Cumulus at all, the javascript draws them.

What you could do if you wanted to retain the blue background would be to look for the code which draws those gauges and modify it :shock: , or put them in a box of a different colour.
Steve

westonweather
Posts: 166
Joined: Sun 29 Dec 2013 8:37 am
Weather Station: WMR88
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Weston-super-Mare
Contact:

Re: Barometer & Wind Gauges look "odd"

Post by westonweather »

steve wrote:Actually, those particular images aren't from Cumulus at all, the javascript draws them.

What you could do if you wanted to retain the blue background would be to look for the code which draws those gauges and modify it :shock: , or put them in a box of a different colour.
:shock: Indeed. I can't imagine my attempts at modifying Javascript bringing anything but tears.

Different page background colour sounds like the best plan.

edit - Might even look at one of the many templates on offer if I have a spare few hours this week - which I do.

tumutbound
Posts: 154
Joined: Thu 11 Mar 2010 11:03 am
Weather Station: WH1081
Operating System: Linux, Raspberry Pi (Wheezy)
Location: Port Huon, Tasmania , Australia
Contact:

Re: Barometer & Wind Gauges look "odd"

Post by tumutbound »

steve wrote:Actually, those particular images aren't from Cumulus at all, the javascript draws them.

What you could do if you wanted to retain the blue background would be to look for the code which draws those gauges and modify it :shock: , or put them in a box of a different colour.
I've been able to draw the gauges using different colours but I can't find anywhere that draws the compass.png file! Is this from JavaScript or does Cumulus actually do this one?
My weather
CumulusMX (3036)
Raspberry Pi: Wheezy
FineOffset WH1081

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26702
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Barometer & Wind Gauges look "odd"

Post by steve »

tumutbound wrote:I've been able to draw the gauges using different colours but I can't find anywhere that draws the compass.png file! Is this from JavaScript or does Cumulus actually do this one?
Yes, the three just above the Flash wind gauges are just grabs from the Cumulus main screen.
Steve

tumutbound
Posts: 154
Joined: Thu 11 Mar 2010 11:03 am
Weather Station: WH1081
Operating System: Linux, Raspberry Pi (Wheezy)
Location: Port Huon, Tasmania , Australia
Contact:

Re: Barometer & Wind Gauges look "odd"

Post by tumutbound »

steve wrote:
tumutbound wrote:I've been able to draw the gauges using different colours but I can't find anywhere that draws the compass.png file! Is this from JavaScript or does Cumulus actually do this one?
Yes, the three just above the Flash wind gauges are just grabs from the Cumulus main screen.
I thought I was missing something for a minute but that explains things.

A possible flaw in the compass.png If transparent gauges are selected, the compass that gets drawn has a thin line from top right to bottom left that is also set transparent. It's only just noticeable depending on your main screen background colour.
My weather
CumulusMX (3036)
Raspberry Pi: Wheezy
FineOffset WH1081

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26702
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Barometer & Wind Gauges look "odd"

Post by steve »

Yes, it's mentioned in the display settings help.
Steve

tumutbound
Posts: 154
Joined: Thu 11 Mar 2010 11:03 am
Weather Station: WH1081
Operating System: Linux, Raspberry Pi (Wheezy)
Location: Port Huon, Tasmania , Australia
Contact:

Re: Barometer & Wind Gauges look "odd"

Post by tumutbound »

Selecting help has always brought up an error message. Due, I know now, to the fact that the .chm file was missing.
Fixed it, only fair seeing I broke it.
My weather
CumulusMX (3036)
Raspberry Pi: Wheezy
FineOffset WH1081

westonweather
Posts: 166
Joined: Sun 29 Dec 2013 8:37 am
Weather Station: WMR88
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Weston-super-Mare
Contact:

Re: Barometer & Wind Gauges look "odd"

Post by westonweather »

"Fixed" this issue by installing a Weather by you template.

http://www.westonweather.co.uk - Must admit, it looks much neater than my attempt to colourise the old html templates!

oman4eva
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed 23 Oct 2013 4:42 pm
Weather Station: davis vantage pro 2 plus
Operating System: windows 7
Location: Canada

Re: Barometer & Wind Gauges look "odd"

Post by oman4eva »

HI Guys,

I've recently run into a similar problem after i changed my background picture for my cumulus website. http://www.atmosp.physics.utoronto.ca/wstat/gauges.htm.

I was trying to put a solid colour box behind these gauges as was suggested but wasn't sure where to do it. I edited the gaugesT.htm for where the Barometer and Wind gauge is drawn

<table width="100%" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0">
<tr>
<td width="50%" align="center" bgcolor="#EFEFEF" ><div align="center" class="normaltext">&nbsp;Barometer</div></td>
<td width="50%" align="center" bgcolor="#EFEFEF" ><div align="center" class="normaltext">&nbsp;Wind</div></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td align="center" ><div id="barometer">analog</div></td>
<td align="center" ><div id="wind">wind</div></td>
</tr>
</table>


however adding in this bgcolor did not make a difference.

Can someone give me some tips on how to put a solid colour box behind them? i was thinking of copying the grey box which exists behind all the other boxes.

cheers
oman

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 6765
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Barometer & Wind Gauges look "odd"

Post by mcrossley »

I don't see that code on the page? But it would look betetr with the background just applied to the images. Such as this...

<img src="dbimages/barometer2.gif" style="background-color: #ccc;">

Post Reply