Welcome to the new home of the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release v3.0.0 build 3046 - 02 January 2019. See the Wiki for download

Trend graphs

Discussion and questions about Cumulus weather station software version 1. This section and its subforums are the main place to get help with Cumulus. Anything which is not specific to the type of weather station goes in here; for anything specific to a type of weather station, please use the appropriate subforum. Use the 'website development' section for any questions relating to creating or running a web site for Cumulus data. Discussion of the stations themselves in these sections is fine.
Post Reply
patters_uk
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun 12 Aug 2012 8:21 am
Weather Station: WH-1081
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Trend graphs

Post by patters_uk » Mon 06 Nov 2017 12:37 pm

I have a wh1081 and have always wondered why the detailed trend graphs show straight lines for the period when my pcc is off. The station has a data logger in it and when the pic restarts then cumulus catches up fine and I can see it downloading and applying the data in the main display . Interestingly the thumbnail charts seem to show data points during the pc sleep period. The other thing is that any max/min entries are always time stamped with times when the pic is on. Does cumulus somehow ignore the time stamp from catch up data or have I got an incorrect setting.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26717
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Trend graphs

Post by steve » Mon 06 Nov 2017 2:43 pm

Are you allowing your PC to sleep (go into standby) while Cumulus is running?
Steve

patters_uk
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun 12 Aug 2012 8:21 am
Weather Station: WH-1081
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Trend graphs

Post by patters_uk » Mon 06 Nov 2017 4:48 pm

Yes, it goes to sleep after an inactivity timeout. Cumulus isn't shutdown.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26717
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Trend graphs

Post by steve » Mon 06 Nov 2017 6:00 pm

Then that is the cause of your problem.
Steve

patters_uk
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun 12 Aug 2012 8:21 am
Weather Station: WH-1081
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Trend graphs

Post by patters_uk » Mon 06 Nov 2017 6:30 pm

OK, but not sure I am derstand. Cumulus catches up ok and downloads data on resume but doesn't seem to apply that data to the history or the large charts. Oddly the thumbnail charts seem to show the correct trend.

Are you suggesting not that I have to somehow shut down cumulus each time the pc goes to sleep and start it again on resume. If so then do you know of a method to do this ?

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26717
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Trend graphs

Post by steve » Mon 06 Nov 2017 7:00 pm

This is covered in the readme.txt that appears when you install Cumulus, and in the FAQ. Cumulus does not download missing data on resume if it is running when the computer goes into standby.

My advice would be to disable standby on any computer which is running Cumulus.
Steve

patters_uk
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun 12 Aug 2012 8:21 am
Weather Station: WH-1081
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Trend graphs

Post by patters_uk » Mon 06 Nov 2017 8:05 pm

disabling standby isn't really an option I am afraid. I am assuming "close on suspend" will shut down the program on slepp, hibernate or restart. If thi is the case then I'll create a scheduled task to start cumulus on resume. Does that make sense ?

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26717
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Trend graphs

Post by steve » Tue 07 Nov 2017 3:54 pm

Close on suspend will cause Cumulus to attempt to close itself on sleep/standby type events, there are no guarantees with this setting, it assumes Cumulus receives the notification in time to do the necessary actions.
Steve

RayProudfoot
Posts: 2645
Joined: Wed 06 May 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Trend graphs

Post by RayProudfoot » Tue 07 Nov 2017 4:41 pm

patters_uk wrote:disabling standby isn't really an option I am afraid.
I’m curious, why not? The screen can be switched off on a laptop or monitor and the power consumption will be pretty small.
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image

patters_uk
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun 12 Aug 2012 8:21 am
Weather Station: WH-1081
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Trend graphs

Post by patters_uk » Tue 07 Nov 2017 4:46 pm

Noise more than power consumption ... I have a script that allows me to wake the computer remotely.

RayProudfoot
Posts: 2645
Joined: Wed 06 May 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Trend graphs

Post by RayProudfoot » Tue 07 Nov 2017 5:56 pm

patters_uk wrote:Noise more than power consumption ... I have a script that allows me to wake the computer remotely.
I'm guessing it's in a bedroom if you can't leave it running overnight. That's where laptops or even netbooks are ideal. Virtually silent.

My netbook has been running since May 2009 with no significant downtime. Just reboots and system cleaning.
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image

Post Reply