Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.6.11 (build 3087) - 08 July 2020 (please see important announcement regarding releases since 3.5.0)
Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of the NOAA report and Snow Index drop-down menus to 2030)

Use this link to Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items). Software

Sunbird Widget (Yahoo! Widget)

Other discussion about creating web sites for Cumulus that doesn't have a specific subforum

Moderator: daj

User avatar
gumm
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed 03 Sep 2008 6:52 am
Location: Cape Town

Sunbird Widget (Yahoo! Widget)

Post by gumm »

Hi all,

I created a Yahoo Widget (http://widgets.yahoo.com/) equivalent of the Sunbird Screenlet I posted about earlier. Same as the screenlet, this widget looks at 2 files uploaded by Cumulus.
1) realtime.txt file is automatically created and uploaded when Cumulus is configured with the option "Enable Realtime"
2) the second file uses Cumulus' "Auto Update" functionality. A small text file (I named mine sunbird.txt) containing the single string,

Code: Select all

<#longitude>|<#latitude>|<#sunrise>|<#sunset>|<#update>|<#location>
should be placed in "web" directory where you installed Cumulus, and you should set Cumulus to upload this periodically.

I wrote this widget in order to have a "live on desktop" view of the weather conditions at home.
It works for me, and I thought I'll post it here.

You can download the widget file here:
http://www.faqawi.com/sunbird/screenlet/Sunbird.widget

The sunbird.txt file that you need to upload in addition to enabling real-time uploads is available here:
http://www.faqawi.com/sunbird/screenlet/sunbird.txt

This is what it looks like:
Image

Kind regards
Gumm

pinto
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008 3:20 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2 Plus
Operating System: Windows XP SP3

Re: Sunbird Widget (Yahoo! Widget)

Post by pinto »

working fine :o :D :D :D

location was a bit long, replaced <#location> with a shorter name, but it has nothing to do with your widged

tks again, great job
Jozef

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26704
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Sunbird Widget (Yahoo! Widget)

Post by steve »

I can't get it to display my data (it continues to show D'Urbanvale) , even though I've put my URLs in - what have I done wrong? :(

Steve

pinto
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008 3:20 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2 Plus
Operating System: Windows XP SP3

Re: Sunbird Widget (Yahoo! Widget)

Post by pinto »

steve wrote:I can't get it to display my data (it continues to show D'Urbanvale) , even though I've put my URLs in - what have I done wrong? :(

Steve
I changed url's , shut down widged started it again

But you can also wait until the next update (I guess it is set to one hour, you can change that)
Jozef

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26704
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Sunbird Widget (Yahoo! Widget)

Post by steve »

I'd set it to 1-minute updates, but it still didn't show my data. Anyway, I removed it and added it again and it's working fine now :)

Steve

User avatar
gumm
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed 03 Sep 2008 6:52 am
Location: Cape Town

Re: Sunbird Widget (Yahoo! Widget)

Post by gumm »

Hi Steve,

Did Jozef's advice help?
The D'Urbanvale data is not hard coded anywhere, and the URL where this comes from is simply a default setting, but can be (and should be) changed to point to the online destination of your sunburd.txt file.

Have you checked that this data is available via a web browser?

It could also be exactly as you predicted, that the parsing of the sunbird.txt file by the widget fails because the longitude and latitude data is presented slightly differently in the latest version of Cumulus. In fact I *strongly* suspect this may be the case. I could not test this yet because I still run 1.8.3.

If you can point me to your own upload URL of the sunbird.txt info, I will get onto it immediately.

Kind regards
Gumm

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26704
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Sunbird Widget (Yahoo! Widget)

Post by steve »

It's working fine now, after I removed it and added it again.

And yes, I know I said in the other thread that the <#latitude> and <#longitude> tags were the decimal co-ordinates, but they aren't are they? They're the ones with the &nbsp; in them. I don't seem to have any tags for the decimals. Would it help your widget if I provided them?

Edit: Any my sunbird.txt file is here, if you want to have a look at it: http://sanday.org.uk/weather/sunbird.txt

Steve

pinto
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008 3:20 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2 Plus
Operating System: Windows XP SP3

Re: Sunbird Widget (Yahoo! Widget)

Post by pinto »

Jozef

User avatar
gumm
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed 03 Sep 2008 6:52 am
Location: Cape Town

Re: Sunbird Widget (Yahoo! Widget)

Post by gumm »

Hi Pinto and Steve,

Jip, the new format will break things. (for now)
Just to make sure, you are both a version later than 1.3.8?

Steve, I have a little function to convert DMS to decimal, which works OK. Its just the bumff between the numbers that is throwing my reg.ex off the trail at the moment :) (i hope)

Gumm

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26704
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Sunbird Widget (Yahoo! Widget)

Post by steve »

I'm happy to put in any tags in that will help you - decimal format, or individual tags for degrees, minutes, seconds - just ask :)

Yes, I'm using 1.8.4 (build 592). The change was at 1.8.4 build 587.

Steve

pinto
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008 3:20 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2 Plus
Operating System: Windows XP SP3

Re: Sunbird Widget (Yahoo! Widget)

Post by pinto »

gumm wrote:Hi Pinto and Steve,

Jip, the new format will break things. (for now)
Just to make sure, you are both a version later than 1.3.8?

Gumm
actual version and build I use are in my banner and avatar (updated from my realtime.txt)
Jozef

User avatar
gumm
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed 03 Sep 2008 6:52 am
Location: Cape Town

Re: Sunbird Widget (Yahoo! Widget)

Post by gumm »

Hi, should have seen that Pinto -- sorry

I updated the widget, and you may do well to replace the one you have installed currently.
Link remains the same: http://www.faqawi.com/sunbird/screenlet/Sunbird.widget

Changes:
  • 1) The problem reported by Steve, and the workaround of having to re-load the widget was as a result of me not re-reading the URL's after a change to the "Preferences" were made, but simply re-drawing the widget. That behavior is now changed to re-read the URLs after a preferences change. I make no distinction between which preferences have changed, so it will re-read the URL's even if you just changed the colour of something... from there the slight delay when applying new preferences :oops:
    2) Added a "update Now.." option on right mouse button - forces the widget to re-read the urls
    3) Added a option to change the font type and size for the main name display. So Pinto, you can now go back to using the full name as you had it, and simply change the font on the widget so it fits in :)
    4) The reg.ex now matches any presentation of the DMS location data regardless of the Cumulus version from where it was posted
Regards

Gumm

pinto
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008 3:20 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2 Plus
Operating System: Windows XP SP3

Re: Sunbird Widget (Yahoo! Widget)

Post by pinto »

Great job, working fine overhere, thanks :D
Jozef

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26704
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Sunbird Widget (Yahoo! Widget)

Post by steve »

Excellent - well done!

Steve

User avatar
Paul C
Posts: 377
Joined: Thu 19 Jun 2008 7:45 am
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with solar
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Brampton, Cumbria, UK
Contact:

Re: Sunbird Widget (Yahoo! Widget)

Post by Paul C »

I dont see anything at my end - is my PC or something else
Image

This when I try to view the link to the widget

Post Reply