Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX V3 release 3.28.6 (build 3283) - 21 March 2024

Cumulus MX V4 beta test release 4.0.0 (build 4019) - 03 April 2024

Legacy Cumulus 1 release 1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014
(a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of drop-down menus to 2030)

Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items) from the Wiki

Need help adjusting crazy yearly rainfall totals

From build 3044 the development baton passed to Mark Crossley. Mark has been responsible for all the Builds since. He has made the code available on GitHub. It is Mark's hope that others will join in this development, but at the very least he welcomes your ideas for future developments (see Cumulus MX Development suggestions).

Moderator: mcrossley

Adrianwx23
Posts: 72
Joined: Sun 03 Mar 2024 5:09 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Operating System: Meteobridge

Need help adjusting crazy yearly rainfall totals

Post by Adrianwx23 »

Hi guys, my rainfall totals for the year is showing on weatherlink live 39.40 which is nuts i am not sure were it got that i always unlplug cables when cleaning. Can i imput the closest station to me using there yearly total? They are 2 blocks down from my house. I was told not to tweak it but there has to be a way to adjust the yearly totals what its currently showing is wrong. My yearly should be something like 11.78 inches which is the total of davis station in my community a few blocks from me. I report to cocoraphs so i went and found the nearest station "very close" and they are showing 13.06. Something went crazy on my end my weatherlink account again not sure were it got 39.40 for the year that is ridiculous. kinda nervous to make any adjustments and mess things up if somene can walk me through the steps on what to do i would greatly appreciate it. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

This is the station near me https://dex.cocorahs.org/stations/FL-PB ... ip-summary


Can i adjust this from my hosting?

PS! I am using a rasberry pi with weatherlink link live
Adrianwx23
Posts: 72
Joined: Sun 03 Mar 2024 5:09 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Operating System: Meteobridge

Re: Need help adjusting crazy yearly rainfall totals

Post by Adrianwx23 »

I just finished looking through all my weatherlink data since the station was installed and i do not see any 35+inches anywere so i dont know were it's coming from.
User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 12756
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2/WLL
Operating System: Bullseye Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Need help adjusting crazy yearly rainfall totals

Post by mcrossley »

In the WeatherLink phone app you can edit the yearly rainfall todate.

Devices > Edit > Stations and sensors > Edit > Advanced settings

You can do similar on the weatherlink.com web site.
User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 3830
Joined: Sun 28 Sep 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Plus 24-Hour FARS
Operating System: Windows8 and Windows10
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: Need help adjusting crazy yearly rainfall totals

Post by PaulMy »

Hi Mark,
I thought that was for rain in the current year before the device install, the same as the CMX settings Annual Rainfall. If it will correct incorrect rain records, I've learned something new and that is good :D

Enjoy,
Paul
Davis Vantage Pro2+
C1 www.komokaweather.com/komokaweather-ca
MX www.komokaweather.com/cumulusmx/index.htm /index.html /index.php
MX www.komokaweather.com/cumulusmxwll/index.htm /index.html /index.php
MX www. komokaweather.com/cumulusmx4/index.htm
Image
flort
Posts: 224
Joined: Thu 17 Dec 2020 9:06 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Raspbian GNU/Linux 10 (buster)
Location: Tin Can Bay, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: Need help adjusting crazy yearly rainfall totals

Post by flort »

Use with caution. I did this once and it threw a ridiculous figure into Cumulus which I then had to edit.

Regards,
Trevor
Adrianwx23
Posts: 72
Joined: Sun 03 Mar 2024 5:09 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Operating System: Meteobridge

Re: Need help adjusting crazy yearly rainfall totals

Post by Adrianwx23 »

flort wrote: Mon 01 Apr 2024 11:10 pm Use with caution. I did this once and it threw a ridiculous figure into Cumulus which I then had to edit.

Regards,
Trevor
Hmm this doesn’t sound to reassuring.
Adrianwx23
Posts: 72
Joined: Sun 03 Mar 2024 5:09 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Operating System: Meteobridge

Re: Need help adjusting crazy yearly rainfall totals

Post by Adrianwx23 »

mcrossley wrote: Mon 01 Apr 2024 9:06 pm In the WeatherLink phone app you can edit the yearly rainfall todate.

Devices > Edit > Stations and sensors > Edit > Advanced settings

You can do similar on the weatherlink.com web site.
Hi Mark, You sure it will correct incorrect rain records so that it shows the correct yearly totals in Cumulus? Worried it might make things worse.
User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 12756
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2/WLL
Operating System: Bullseye Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Need help adjusting crazy yearly rainfall totals

Post by mcrossley »

No it will not correct the value in MX. You only mentioned the value in the device in your post.

@paul you are correct, I thought it set the current value, but it does indeed set the value before you install the station.

@flort, recent versions of MX now ignore large increases in the rain counter as well as decreases as it has always done.

If you want to correct the value in MX there are two options...

1. Find the day(s) in the day file with the incorrect rainfall total(s) and fix them.

2. Ignore the bad value(s) and set the annual rainfall correction in the station settings. (Hmm, should logically be in the editor section along with the daily rainfall correction?)

[Sorry I'm on my phone so no access to get the actual menu locations]
Adrianwx23
Posts: 72
Joined: Sun 03 Mar 2024 5:09 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Operating System: Meteobridge

Re: Need help adjusting crazy yearly rainfall totals

Post by Adrianwx23 »

mcrossley wrote: Tue 02 Apr 2024 9:21 am No it will not correct the value in MX. You only mentioned the value in the device in your post.

@paul you are correct, I thought it set the current value, but it does indeed set the value before you install the station.

@flort, recent versions of MX now ignore large increases in the rain counter as well as decreases as it has always done.

If you want to correct the value in MX there are two options...

1. Find the day(s) in the day file with the incorrect rainfall total(s) and fix them.

2. Ignore the bad value(s) and set the annual rainfall correction in the station settings. (Hmm, should logically be in the editor section along with the daily rainfall correction?)

[Sorry I'm on my phone so no access to get the actual menu locations]
Hi Mark! Thanks your reply. Sent you a pm.
Adrianwx23
Posts: 72
Joined: Sun 03 Mar 2024 5:09 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Operating System: Meteobridge

Re: Need help adjusting crazy yearly rainfall totals

Post by Adrianwx23 »

Hi guys so i found this craziness on my site for January but its not showing that in my weatherlink pro data.

Image

Here is the rainfall for janaury in my weatherlink account. I see no such thing could cumulus be making this up just saying. Confused

But then it shows up here what in the world? :roll: 39.41


Image
Last edited by Adrianwx23 on Tue 02 Apr 2024 7:34 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 12756
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2/WLL
Operating System: Bullseye Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Need help adjusting crazy yearly rainfall totals

Post by mcrossley »

OK, so that narrows it down a bit.

Open your day file in Data Logs > Dayfile

Scroll through the data until you get to January this year. Then look for a day with an obviously erroneous rainfall total.

Select that day by clicking on the row, and then click Edit.

Set the Total rainfall value to the value from your nearby station, scroll to the bottom of the edit dialog, then click Save

That should fix your monthly and annual rainfall (after everything updates on your web site).
Adrianwx23
Posts: 72
Joined: Sun 03 Mar 2024 5:09 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Operating System: Meteobridge

Re: Need help adjusting crazy yearly rainfall totals

Post by Adrianwx23 »

mcrossley wrote: Tue 02 Apr 2024 7:33 pm OK, so that narrows it down a bit.

Open your day file in Data Logs > Dayfile

Scroll through the data until you get to January this year. Then look for a day with an obviously erroneous rainfall total.

Select that day by clicking on the row, and then click Edit.

Set the Total rainfall value to the value from your nearby station, scroll to the bottom of the edit dialog, then click Save

That should fix your monthly and annual rainfall (after everything updates on your web site).

But then it shows up here what in the world? :roll: 39.41


Image
Adrianwx23
Posts: 72
Joined: Sun 03 Mar 2024 5:09 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Operating System: Meteobridge

Re: Need help adjusting crazy yearly rainfall totals

Post by Adrianwx23 »

mcrossley wrote: Tue 02 Apr 2024 7:33 pm OK, so that narrows it down a bit.

Open your day file in Data Logs > Dayfile

Scroll through the data until you get to January this year. Then look for a day with an obviously erroneous rainfall total.

Select that day by clicking on the row, and then click Edit.

Set the Total rainfall value to the value from your nearby station, scroll to the bottom of the edit dialog, then click Save

That should fix your monthly and annual rainfall (after everything updates on your web site).
So wait this is in the cumulus dashboard page right? So look for the tab that's called " Datalogs" and in there open Dayfile then look for January. i am at work can i access this from here? I think i have to be home. I will certainly try this!
User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 3830
Joined: Sun 28 Sep 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Plus 24-Hour FARS
Operating System: Windows8 and Windows10
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: Need help adjusting crazy yearly rainfall totals

Post by PaulMy »

Code: Select all

I see no such thing could cumulus be making this up just saying.
But then it shows up here what in the world? :roll: 39.41
If the edit of the dayfile fixes the issue that is great.

I just want to add that Adrian's high rain rate in his CumulusMX and website is not a CumulusMX issue, but it is a Davis VP2 station and device upload to Weatherlink.com issue. The Davis VP2 station was installed in September 2023 and has both a WLL and new console device and an account at Weatherlink.com for each. From viewing both of the stations at WL.com in the table view it clearly shows the high rain rate in the year 2024.
https://www.weatherlink.com/bulletin/c5 ... f5d082c1c0
https://www.weatherlink.com/bulletin/d7 ... a26993a01f

Adrian's CumulusMX was installed in the past month and at that time downloaded archived historical data from one of the two "Adrian" accounts at WL.com, which included the high rain amounts. Attached are screen shots of the Weatherlink.com stations.

The screen capture by Adrian of his website's Tables > Monthly Tables SQL https://www.adriansweatherstation.com/s ... y=2024&m=1 shows that as well on January 31, 2024 and that is the data from WL.com that CumulusMX downloaded at initial setup. So not a CumulusMX creation :clap: . But if CumulusMX can fix it that is great!

Enjoy,
Paul
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Davis Vantage Pro2+
C1 www.komokaweather.com/komokaweather-ca
MX www.komokaweather.com/cumulusmx/index.htm /index.html /index.php
MX www.komokaweather.com/cumulusmxwll/index.htm /index.html /index.php
MX www. komokaweather.com/cumulusmx4/index.htm
Image
Adrianwx23
Posts: 72
Joined: Sun 03 Mar 2024 5:09 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Operating System: Meteobridge

Re: Need help adjusting crazy yearly rainfall totals

Post by Adrianwx23 »

So it looks like i fixed the monthly totals but how do i fix the yearly?

https://www.adriansweatherstation.com/s ... y=2024&m=1

The totals for each month seems correct now but Its still says 60 inches on my front page unless it takes time to reflect.

So every day it shows some insane rainfall does this mean i have to edit each one ? :shock:

Image

So confused...have no idea were all this ridiculous rainfall totals came from.
Post Reply