Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.9.1 (build 3096) - 31 October 2020 (please see announcement regarding releases since 3.5.0)
Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of the NOAA report and Snow Index drop-down menus to 2030)

Use this Wiki link to Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items).

New CumulusMX with WeatherLink Live

Discussion specific to Davis weather stations
Post Reply
User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 2316
Joined: Sun 28 Sep 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2+ Cumulus1 / CummulusMX
Operating System: Windows8 / Windows10
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

New CumulusMX with WeatherLink Live

Post by PaulMy »

I got my new toys yesterday... WLL and AirLink.
Both seem to be working.

Trying to get CumulusMX going with WLL and get the following in the start up:

Code: Select all

Cumulus MX v.3.9.0 build 3095
Working Dir: C:\KomokaWeather\CumulusMXwll\
Today.ini = data\today.ini
Last update=2020-10-27T16:59:19
System.FormatException: Input string was not in a correct format.
   at System.Number.StringToNumber(String str, NumberStyles options, NumberBuffer& number, NumberFormatInfo info, Boolean parseDecimal)
   at System.Number.ParseInt32(String s, NumberStyles style, NumberFormatInfo info)
   at CumulusMX.DavisWllStation..ctor(Cumulus cumulus)
   at CumulusMX.Cumulus..ctor(Int32 HTTPport, Boolean DebugEnabled, String startParms)
   at CumulusMX.Program.RunAsAConsole(Int32 port, Boolean debug)
   at CumulusMX.Program.Main(String[] args)
**** An error has occurred - please zip up the MXdiags folder and post it in the forum ****
Press Enter to terminate
:

And MXdiags has thre following

Code: Select all

2020-10-27 16:51:36.621 Today = 27/10/20
2020-10-27 16:51:36.622 Station type = Davis WLL
!!! Unhandled Exception !!!
System.FormatException: Input string was not in a correct format.
   at System.Number.StringToNumber(String str, NumberStyles options, NumberBuffer& number, NumberFormatInfo info, Boolean parseDecimal)
   at System.Number.ParseInt32(String s, NumberStyles style, NumberFormatInfo info)
   at CumulusMX.DavisWllStation..ctor(Cumulus cumulus)
   at CumulusMX.Cumulus..ctor(Int32 HTTPport, Boolean DebugEnabled, String startParms)
   at CumulusMX.Program.RunAsAConsole(Int32 port, Boolean debug)
   at CumulusMX.Program.Main(String[] args)
2020-10-27 16:51:37.935 This Cumulus MX instance is running the latest version
I presume it is that I don't have the correct WLStaionid= in Cumulus.ini
I have tried the station name
KomokaWeather Live as well as the station Device ID.

Can anyone give me a hint what it should be?


Latest Cumulus.ini settings are:

Code: Select all

[WLL]
AutoUpdateIpAddress=1
WLv2ApiKey=[copy and paste from weatherlink.com station API Key v2]
WLv2ApiSecret=[copy and paste from weatherlink.com station API Secret]
WLStationId=[copy and paste from weatherlink.com station Device ID]
PrimaryRainTxId=1
PrimaryTempHumTxId=1
PrimaryWindTxId=1
PrimarySolarTxId=0
PrimaryUvTxId=0
ExtraSoilTempTxId1=0
ExtraSoilTempIdx1=1
ExtraSoilTempTxId2=0
ExtraSoilTempIdx2=2
ExtraSoilTempTxId3=0
ExtraSoilTempIdx3=3
ExtraSoilTempTxId4=0
ExtraSoilTempIdx4=4
ExtraSoilMoistureTxId1=0
ExtraSoilMoistureIdx1=1
ExtraSoilMoistureTxId2=0
ExtraSoilMoistureIdx2=2
ExtraSoilMoistureTxId3=0
ExtraSoilMoistureIdx3=3
ExtraSoilMoistureTxId4=0
ExtraSoilMoistureIdx4=4
ExtraLeafTxId1=0
ExtraLeafIdx1=1
ExtraLeafTxId2=0
ExtraLeafIdx2=2
ExtraTempTxId1=0
ExtraHumOnTxId1=0
ExtraTempTxId2=0
ExtraHumOnTxId2=0
ExtraTempTxId3=0
ExtraHumOnTxId3=0
ExtraTempTxId4=0
ExtraHumOnTxId4=0
ExtraTempTxId5=0
ExtraHumOnTxId5=0
ExtraTempTxId6=0
ExtraHumOnTxId6=0
ExtraTempTxId7=0
ExtraHumOnTxId7=0
ExtraTempTxId8=0
ExtraHumOnTxId8=0

Mapantz
Posts: 864
Joined: Sat 17 Dec 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64
Location: Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: New CumulusMX with WeatherLink Live

Post by Mapantz »

I presume you set it to 'Davis WeatherLink Live' in the station settings?

I didn't need to add anything else. I put the IP address of WLL in to the network settings and restarted CMX.

I only have a 'Basic' account btw, so I didn't need to fill in any device id's etc
Image

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 7238
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: New CumulusMX with WeatherLink Live

Post by mcrossley »

Paul, just leave the station id blank if you do not know it. If you only have one station registered on WL.com MX will pick it up and start using it. If you have more than one station it will list the station IDs and names, and ask you to enter the details of the one you want to use.

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 7238
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: New CumulusMX with WeatherLink Live

Post by mcrossley »

Congratulations on your purchases btw, I may look at an AirLink myself one day.

User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 2316
Joined: Sun 28 Sep 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2+ Cumulus1 / CummulusMX
Operating System: Windows8 / Windows10
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: New CumulusMX with WeatherLink Live

Post by PaulMy »

I have it figured out. With the WLL addition I now have two stations on my wl.com account KomokaWeather and KomokaWeather Live. As the Cumulus wiki indicates, leave the AirLink ID blank and at a restart the startup DOS screen shows station name and ID number for both. Then put the correct ID in settings and now uploading to www.komokaweather.com/cumulusmxwll

I see this error in MXdiags and I presume that is due to not having a paid subscription so historical data is not available from weatherlink.com

Code: Select all

2020-10-27 21:01:46.452 WLL Health: Get WL.com Historic Data
2020-10-27 21:01:46.847 WLL Health: WeatherLink API Error: 403, Access is not authorized for station 100039
2020-10-27 21:01:46.847 WLL: Percentage good packets received from WLL 99.83% - (5,3019)
I do have a MX issue in that the gauges are not updating. RealtimegaugesT.txt is in the \web folder and all the Realtime settings are enabled in the Internet settings including Enable realtime, Enable realtime FTP, Realtime.txt FTP and Realtimegauges.txt FTP. All the other standard T files are showing in the \web folder after processing and being FTP at the 5-min interval but not realtimegauges.txt nor realtime.txt. I've set up a new site many times and not had this issue. What have I overlooked?

Now on to the AirLink, how/where can I display this data? (other than on weatherlink.com and WeatherLink App)
There are settings in Cumululus.ini which I have filled. Does this add the AirLink data to the extra sensors?
My router had recognized the AirLink and assigned an IP address before I linked it with WLL. It now shows as not connected. In talking to Davis support they told me that the AirLink does not use its separate IP address if it has been linked through Weatherlink Live.

A lot to learn with such little devices...
Enjoy,
Paul

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 7238
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: New CumulusMX with WeatherLink Live

Post by mcrossley »

Hi Paul,

Yes, your MX diags error is due to not having a subscription. The health data is part of the historic record I'm afraid, so no subscription = no historic data access = no health data :(
MX shouldn't really query for it if you don't have a subscription, maybe I need another configuration item so you can input that.

Re you gauges file, I think we will need to look at the log with debug logging enabled.

Re the AirLink, I think your Davis support advise was wrong. The AirLink always uses its own IP address even when linked to a WLL, the link is only at the data level on weatherlink.com

User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 2316
Joined: Sun 28 Sep 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2+ Cumulus1 / CummulusMX
Operating System: Windows8 / Windows10
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: New CumulusMX with WeatherLink Live

Post by PaulMy »

Thanks Mark,
Playing around with it and not sure what I did (actually many different settings and restarts but can't remember them all) and now the realtimegauges.txt is processed and uploading and gauges show fine http://www.komokaweather.com/cumulusmxwll/

I had last run CumulusMXwll yesterday and stopped it at 23:15 and a restart today did not do any catch up nor create the dayfile.txt. Is there another setting I may have missed to catch up from the WLL. I understand there is no catch up from WL.com historical but thought it would still catch up from whatever is in the WLL as a logger.

I have tried 3 times after copying the data backup from yesterday, but each time the same result.

I am now running both my CumulusMX with WiFiLogger as localhost:8998 and CumulusMX with WLL as localhost:8999 and interesting to see much the same data but some differences.

Still searching on AirLink data.

Enjoy,
Paul
Last edited by PaulMy on Wed 28 Oct 2020 4:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Mapantz
Posts: 864
Joined: Sat 17 Dec 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64
Location: Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: New CumulusMX with WeatherLink Live

Post by Mapantz »

Unfortunately, you won't get any historical data from WLL unless you pay a Davis subscription fee.
Image

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 7238
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: New CumulusMX with WeatherLink Live

Post by mcrossley »

Tina is correct you need at least a Pro subscription to get access to the historic data on wl.com. There is not historic data on the WLL itself (well there is, at least if wl.com connectivity fails, it can store months worth of catch-up data, but we cannot access it).

User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 2316
Joined: Sun 28 Sep 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2+ Cumulus1 / CummulusMX
Operating System: Windows8 / Windows10
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: New CumulusMX with WeatherLink Live

Post by PaulMy »

Thanks Mapantz and Mark,
I should have read more on the WLL, and likely this was mentioned in previous postings. The different terminology of logger data, catch up, and historical had confused me :oops:

We'll have to ask Johnd to update the chart :P https://www.wxforum.net/index.php?topic ... #msg408617

Enjoy,
Paul

User avatar
HansR
Posts: 1556
Joined: Sat 20 Oct 2012 6:53 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2+
Operating System: Raspbian GNU/Linux 10 (Buster)
Location: Wagenborgen (NL)
Contact:

Re: New CumulusMX with WeatherLink Live

Post by HansR »

mcrossley wrote:
Wed 28 Oct 2020 5:28 pm
Tina is correct you need at least a Pro subscription to get access to the historic data on wl.com. There is not historic data on the WLL itself (well there is, at least if wl.com connectivity fails, it can store months worth of catch-up data, but we cannot access it).
Hacking the AirLink for the historic data. That would be an interesting challenge ;)
And btw, I think I'll implement history on my FakeAirLink. You may suggest an interface.
https://meteo-wagenborgen.nl / Cumulus 3.9.1 (build: 3096)
Davis Vantage Pro 2+ / Raspberry Pi 3 Model B Plus Rev 1.3
Raspbian Buster / 5.4.51-v7+ armv7l
Mono JIT compiler version 6.12.0.90 (tarball Fri Sep 4 14:21:54 UTC 2020)

User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 2316
Joined: Sun 28 Sep 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2+ Cumulus1 / CummulusMX
Operating System: Windows8 / Windows10
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: New CumulusMX with WeatherLink Live

Post by PaulMy »

1-2-3, oh, that's how elementary it gonna be, its easy, its so easy... WLL working, AirLink connected, and today replaced the VP2 ISS tipping bucket with the new tipping spoon assembly.

The how to video makes it look pretty easy... disconnect, snap out, snap in, reconnect! I finally got it done after nearly 2 hours and a lot of !@#$#$%$%% and :bash: along with some bruised knuckles, and fortunatelly nothing permanently broken. Feeding the rain cable back in to the control box through that small opening, when there are already several wires through it, was the biggest headache. But in the end, got it done and ISS is still working :clap: Now to wait for rain and see if it fixes the issue of the tipping bucket not tipping!

Enjoy,
Paul

Mapantz
Posts: 864
Joined: Sat 17 Dec 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64
Location: Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: New CumulusMX with WeatherLink Live

Post by Mapantz »

I've read a few saying they had difficulty in swapping out their rain tipper... it's weird, It literally took me 2 minutes! The old one popped out quite easily for me, just using a small flat head screwdriver.
Image

Mapantz
Posts: 864
Joined: Sat 17 Dec 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64
Location: Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: New CumulusMX with WeatherLink Live

Post by Mapantz »

Had an app update from Davis in the Google play store..

Says that bugs were fixed. Well, none of what I reported to Davis has been fixed! The app is still the same. Getting pretty sick of it now. What's the point in having an Android app for WLL if some of the main features aren't working properly?
Image

Post Reply