Welcome to the new home of the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See the Wiki for download

WeatherDuino Pro2 - Build yourself a full Weather Station

For discussion of DIY weather equipment - sensors, accessories, improvements to existing kit etc
uncle_bob
Posts: 475
Joined: Wed 17 Aug 2011 2:58 pm
Weather Station: WeatherDuino Pro2
Operating System: 2008
Location: Canberra

Re: WeatherDuino Pro2 - Build yourself a full Weather Statio

Post by uncle_bob » Sun 04 Jan 2015 7:38 am

brett wrote:Haha, no a modem restart never helps :) Removing the long latency DNS server from the configuration should, but I can't do that at the moment it'll disrupt other household activities that SWMBO will not permit - may have to fudge it with hosts files.

Unfortunately the Telstra mobile network is on someone's black list, so the website won't let me register if I'm using my phone or tethered to it; will have to wait until wife goes to bed/stops watching TV or tomorrow when I return to work.... in the meantime, can anyone share the parts list? I've seen your shopping list uncle_bob (page 1 of your thread anyway) but nothing more.....
There's a couple of tricks you can try:
1) Use a proxy to sign up
2) And better still, hard code your computer TCP/IP properties to use another DNS server.

Anyway, I'll PM you the parts list shortly. I'd upload here, but I would need Werks permission first.
Interested in building your own Weather Station? Maybe check out the WeatherDuino Pro Project Here
Conder, Canberra Weather
Image

User avatar
Werk_AG
Posts: 182
Joined: Sun 13 Jan 2013 8:04 pm
Weather Station: WeatherDuino Pro2
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Cercal CDV - Portugal

Re: WeatherDuino Pro2 - Build yourself a full Weather Statio

Post by Werk_AG » Sat 17 Jan 2015 6:12 pm

uncle_bob wrote:
Anyway, I'll PM you the parts list shortly. I'd upload here, but I would need Werks permission first.
uncle_bob, go ahead...

A new add on for the WeatherDuino Pro2 system is already published! I'm talking about small and low cost units, that are able to show wirelessly all over your house, all weather data received by the main RX unit.

More info here: WeatherDuino Pro2 Wireless Display - What is it?

Image

Image
Image

User avatar
Werk_AG
Posts: 182
Joined: Sun 13 Jan 2013 8:04 pm
Weather Station: WeatherDuino Pro2
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Cercal CDV - Portugal

Re: WeatherDuino Pro2 - Build yourself a full Weather Statio

Post by Werk_AG » Sun 07 Jun 2015 2:16 am

WeatherDuino Pro2 software v1.4 was released today!
It brings to all RX v4.0x boards, support for a Davis compatible hardware data logger.
And of course, it works with Cumulus 1 and the great CumulusMX

More info here: http://www.meteocercal.info/forum/Forum ... Duino-Pro2
Image

User avatar
Werk_AG
Posts: 182
Joined: Sun 13 Jan 2013 8:04 pm
Weather Station: WeatherDuino Pro2
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Cercal CDV - Portugal

Re: WeatherDuino Pro2 - Build yourself a full Weather Statio

Post by Werk_AG » Fri 30 Oct 2015 2:28 am

At start, the WeatherDuino Pro2 system had support only for the Fine Offset instruments, but during the last months, thanks to the contribution of several people (with suggestions, and help in the tests), things changed a lot. Since software v1.5 release, the WeatherDuino Pro2 system is now almost an universal system, supporting a large range of weather instruments and sensor types.

Here is a list of currently supported weather instruments and sensors.

Wind Speed

--- Fine Offset Anemometers ---
Standard FO anemometers
FO anemometer modified with 1 hall effect sensor

--- Inspeed Anemometers ---
Inspeed Vortex, digital 8 pulse revolution
Inspeed Vortex, hall efect sensor
Inspeed Vortex, read switch sensor

--- Davis Anemometers ---
Davis 6410 anemometer

--- Novalynx Anemometers ---
Novalynx, model 200-WS-02F - (experimental)

--- Environmental Measurements Limited ---
EML, model WSD1 - (experimental)

--- Didcot Instrument Company ---
DIDCOT, model DWR205


Wind Direction

--- Fine Offset Wind Vane ---
Standard FO wind vane

--- Inspeed Wind Vane ---
Inspeed E-Vane 2

--- Davis Wind Vane ---
Davis 6410 and 7911 wind vane

--- Didcot Instrument Company ---
DIDCOT, model DWD205


Tipping Bucket Rain Gauges

--- Wired Models ---
- Fine Offset (PCE, Watson, etc)
- Davis 7852
- Texas Electronics, model 525
- Virtually, any tipping bucket rain gauge

--- Wireless Models ---
- Auriol H13726
- Ventus W155
- Hama EWS 1500
- Meteoscan w155 w160
- Alecto WS-3500
- Balance RF-WS100

Outside Temperature / Humidity Sensors


- All SHT2x series from Sensirion
- All SHT1x series from Sensirion
- HTU21D
- DHT21 or DHT22 (low end sensors)

----------------------------------------------------------------------

Picture below is from an installation in the UK, using DidCot instruments with an WeatherDuino Pro2 system

Image


Another one, from my own system, using the Inspeed Intruments

Image


And finally, a superb combination: An WeatherDuino Pro2 receiver unit, coupled with a Raspberry PI, running the excellent Cumulus MX.

Image


To all that helped to make this possible, and had the patience to read my poor English, thank you.
A special thanks to Steve by his work with the Cumulus software, and for always having the time and patience to reply to some of my pontual questions.
Image

User avatar
laulau
Posts: 521
Joined: Tue 13 Oct 2009 10:52 pm
Weather Station: WeatherDuino Pro2
Operating System: Win 7
Location: Meyenheim, Alsace, FR
Contact:

Re: WeatherDuino Pro2 - Build yourself a full Weather Statio

Post by laulau » Mon 07 Dec 2015 10:07 pm

Hi,
I've a WeatherDuino test station working and connected to CMX.
There are some "No ack received in response to LPS 2 1" message in the diag file. Debug log was enabled at ~22:50 for 10 mins.
What does it mean ?
Thanks
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Laurent

Image

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26714
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: WeatherDuino Pro2 - Build yourself a full Weather Statio

Post by steve » Mon 07 Dec 2015 10:18 pm

It's not getting a response to the LOOP2 request - I don't think the Weatherduino supports that, if not, you need to disable it in Cumulus.ini - see 'A note to Davis owners' in the MX announcement post.
Steve

User avatar
Werk_AG
Posts: 182
Joined: Sun 13 Jan 2013 8:04 pm
Weather Station: WeatherDuino Pro2
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Cercal CDV - Portugal

Re: WeatherDuino Pro2 - Build yourself a full Weather Statio

Post by Werk_AG » Tue 08 Dec 2015 12:15 am

laulau wrote:Hi,
I've a WeatherDuino test station working and connected to CMX.
There are some "No ack received in response to LPS 2 1" message in the diag file. Debug log was enabled at ~22:50 for 10 mins.
What does it mean ?
Thanks
Hi laulau,

Please read the instructions about how to configure Cumulus 1 and CumulusMX to work with WeatherDuino Pro2 in the support forum.
steve wrote:It's not getting a response to the LOOP2 request - I don't think the Weatherduino supports that, if not, you need to disable it in Cumulus.ini - see 'A note to Davis owners' in the MX announcement post.
Thank you Steve, and you are right, WeatherDuino Pro2 doesn't reply to LOOP2 requests.
Image

User avatar
Werk_AG
Posts: 182
Joined: Sun 13 Jan 2013 8:04 pm
Weather Station: WeatherDuino Pro2
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Cercal CDV - Portugal

Re: WeatherDuino Pro2 - Build yourself a full Weather Statio

Post by Werk_AG » Tue 22 Mar 2016 5:04 pm

v2.0 software package for the WeatherDuino Pro2 system, was launched today.

First news: The AuriolDuino system was merged into the WeatherDuino Pro2 project. This means that from now on, the WeatherDuino Pro2 receiver unit also can be used with all the Weather Stations* previously supported by the AuriolDuino system.

For the current and new WeatherDuino Pro2 users, there are novelties too:

- Added support (experimental yet) for Soil Moisture**, Leaf Wetness** and Soil / Leaf temperature sensors**, using a dedicated Soil / Leaf interface (expected to be available in May 2016).
- New user programmable general purpose output function, which can be used to turn on or off a relay.
- Added a three digits diagnostic code in the LCD startup screen.
- Added a user configurable option to enable / disable Wind Gust Spike prevention routine (mostly for FO anemometers)
- New software for the TX units. Added support for the Soil / Leaf interface
- Wireless Display units have a new screen design, showing more info, driven by touch or by the push button.
- Better comments in all software.
- Improved code (each day I learn a bit).

And of course, compatible with all existing hardware***.


* Auriol H13726, Ventus W155, Hama EWS 1500 / Meteoscan w155 w160 / Alecto WS-3500 / Balance RF-WS100


** Supported Soil Moisture sensor: Vegetronix VH400
** Supported Leaf Wetness sensor: Decagon Leaf Wetness Sensor.
** Supported Soil / Leaf temperature sensors - Up to four Dallas 1-wire temperature sensors.

*** Soil / Leaf interface may work only with TX v3.xx boards
Image

uncle_bob
Posts: 475
Joined: Wed 17 Aug 2011 2:58 pm
Weather Station: WeatherDuino Pro2
Operating System: 2008
Location: Canberra

Re: WeatherDuino Pro2 - Build yourself a full Weather Statio

Post by uncle_bob » Mon 18 Jul 2016 8:50 am

Now with SHT31 temp. sensor support (the same as the new Davis sensor).
http://www.meteocercal.info/forum/Threa ... 45#pid4545
Interested in building your own Weather Station? Maybe check out the WeatherDuino Pro Project Here
Conder, Canberra Weather
Image

User avatar
Werk_AG
Posts: 182
Joined: Sun 13 Jan 2013 8:04 pm
Weather Station: WeatherDuino Pro2
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Cercal CDV - Portugal

Re: WeatherDuino Pro2 - Build yourself a full Weather Station

Post by Werk_AG » Mon 28 Nov 2016 4:47 pm

There is a new addition to the WeatherDuino Pro2 system.

WeatherDuino Pro2 PLUS Base Unit - Receiver

Image


To read an Overview on the support forum, click here.

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 5210
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Stretch Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: WeatherDuino Pro2 - Build yourself a full Weather Station

Post by mcrossley » Tue 29 Nov 2016 9:21 am

Looks interesting. If I read this right, then this base unit can receive Davis wireless transmissions directly? Can it combine data from multiple ISS units?

User avatar
laulau
Posts: 521
Joined: Tue 13 Oct 2009 10:52 pm
Weather Station: WeatherDuino Pro2
Operating System: Win 7
Location: Meyenheim, Alsace, FR
Contact:

Re: WeatherDuino Pro2 - Build yourself a full Weather Station

Post by laulau » Tue 29 Nov 2016 12:04 pm

No i don't think so. There's no Davis IIS decoding inside the new version !!
Maybe i'm wrong, Werk_ag will confirm or reject that.
Laurent

Image

User avatar
Werk_AG
Posts: 182
Joined: Sun 13 Jan 2013 8:04 pm
Weather Station: WeatherDuino Pro2
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Cercal CDV - Portugal

Re: WeatherDuino Pro2 - Build yourself a full Weather Station

Post by Werk_AG » Tue 29 Nov 2016 11:58 pm

Hi Mark,

laulau is right, the unit doesn't decode Davis IIS data packets. It just emulates a Davis Vantage Pro when communicating with a weather software, including the data logger.
Last edited by Werk_AG on Wed 14 Dec 2016 5:15 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 5210
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Stretch Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: WeatherDuino Pro2 - Build yourself a full Weather Station

Post by mcrossley » Wed 30 Nov 2016 12:09 am

Yes, I read the page again, thanks for the clarification. I'm just working on a Moteino based Davis doodah...

User avatar
Werk_AG
Posts: 182
Joined: Sun 13 Jan 2013 8:04 pm
Weather Station: WeatherDuino Pro2
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Cercal CDV - Portugal

Re: WeatherDuino Pro2 - Build yourself a full Weather Station

Post by Werk_AG » Wed 30 Nov 2016 3:12 am

Humm.. the Moteino. Good choose for the job, it seems the radio can be used to receive data from the DAVIS ISS units.
;) Good luck.

Post Reply