Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.9.1 (build 3096) - 31 October 2020 (please see announcement regarding releases since 3.5.0)
Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of the NOAA report and Snow Index drop-down menus to 2030)

Use this Wiki link to Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items).

Steelseries gauges not visible

Discussion of Mark Crossley's HTML5/Javascript gauges

Moderator: mcrossley

forestedge
Posts: 66
Joined: Sun 29 Jul 2012 11:46 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus FARS
Operating System: Windows 10 64 bit
Location: Ashurst Bridge, Hampshire UK
Contact:

Steelseries gauges not visible

Post by forestedge »

Hi

First time on here and need a bit of help please :) having recently installed Cumulus and Steelseries and running it to update www.tottonweather.co.uk

On my web server I can see realtimegauges.txt being updated at the same time as realtime.txt and that my gauges-ss.htm is being updated.
On the pc gauges-ssT.htmtmp is being created and the gauges-ssT.htm page does show the SteelSeries Gauges -static.
I have copied the contents from the css, scripts, and fonts folders (from the gauges-ss_v1-6-6.zip) folder to the same location on the web server as the rest of my htm files.

It appears that the realtime data is not being transferred into the gauges-ss template for some reason. I have checked the gauges.js file and cant seen anything wrong.

I've followed the installation instructions and the installation is a standard set up with "Cumulus" as the root directory on pc and web server.

Any help will be appreciated

Many Thanks

Roger

User avatar
duke
Posts: 838
Joined: Sun 03 Jul 2011 6:23 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Plus - 24hr FARS
Operating System: Windows 10 - 64 bit
Location: Eastleigh, Hampshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Steelseries gauges not visible

Post by duke »

There are other strange things happening on your site. On the records page it states records began on the 7th November..............2012 :o
Duke

Nightingale Weather
Eastleigh, Hampshire, UK
------------------------------------------------------
Validate your pages - often!

forestedge
Posts: 66
Joined: Sun 29 Jul 2012 11:46 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus FARS
Operating System: Windows 10 64 bit
Location: Ashurst Bridge, Hampshire UK
Contact:

Re: Steelseries gauges not visible

Post by forestedge »

duke wrote:There are other strange things happening on your site. On the records page it states records began on the 7th November..............2012 :o
:? No idea where that came from, will need to examine my files....

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26702
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Steelseries gauges not visible

Post by steve »

My guess would be a date format problem on your PC and it's actually 11th July (i.e mm/dd rather than dd/mm).

Regarding your problem with the gauges, you don't seem to have the javascript and css files in place:


Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 (Not Found) http://www.dobbs.plus.com/Cumulus/css/gauges-ss.css
Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 (Not Found) http://www.dobbs.plus.com/Cumulus/css/ddimgtooltip.css
Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 (Not Found) http://www.dobbs.plus.com/Cumulus/scripts/tween.min.js
Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 (Not Found) http://www.dobbs.plus.com/Cumulus/scripts/language.js
Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 (Not Found) http://www.dobbs.plus.com/Cumulus/scrip ... ies.min.js
Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 (Not Found) http://www.dobbs.plus.com/Cumulus/scripts/gauges.js
Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 (Not Found) http://www.dobbs.plus.com/Cumulus/scrip ... tip.min.js
Steve

gemini06720
Posts: 1700
Joined: Mon 10 Aug 2009 10:16 pm
Weather Station: No weather station
Operating System: No operating system
Location: World...

Re: Steelseries gauges not visible

Post by gemini06720 »

forestedge wrote:I have copied the contents from the css, scripts, and fonts folders (from the gauges-ss_v1-6-6.zip) folder to the same location on the web server as the rest of my htm files.
Roger, the installation document does not tell you to copy the contents of the 'css', the 'fonts' and the 'scripts' folders but rather to copy the 'css' folder and the 'fonts' folder and the 'scripts' folder (and their contents) into the directory where the 'gauges-ss.htm' file (and the other Cumulus produced 'htm' files) will be uploaded...

forestedge
Posts: 66
Joined: Sun 29 Jul 2012 11:46 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus FARS
Operating System: Windows 10 64 bit
Location: Ashurst Bridge, Hampshire UK
Contact:

Re: Steelseries gauges not visible

Post by forestedge »

steve wrote: Regarding your problem with the gauges, you don't seem to have the javascript and css files in place:
gemini06720 wrote:Roger, the installation document does not tell you to copy the contents of the 'css', the 'fonts' and the 'scripts' folders but rather to copy the 'css' folder and the 'fonts' folder and the 'scripts' folder (and their contents) into the directory where the 'gauges-ss.htm' file (and the other Cumulus produced 'htm' files) will be uploaded...
Thanks guys :D ,that's where I went wrong, up and running now....
steve wrote:My guess would be a date format problem on your PC and it's actually 11th July (i.e mm/dd rather than dd/mm).
My pc is set on English format dd/mm. It only seems to be the "records began date" that is wrong, if I change to American mm/dd will it mess up all the other dates?

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26702
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Steelseries gauges not visible

Post by steve »

forestedge wrote:My pc is set on English format dd/mm. It only seems to be the "records began date" that is wrong, if I change to American mm/dd will it mess up all the other dates?
Yes, it will. Your PC may be set to dd/mm, but as far as Cumulus was told, at some point it looks like it was supplying mm/dd. Have you carried out the Windows 7 procedure described in the post linked to at the top of the forum?
It only seems to be the "records began date" that is wrong
Some of your all-time records are also in November, and you almost certainly have data logged in November.

To fix the 'records began date', stop Cumulus and edit the 'StartDate' in cumulus.ini. You'll need to look at your data logs and decide what to do about those, assuming there is a problem there (e.g. delete them and start again, or manually correct the files).
Steve

User avatar
dimitris vichos
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri 21 Oct 2011 5:29 pm
Weather Station: wh 1080
Operating System: linux mint 19
Location: nea moudania chalkidiki grecce
Contact:

Re: Steelseries gauges not visible

Post by dimitris vichos »

merry christmas and happy new year to all of you.
i try to load the steelseries gauges in my station page
the realtimegauge.txt works good
http://snowguide.gr/nea-moudania/realtimegauges.txt

but in page

http://snowguide.gr/nea-moudania/gauges-ss.htm

the gauges is not visible. i want to help me to fix this problem

thankyou
Meteostation of Nea Moudania Chalkidiki Greece
https://kairos.moudania.com/index.php

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 7146
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Steelseries gauges not visible

Post by mcrossley »

Your first problem is the page is not finding various files...

Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 (Not Found) http://snowguide.gr/nea-moudania/css/gauges-ss.css
Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 (Not Found) http://snowguide.gr/nea-moudania/script ... 8.2.min.js
Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 (Not Found) http://snowguide.gr/nea-moudania/script ... ies.min.js
Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 (Not Found) http://snowguide.gr/nea-moudania/script ... age.min.js
Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 (Not Found) http://snowguide.gr/nea-moudania/scripts/gauges.js

kapo
Posts: 246
Joined: Thu 03 Jan 2013 1:59 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Vihtavuori, Laukaa, Finland

Re: Steelseries gauges not visible

Post by kapo »

I have same problem
Last edited by kapo on Wed 22 May 2013 10:12 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 7146
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Steelseries gauges not visible

Post by mcrossley »

kapo wrote:I have same problem than the beginner had.... Can someone help me in that problem?http://www.kapo511.net/gauges-ss.htm What have I done wrong? Probably everything. I really want to see those gauges working on my sites. I`m beginner in these weather station cases, but I want to learn more... . I` finnish guy, sorry of my bad english.
It looks like you have tried to use some local paths in gauges.js

Change
realTimeURLCumulus: 'C/cumulus/ss_realtime.txt',
to
realTimeURLCumulus: '/realtime.txt',

Change
imgPathURL : '/C/cumulus/images/',
to
imgPathURL : '/images/',

kapo
Posts: 246
Joined: Thu 03 Jan 2013 1:59 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Vihtavuori, Laukaa, Finland

Re: Steelseries gauges not visible

Post by kapo »

Thanks for your help.
Last edited by kapo on Wed 22 May 2013 10:13 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 7146
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Steelseries gauges not visible

Post by mcrossley »

Sorry, my bad instructions, it shouldn't be realtime.txt...

The problem is your realtimegauges.txt on the server, I cannot find it.

Can you show what you have configured in Cumulus for the local and remote file names for this file please?

kapo
Posts: 246
Joined: Thu 03 Jan 2013 1:59 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Vihtavuori, Laukaa, Finland

Re: Steelseries gauges not visible

Post by kapo »

I did the changes, but nothing changed in my web page. And that realtimegauges.txt is there in the server, just below the realtime.txt.
Last edited by kapo on Wed 22 May 2013 10:14 am, edited 1 time in total.

tobyspond
Posts: 252
Joined: Fri 24 Jun 2011 5:57 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Lamoine, Maine, USA

Re: Steelseries gauges not visible

Post by tobyspond »

Hi,

I looked at your gauges page and the gauges are updating as far as I can tell. The values on the gauges match those in the realtimegauges.txt file.

Kerry

Post Reply