Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release v3.0.2 build 3052 - 13 September 2019.
Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014

See the Wiki for downloading either version.

Gauges Display No Data

Other discussion about creating web sites for Cumulus that doesn't have a specific subforum

Moderator: daj

Post Reply
acatalano
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue 16 Jun 2015 2:07 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Raspian, Win7 Pro
Location: Boulder, CO
Contact:

Gauges Display No Data

Post by acatalano » Fri 18 Mar 2016 4:00 am

I have used the built-in webfiles within V3.0 of CumulusMX to create a website: apcat.org CumulusMX is running on a Raspberrypi 2 getting its data from a Davis VP2. For the most part the website is displaying the data correctly with the exception of the gauges. While the gauge images are shown properly, there is no data. Instead an error message is shown in the rectangular "update" box below the station name and latitude/longitude.

In a related matter I have setup a very simple webcam page (same image as in the Wunderground site at the link below) and ftp up image.jpg files created by the RPi camera that are embedded into a webcam.htm file. I have setup Cumulus.ini so the webcam link points to the destination: apcat.org/public_html/webcam.htm. The link appears correct on the homepage, and I can actually view the page via my CPanel. However when I follow the link from the homepage I get a 404 error file not found! If I had any hair left I'd pull it out! I originally had this in a separate folder all nice and neat and that didn't work either. I assume I've made some Newbie mistake,-just can't guess what it is...

Anthony Catalano
http://www.wunderground.com/personal-we ... 94#history
Best Regards,
Anthony Catalano
Boulder, Colorado, USA
Webcam & Weather at:
http://www.boulderwx.com, http://www.apcat.org, http://www.boulderweather.org
Blitzortung Lightning Detector Station 1965

water01
Posts: 1551
Joined: Sat 13 Aug 2011 9:33 am
Weather Station: WH1081
Operating System: Windows 7 64bit HP SP1
Location: Somewhere in the USA
Contact:

Re: Gauges Display No Data

Post by water01 » Fri 18 Mar 2016 8:14 am

Have you followed the instructions to make Cumulus MX process and upload realtimegauges.txt as this is the file that provides the data to the gauges.

Edit just checked and http://www.apcat.org/realtimegauges.txt gives a 404 so you are not uploading it.
Last edited by water01 on Fri 18 Mar 2016 10:36 am, edited 1 time in total.

freddie
Posts: 495
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2011 11:19 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Operating System: GNU/Linux (Ubuntu 18.04)
Location: Dorrington, Shropshire
Contact:

Re: Gauges Display No Data

Post by freddie » Fri 18 Mar 2016 10:09 am

acatalano wrote:I have used the built-in webfiles within V3.0 of CumulusMX to create a website: apcat.org CumulusMX is running on a Raspberrypi 2 getting its data from a Davis VP2.
I notice that you are running an old build of MX - 3025. The current version is 3038 - I would suggest moving to this version, as it contains many bugfixes.
acatalano wrote:I have setup Cumulus.ini so the webcam link points to the destination: apcat.org/public_html/webcam.htm. The link appears correct on the homepage, and I can actually view the page via my CPanel. However when I follow the link from the homepage I get a 404 error file not found!
You need to point the webcam link to apcat.org/webcam.htm. Although the webcam page is saved to public_html on the file system of your web server, you do not need to have public_html appear in the links to your pages. If you look at the link for the graphs page from your home page then it is apcat.org/trends.htm - with no public_html in the link. The trends.htm file is in the same location on the web server as webcam.htm - so it stands to reason that the link to the webcam page will be similar to the link to the graphs page.
Freddie
Image

acatalano
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue 16 Jun 2015 2:07 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Raspian, Win7 Pro
Location: Boulder, CO
Contact:

Re: Gauges Display No Data

Post by acatalano » Fri 18 Mar 2016 2:51 pm

Thank you Freddie & David for the very helpful answers. Indeed the inclusion of public_html in the path was the problem. Although I corrected the webcam= URL by removing the public_html from the path, the link on the homepage (apcat.org) did not appear to change. I went into index.htm and edited it manually from the CPanel and it's all good now (it's snowing here so the picture is not too attractive). By ftping the image.jpg file using wput in a BASH script I've proven to myself that I must put "public_html" into the path to have things wind up in the proper place on the server. So I have put it into the "Directory=" setting of Cumulus.ini I thought this might also be the problem with the gauges not working; they still are not.

I have Realtime this and that enabled at the default 30secs and the link appears correct; no public_html in the way. I thought perhaps my paths were not correct they are:

ExtraLocal0=home/pi/CumulusMX/web/realtimegauges.txt
ExtraRemote0=apcat.org/realtimegauges.txt

Not sure if I should have public_html here to facilitate the FTP function.

Thanks again for all your help
Best Regards,
Anthony Catalano
Boulder, Colorado, USA
Webcam & Weather at:
http://www.boulderwx.com, http://www.apcat.org, http://www.boulderweather.org
Blitzortung Lightning Detector Station 1965

water01
Posts: 1551
Joined: Sat 13 Aug 2011 9:33 am
Weather Station: WH1081
Operating System: Windows 7 64bit HP SP1
Location: Somewhere in the USA
Contact:

Re: Gauges Display No Data

Post by water01 » Fri 18 Mar 2016 2:58 pm

I am afraid ExtraRemote0=apcat.org/realtimegauges.txt is incorrect.

You have already given Cumulus MX the server to login to as you normal files are going up OK so ExtraRemote0 should read

ExtraRemote0=public_html/realtimegauges.txt

to get it in the right place.

Also puzzled as to why you are editing the cumulus.ini file when the Extra Web Files are all available via the Cumulus MX web interface Settings/Extra Web Files page.

acatalano
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue 16 Jun 2015 2:07 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Raspian, Win7 Pro
Location: Boulder, CO
Contact:

Re: Gauges Display No Data

Post by acatalano » Fri 18 Mar 2016 5:59 pm

David

Thanks very much for spotting this; indeed it has made things lots better. No error messages anymore. The windrose and the windspeed are not showing up, so that's still a bit of a puzzle.

To answer your question about not using the dashboard to edit Cumulus.ini is a bit complex. For one thing, I prefer the command line/text editor even though it's easy to miss something scrolling the long list of items. Second is that I had substantial problems installing MX and getting it to run. It's also one of the reasons I'm a bit loathe to update the program; I'd hate to have to start from scratch. One of the crazy things with the dashboard has been that if I start from localhost:8998 the web browser goes to my downloads folder and creates htm files there where I still have the unzipped CumulusMX files & folders. If I start the web browser and go to localhost:8998/internetsettings.html the dashboard comes up nicely and everything works well using that approach. Suspect this issue has something to do with my flailing about during the install. I renamed the CumulusMX folder in downloads so now its putting stuff in /home/pi/

Anthony
Best Regards,
Anthony Catalano
Boulder, Colorado, USA
Webcam & Weather at:
http://www.boulderwx.com, http://www.apcat.org, http://www.boulderweather.org
Blitzortung Lightning Detector Station 1965

water01
Posts: 1551
Joined: Sat 13 Aug 2011 9:33 am
Weather Station: WH1081
Operating System: Windows 7 64bit HP SP1
Location: Somewhere in the USA
Contact:

Re: Gauges Display No Data

Post by water01 » Fri 18 Mar 2016 8:33 pm

Not sure why but running the F12 Developer debugger shows it failing in the rose drawing code. Think you will need Mark Crosley's help on that one I am afraid.

S55G
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon 08 Jul 2019 10:54 am
Weather Station: Technoline WS2307
Operating System: Raspberry

Re: Gauges Display No Data

Post by S55G » Tue 13 Aug 2019 9:24 pm

Hi there....

i instaled and run CumulusMX on RPI +3B
for a couple of weeks it works fine... it still sending -forwarding accurate datas to WUweather APRS and other programs and sirtes...but my Dashboard in browser is a total caos.......I tryed to cleAN CHASH IN pc BUT NO LUCK WITH THIS ISSUE...ANYONE CAN GIVE ME AN HINT..OR SOLUTION...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 5679
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Stretch Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Gauges Display No Data

Post by mcrossley » Sun 01 Sep 2019 4:58 pm

I don't know if you solved this, but it looks like corrupt files in your /interface folder to me.

Post Reply