Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.9.1 (build 3096) - 31 October 2020 (please see announcement regarding releases since 3.5.0)
Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of the NOAA report and Snow Index drop-down menus to 2030)

Use this Wiki link to Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items).

Davis AirLink Professional Air Quality Sensor (7210UK)

Discussion specific to Davis weather stations
Mapantz
Posts: 826
Joined: Sat 17 Dec 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64
Location: Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: Davis AirLink Professional Air Quality Sensor (7210UK)

Post by Mapantz »

OK. I've done my LePantz bodge job to show the Davis AirLink data on my website.

It works as intended, only because I couldn't get one thing to work.

I wanted to use images to depict the low/moderate/high/very high colours and then get the to update without the page refreshing, but unfortunately, it didn't want to work with the rest of what I had already done.

So in the meantime, I just used a font awesome icon and that will change colour depending on the value, but only if the page is refreshed. The actual data refreshes every 1 minute without a full page refresh.
Image

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 7024
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Davis AirLink Professional Air Quality Sensor (7210UK)

Post by mcrossley »

:thumbsup: looks like the new tags are working ok.

User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 3028
Joined: Tue 09 Dec 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: W10 - Threadripper 16core, etc
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: Davis AirLink Professional Air Quality Sensor (7210UK)

Post by beteljuice »

@Map ...

I have no idea why Davis wanted to create confusion, but Nowcast is 12hr avg (which may be 'weighted' if not enough samples)

Nicely done BTW - makes me redundant :lol:

EDIT: Strictly speaking only 24hr has an AQI value .....
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !

User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 3028
Joined: Tue 09 Dec 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: W10 - Threadripper 16core, etc
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: Davis AirLink Professional Air Quality Sensor (7210UK)

Post by beteljuice »

@Map
... Afterthought ...
Your air seems remarkably 'clean' - are those figures correct ?
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !

prodata
Posts: 259
Joined: Sat 05 Feb 2011 7:13 pm
Weather Station: VP2
Operating System: Windows - all flavours
Location: Littleport, East Cambs, UK

Re: Davis AirLink Professional Air Quality Sensor (7210UK)

Post by prodata »

beteljuice wrote:
Sun 27 Sep 2020 2:41 am
Your air seems remarkably 'clean' - are those figures correct ?
I think the air over much of the UK (certainly the Eastern half) is indeed pretty clean ATM, courtesy of the present weather setup and winds. But to show you an AirLink graph with more 'signal' (in fact this looks more like an IR spectrum to me :) ):

Sausages.png
This (weatherlink.com chart) is from one of the team here playing with an Airlink at home. This was temporarily placed indoors, in the kitchen IIRC, where it was exposed to all the cooking plumes.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
John Dann
Prodata Weather Systems
Littleport, East Cambs, UK
http://www.weatherstations.co.uk

Mapantz
Posts: 826
Joined: Sat 17 Dec 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64
Location: Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: Davis AirLink Professional Air Quality Sensor (7210UK)

Post by Mapantz »

beteljuice wrote:
Sun 27 Sep 2020 2:41 am
@Map
... Afterthought ...
Your air seems remarkably 'clean' - are those figures correct ?
I live in a small town that is part of a rural area. The air here is pretty clean as there's no industrial activity that might affect it - as standard.

Much of the UK is under a continental airmass (slight Polar continental influence) stretching from way in to Scandinavia & parts of Northern Russian, so that helps to keep it clear.

There's occasional bonfires lit on calm-ish evenings, so it will be interesting to see how high it goes.

Here's a current map of PM 2.5 and 10.

https://postimg.cc/RWQJhTMc
https://postimg.cc/CRVfw2Vh
Image

User avatar
ConligWX
Posts: 905
Joined: Mon 19 May 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis vPro2 Plus +DFARS
Operating System: Ubuntu 20.04.01 LTS
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: Davis AirLink Professional Air Quality Sensor (7210UK)

Post by ConligWX »

The main culprits for spikes are, oil fired central heating boilers/BBQ's outside wood burners or chimeneas. or Smoking/Vaping can also give a spike.
Regards Simon

https://www.conligwx.org - @conligwx
Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus with Daytime FARS • WeatherLink Live • Davis AirLink • CumulusMX •

forestedge
Posts: 66
Joined: Sun 29 Jul 2012 11:46 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus FARS
Operating System: Windows 10 64 bit
Location: Ashurst Bridge, Hampshire UK
Contact:

Re: Davis AirLink Professional Air Quality Sensor (7210UK)

Post by forestedge »

Mapantz wrote:
Sun 27 Sep 2020 10:39 am
beteljuice wrote:
Sun 27 Sep 2020 2:41 am
@Map
... Afterthought ...
Your air seems remarkably 'clean' - are those figures correct ?
I live in a small town that is part of a rural area. The air here is pretty clean as there's no industrial activity that might affect it - as standard.

Much of the UK is under a continental airmass (slight Polar continental influence) stretching from way in to Scandinavia & parts of Northern Russian, so that helps to keep it clear.

There's occasional bonfires lit on calm-ish evenings, so it will be interesting to see how high it goes.

Here's a current map of PM 2.5 and 10.

https://postimg.cc/RWQJhTMc
https://postimg.cc/CRVfw2Vh
Just checked crrent pm2.5 level, air is very clean atm. Very similar to Mapantz on my new beteljuice style AQ page https://www.tottonweather.co.uk/air-quality/ :)

History graphs here https://api-rrd.madavi.de/grafana/d/GUa ... 6-6535739 show some unhealthy spikes for bonfires back in the summer.

Very high humidity levels >90% can also affect readings according to technical research of low cost pm sensors https://www.hindawi.com/journals/js/2018/5096540/

Mapantz
Posts: 826
Joined: Sat 17 Dec 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64
Location: Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: Davis AirLink Professional Air Quality Sensor (7210UK)

Post by Mapantz »

Things are on the move! :D
Screenshot 2020-09-28 201737.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Image

User avatar
ConligWX
Posts: 905
Joined: Mon 19 May 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis vPro2 Plus +DFARS
Operating System: Ubuntu 20.04.01 LTS
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: Davis AirLink Professional Air Quality Sensor (7210UK)

Post by ConligWX »

Mapantz wrote:
Mon 28 Sep 2020 7:18 pm
Things are on the move! :D

Screenshot 2020-09-28 201737.png
you just need the AQI widget now:)
Regards Simon

https://www.conligwx.org - @conligwx
Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus with Daytime FARS • WeatherLink Live • Davis AirLink • CumulusMX •

Mapantz
Posts: 826
Joined: Sat 17 Dec 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64
Location: Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: Davis AirLink Professional Air Quality Sensor (7210UK)

Post by Mapantz »

ConligWX wrote:
Mon 28 Sep 2020 7:27 pm
you just need the AQI widget now:)
Widget? Am I missing something already? :o
Image

User avatar
ConligWX
Posts: 905
Joined: Mon 19 May 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis vPro2 Plus +DFARS
Operating System: Ubuntu 20.04.01 LTS
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: Davis AirLink Professional Air Quality Sensor (7210UK)

Post by ConligWX »

Mapantz wrote:
Mon 28 Sep 2020 7:33 pm
ConligWX wrote:
Mon 28 Sep 2020 7:27 pm
you just need the AQI widget now:)
Widget? Am I missing something already? :o
the 3 images you showed look like widgets but these are RAW values. the AQI value is different depending on which AQI country/region you have selected
Regards Simon

https://www.conligwx.org - @conligwx
Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus with Daytime FARS • WeatherLink Live • Davis AirLink • CumulusMX •

User avatar
ConligWX
Posts: 905
Joined: Mon 19 May 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis vPro2 Plus +DFARS
Operating System: Ubuntu 20.04.01 LTS
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: Davis AirLink Professional Air Quality Sensor (7210UK)

Post by ConligWX »

Mapantz wrote:
Mon 28 Sep 2020 7:33 pm
ConligWX wrote:
Mon 28 Sep 2020 7:27 pm
you just need the AQI widget now:)
Widget? Am I missing something already? :o
YGM
Regards Simon

https://www.conligwx.org - @conligwx
Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus with Daytime FARS • WeatherLink Live • Davis AirLink • CumulusMX •

Mapantz
Posts: 826
Joined: Sat 17 Dec 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64
Location: Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: Davis AirLink Professional Air Quality Sensor (7210UK)

Post by Mapantz »

ConligWX wrote:
Mon 28 Sep 2020 7:57 pm

the 3 images you showed look like widgets but these are RAW values. the AQI value is different depending on which AQI country/region you have selected
The icons will change colour to match the index, just like on the weatherlink page. The 1 hour PM 2.5 average is up to 2 on the weatherlink page and that has changed colour to a different shade of green.

if (($AirLinkPm2p51hrOut >= 0.0) and ($AirLinkPm2p51hrOut <= 11.9)) {
elseif (($AirLinkPm2p51hrOut >= 12.0) and ($AirLinkPm2p51hrOut <= 23.9)) {

etc

There's 10 of those if statements which match the index of 1 - 10.

So while the AirLink API isn't giving an actually AQI value, you can still create a colour index of 1 - 10.
Image

User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 3028
Joined: Tue 09 Dec 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: W10 - Threadripper 16core, etc
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: Davis AirLink Professional Air Quality Sensor (7210UK)

Post by beteljuice »

There's 10 of those if statements which match the index of 1 - 10
Presumably to match UK standards ? - so why not pass index values as well as colour :groan:
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !

Post Reply