Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.28.5 (build 3282) - 23 February 2024

Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of drop-down menus to 2030)

Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items) from the Wiki

My website not working properly

Discussion and questions about Cumulus weather station software version 1. This section is the main place to get help with Cumulus 1 software developed by Steve Loft that ceased development in November 2014.
Post Reply
gwoodin
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed 29 Jun 2011 11:43 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Birmingham

My website not working properly

Post by gwoodin »

Sirs,

https://warstockweather.co.uk

Can you please tell me what to do to correct this.

In my cumulus configeration file the root folder is public_html, if that helps.
My ftp uploader is Filezilla.
Thanks
water01
Posts: 3184
Joined: Sat 13 Aug 2011 9:33 am
Weather Station: Ecowitt HP2551
Operating System: Windows 10 64bit
Location: Burnham-on-Sea
Contact:

Re: My website not working properly

Post by water01 »

You have not uploaded all the components of the old Cumulus 1 website, you are missing the style sheet (weatherstyle.css) and the moon bitmap (moon.bmp).

Are you a CumulusMX or Cumulus 1 user as you may have uploaded the wrong website as the one there is the old default website.
David
Image
gwoodin
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed 29 Jun 2011 11:43 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Birmingham

Re: My website not working properly

Post by gwoodin »

Thank you for your reply.
I've checked the right hand pane of Filezilla, (remote site), and both weatherstyle.css and moon.bmp are there.

MY cumulus version is 1.9.4 build 1099.
I've only had problems recently due to error 11002 (connect error which occurs in the first seconds of the routine uploads.

I've tried to get help from my host provider without success. I'm moving to another at this moment.

I think I may have messed something up in Filezilla, as its beyond my understanding.
Thank you
water01
Posts: 3184
Joined: Sat 13 Aug 2011 9:33 am
Weather Station: Ecowitt HP2551
Operating System: Windows 10 64bit
Location: Burnham-on-Sea
Contact:

Re: My website not working properly

Post by water01 »

If you enter https://warstockweather.co.uk/weathersyle.css is says not found. However you say you can see the files with FileZilla, so are are these files in the the root of https://warstockweather.co.uk/ or are they in a subdirectory?

Look at the FileZilla page at the right pane (Remote Site) and does the directory where you see the 2 files read something like /public_html/ or /htdocs/ which is the root directory. If it has another subfolder your files are being uploaded to the wrong place.

FTP Connect error 11002 is the hostname used in the settings of the device itself cannot be resolved. This tends to suggest you have an incorrect FTP login in your Cumulus 1 FTP settings, or has your host provider recently changed it's FTP default to a secure protocol such as SFTP or FTPS which Cumulus 1 does not support natively. I ask this as I see you have an https secure page for your website?
David
Image
gwoodin
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed 29 Jun 2011 11:43 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Birmingham

Re: My website not working properly

Post by gwoodin »

Thank you for your help David.
At 1000 25 Nov 23, my website is largely displaying correctly.

I went back into Filezilla. I found my files were in public_html directory/folder in right hand pane.
I thought I'd try a drag and drop of weatherstyle.css from left hand pane into right.
This worked.
There are still a couple of things still wrong in my webpages (gauges and trends). However I can live with this, as they are not important to me.

With regards to my website being https, I do recall my host provider changing to this from http a few months ago. It did not create any problems at the time.
The 11002 connect error has occured last few weeks. Approx 10 or less of my daily (20 minute) uploads are failing.
Its something I can live with.
I don't have much success getting help from my host providers.
geoff
water01
Posts: 3184
Joined: Sat 13 Aug 2011 9:33 am
Weather Station: Ecowitt HP2551
Operating System: Windows 10 64bit
Location: Burnham-on-Sea
Contact:

Re: My website not working properly

Post by water01 »

The reason the gauges do not work is that the basic version in Cumulus 1 relies upon a no longer supported or released piece of software (Silverlight) from Microsoft. Most people have converted to the SteelSeries Gauges https://www.cumuluswiki.org/a/SteelSeries_Gauges but that depends on how confident you are in modifying the old style web site code. It is not hard if you follow the instructions.

For the life of me I cannot remember how the trend images were created, I think it was by the Cumulus 1 program and they ended up in the /images directory. Not sure if you had to upload them or if that was done automatically by the program. Perhaps an existing Cumulus 1 user can comment.

I think that most Web Services providers are gradually converting to Secure FTP of some type, so that may be your problem, but as Cumulus 1 does not support Secure FTP unless you use an external program to do the uploads, the only other way is to convert to CumulusMX which does support Secure FTP.
David
Image
User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 3743
Joined: Sun 28 Sep 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2+ Cumulus1 / CummulusMX
Operating System: Windows8 / Windows10
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: My website not working properly

Post by PaulMy »

Hi,
For the life of me I cannot remember how the trend images were created, I think it was by the Cumulus 1 program and they ended up in the /images directory. Not sure if you had to upload them or if that was done automatically by the program. Perhaps an existing Cumulus 1 user can comment.
These are part of the CU1 interval processing and upload

After selection Trends on your page which then does not load correctly, pressing the [F12] key in my Edge browser shows some issues including

Code: Select all

ailed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 ()
intempsm.png:1 
        Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 ()
presssm.png:1 
        Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 ()
rainsm.png:1 
        Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 ()
winddsm.png:1     
        Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 ()
tempmsm.png:1 
        Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 ()
humsm.png:1 
        Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 ()
raintsm.png:1 
        Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 ()
raindsm.png:1 
        Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 ()
Then a similar [F12] in the home page shows that moon.bmp does not exist. However that moon.bmp is in the root folder https://warstockweather.co.uk/moon.bmp as are the other .png files.

Make sure you have all the content of your Cumulus \webfiles folder one-time FTP to your remote and that includes the images folder and the weatherstyle.css and other needed files. Also make sure you have the internet settings set - Configuration > Internet - Files and tick Include Standard Images.

Enjoy,
Paul
Davis Vantage Pro2+
C1 www.komokaweather.com/komokaweather-ca
MX www .komokaweather.com/cumulusmxwll/index.htm
MX www.komokaweather.com/cumulusmx/index.php
MX www.komokaweather.com/cumulusmx/index.html

Image
gwoodin
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed 29 Jun 2011 11:43 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Birmingham

Re: My website not working properly

Post by gwoodin »

here are screenshots of Filezilla which I believe is the source of the problem (my lack of knowledge).
Can you see anything wrong here?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 12563
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2/WLL
Operating System: Bullseye Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: My website not working properly

Post by mcrossley »

Yeah, it looks like you are uploading them to the root of host server when they should be going into the web softwares html root folder.

Are you sure that Filezilla is using FTPS to connect and not SFTP?

If it is using FTPS, then what we need to see is a full list of all the sub folders on your remote site from the / folder (staring with .cagefs, .cl.selector etc).
gwoodin
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed 29 Jun 2011 11:43 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Birmingham

Re: My website not working properly

Post by gwoodin »

Thank you for replying Mark.
My computer knowledge can be summed up in being able to surf internet and send emails.
Forgive me if I say I didn't understand your post.

About 12 years ago I installed Cumulus 1 on my windows desktop pc. At the time, my website was hosted by Steve Loft, and began with 'metsite'. No problems for years.
Since Steve's reirement I moved my website to warstockweather.co.uk
Its been on 2 different hosts since then. Neither have given me support on the uploading problem, or the website display problem.

I'm now in the situation where I' d be content with 60 or so uploads 20 minutes a day out of 72. (as currently). Although my website does not display correctly at preesent, I can live with this. The 'now' page is the most important to me.

So why have I posted on this forum? I realise there are people far brainier than me who might like to help.
G.
User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 3743
Joined: Sun 28 Sep 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2+ Cumulus1 / CummulusMX
Operating System: Windows8 / Windows10
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: My website not working properly

Post by PaulMy »

Hi,
I can't help on the updates and FTP{ issue and your options are somewhat limited with Cumulus 1. But you should be able to fix the Gauges and Trends issue. In your Cumulus Configuration > Internet > Files screen tick Include Standard Images. Then after a Cumulus normal interval update the necessary files should be uploaded and display on your website.

Enjoy,
Paul
Davis Vantage Pro2+
C1 www.komokaweather.com/komokaweather-ca
MX www .komokaweather.com/cumulusmxwll/index.htm
MX www.komokaweather.com/cumulusmx/index.php
MX www.komokaweather.com/cumulusmx/index.html

Image
User avatar
ConligWX
Posts: 1563
Joined: Mon 19 May 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis vPro2+ w/DFARS + AirLink
Operating System: Ubuntu 22.04 LTS
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: My website not working properly

Post by ConligWX »

since that looks like a cpanel hosting, have you tried uploading to the "public_html" folder? that's where your webfiles root should be
Regards Simon

https://www.conligwx.org - @conligwx
Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus with Daytime FARS • WeatherLink Live • Davis AirLink • PurpleAir •

Image
gwoodin
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed 29 Jun 2011 11:43 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Birmingham

Re: My website not working properly

Post by gwoodin »

Thank you for all your replies.

I fixed the display problem myself. I describe it below in case others experience it:

Open Filezilla, connect to your server (your hostname).
Delete all files in the right hand pane. I was unable to delete one. I don't think it was a cumulus file.
Click on cumulus webfiles in the upper pane.
5 folders/files will appear in the left pane below.
Just above these files, there is a small yellow folder icon. Right click it, and enter a filename. public_html if you are using Cumulus 1. (At this moment the folder is empty).
Drag this across to the right pane. You should see it upload to your website.
Next, click on Cumulus webfiles in the top pane.
5 files/folders will appear below in the left hand pane.
Transfer these accross, individually, to the right pane using drag and drop.
You should see them upload. Close Filezilla.
Do a manual upload from your local cumulus display
With any luck, your website should now display correctly.

Issue 2: uploading 11002 failures. On average this affects 10% or so of my daily uploads.
My hosting website company tried 'tweaking' the server, and also suggested I try disabling my antivirus software for a while.
However, neither of these worked.
So it remains a mystery.
G.
User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 3743
Joined: Sun 28 Sep 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2+ Cumulus1 / CummulusMX
Operating System: Windows8 / Windows10
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: My website not working properly

Post by PaulMy »

Davis Vantage Pro2+
C1 www.komokaweather.com/komokaweather-ca
MX www .komokaweather.com/cumulusmxwll/index.htm
MX www.komokaweather.com/cumulusmx/index.php
MX www.komokaweather.com/cumulusmx/index.html

Image
Post Reply