Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release v3.1.2 build 3055 - 4 November 2019.
Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014

See the Wiki for downloading either version.

Cumulus PHP-GD Banner

Other discussion about creating web sites for Cumulus that doesn't have a specific subforum

Moderator: daj

Mark14
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu 23 Aug 2012 8:53 pm
Weather Station: WH 2080
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Konin, Poland

Re: Cumulus PHP-GD Banner

Post by Mark14 » Sun 07 Jul 2019 2:00 pm

To some extent, because I see a banner. It's probably not a wrong path issue.
However, on my main webpage I normally see updated data every minute: http://mark014.beep.pl

The banner is not updated on a regular basis. At the moment, I see measurements from 15 minutes ago: http://mark014.beep.pl/pogoda.php. Strange thing. I did not have such a situation so far.
It looks like the banner refreshed only every hour...
Image

User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 2770
Joined: Tue 09 Dec 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: ex XP SP3 - now W10 laptop grr
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: Cumulus PHP-GD Banner

Post by beteljuice » Sun 07 Jul 2019 9:51 pm

Are you sure you don't have TWO realtime.txt ?

http://mark014.beep.pl/realtime.txt is updating correctly, but as you say the banner seems to have a different 'period'.
Why is 'realtime' an extrafile - I don't remember that, but I could be wrong :roll:
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 5730
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Stretch Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Cumulus PHP-GD Banner

Post by mcrossley » Mon 08 Jul 2019 3:51 pm

beteljuice wrote:
Sun 07 Jul 2019 9:51 pm
Why is 'realtime' an extrafile - I don't remember that, but I could be wrong :roll:
Correct, Cumulus will upload at the realtime interval so long as you tick the option in settings, no need to add it as an extra file.

Unless you want to upload at longer than the reltime interval I guess?

User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 2770
Joined: Tue 09 Dec 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: ex XP SP3 - now W10 laptop grr
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: Cumulus PHP-GD Banner

Post by beteljuice » Mon 08 Jul 2019 9:20 pm

Unless you want to upload at longer than the reltime interval I guess?
That's why I wandering if there were two files in different places ....
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !

Mapantz
Posts: 615
Joined: Sat 17 Dec 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64
Location: Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: Cumulus PHP-GD Banner

Post by Mapantz » Tue 09 Jul 2019 12:49 pm

I had a similar problem when I first started using the banner. It's possible you may have it too.

It turned out to be a caching problem and to solve it, I added this to my .htaccess file

Code: Select all

<Files banner.php>
FileETag None
Header unset ETag
Header set Cache-Control "max-age=0, no-cache, no-store, must-revalidate"
Header set Pragma "no-cache"
Header set Expires "Wed, 11 Jan 1984 05:00:00 GMT"
</Files>
Image

User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 2770
Joined: Tue 09 Dec 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: ex XP SP3 - now W10 laptop grr
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: Cumulus PHP-GD Banner

Post by beteljuice » Tue 09 Jul 2019 2:51 pm

Thanks mapantz - haven't seen that one before.

Does that mean the rest of 'the site' has a cache value set somewhere by hosting admin ?
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !

Mark14
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu 23 Aug 2012 8:53 pm
Weather Station: WH 2080
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Konin, Poland

Re: Cumulus PHP-GD Banner

Post by Mark14 » Sun 14 Jul 2019 11:49 am

mcrossley wrote:
Mon 08 Jul 2019 3:51 pm
Correct, Cumulus will upload at the realtime interval so long as you tick the extrafile in settings, no need to add it as an extra file.

Unless you want to upload at longer than the reltime interval I guess?
No I want to upload the realtime file every 50 secs.

Maybe I put the extrafile when I had previous problems with paths. But I deleted the option and now it works. Thank you for your help.
Image

Post Reply