Welcome to the new home of the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3044 7 December 2018. See the Wiki for download

Change Log Interval

Discussion specific to Fine Offset and similar rebadged weather stations
Post Reply
User avatar
Super-T
Posts: 803
Joined: Tue 09 Sep 2008 3:37 am
Weather Station: wh-1081
Operating System: Weather Laptop - Windows 10 Pro
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Change Log Interval

Post by Super-T » Sat 24 Nov 2018 10:58 pm

I have always run with a log interval of 1 minute and decided to change to 5 mins. I changed the Console logging using Steve's programme and also the configuration within Cumulus so all should be good.
One of the reasons for changing was that I am getting lots of outside temperature spikes and I reason that if I have a longer log time then I would have less spikes showing. All spikes avoidance is not possible with a Fine Offset WS1081 system you just live with them.
What my problem is that the logging reverts to 1 minute in the monthly log file until I restart Cumulus and then it goes back to 5 minutes and all is good.
See pics of spikes at 1 minute and 5 minutes.
When is it possible to change from 1 minute to 5 minutes log interval or is it not possible?
2018-11-25_112801.jpg
2018-11-25_113039.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Super-T
Posts: 803
Joined: Tue 09 Sep 2008 3:37 am
Weather Station: wh-1081
Operating System: Weather Laptop - Windows 10 Pro
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Change Log Interval

Post by Super-T » Thu 29 Nov 2018 9:46 pm

Still having problems with this.

I set the Log time as 5 minutes but in the cumulus.ini I get DataLogInterval=1. I can change this to 5 but it is really a shot in the dark.

I have also had it swap itself to 30 minutes, apparently on it's own so not sure where that cam from.

Any help would be appreciated.
Nov18log.txt
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 5234
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Stretch Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Change Log Interval

Post by mcrossley » Thu 29 Nov 2018 10:05 pm

Don't know what to suggest Terry, I've not seen a problem like this before. But changing Cumulus.ini to 5 - with Cumulus stopped - should be correct.

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 5234
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Stretch Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Change Log Interval

Post by mcrossley » Fri 30 Nov 2018 5:26 pm

Ah! Terry I was wrong! :bash:

a value of 1 in the ini file does mean 5 minutes!

User avatar
Super-T
Posts: 803
Joined: Tue 09 Sep 2008 3:37 am
Weather Station: wh-1081
Operating System: Weather Laptop - Windows 10 Pro
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Change Log Interval

Post by Super-T » Fri 30 Nov 2018 9:38 pm

That might make more sense as, if I change to 5 in the cumulus.ini then start cumulus and look at configurations, the log interval is set to 30 minutes.

Time for more play to see why it reverts to 1 minute when set in configuration as 5.

Seems better to leave the cumulus.ini alone and let configuration set it :-)

User avatar
Super-T
Posts: 803
Joined: Tue 09 Sep 2008 3:37 am
Weather Station: wh-1081
Operating System: Weather Laptop - Windows 10 Pro
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Change Log Interval

Post by Super-T » Sat 01 Dec 2018 9:34 pm

A bit more research.
Cumulus.ini Log Interval set to 1. Configuration set to 5 Minutes. Console set to 5 Minutes. December log file all show 5 minute intervals. View graphs shows the last bits of the graph since yesterday as 1 minute intervals.
Restarting Cumulus and the View Graphs shows as 5 minute intervals.

Where do the graphs get this information from if not the dec18log.txt?

There must be another setting that needs changing?

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 5234
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Stretch Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Change Log Interval

Post by mcrossley » Sun 02 Dec 2018 12:34 pm

The recent graphs should data cached by Cumulus at 1 minute intervals regardless of the logging interval. This data is just held in memory, so if you restart Cumulus it can only display data from the log file up to the point it restarts.

User avatar
Super-T
Posts: 803
Joined: Tue 09 Sep 2008 3:37 am
Weather Station: wh-1081
Operating System: Weather Laptop - Windows 10 Pro
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Change Log Interval

Post by Super-T » Sun 02 Dec 2018 8:58 pm

So, whatever I do the graph will continue to be displayed as 1 minute intervals until I restart Cumulus. That seems a bit strange. I was hoping to get less crappy graph displays :-(
2018-12-03_095642.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Post Reply