Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.9.1 (build 3096) - 31 October 2020 (please see announcement regarding releases since 3.5.0)
Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of the NOAA report and Snow Index drop-down menus to 2030)

Use this Wiki link to Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items).

Davis AirLink Professional Air Quality Sensor (7210UK)

Discussion specific to Davis weather stations
Post Reply
User avatar
ConligWX
Posts: 923
Joined: Mon 19 May 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis vPro2 Plus +DFARS
Operating System: Ubuntu 20.04.01 LTS
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Davis AirLink Professional Air Quality Sensor (7210UK)

Post by ConligWX »

So Davis are releasing a new AQI Sensor called the Davis AirLink. This is due for release/sale from Oct this year.

more information from here: https://www.weatherstations.co.uk/airlink.htm

You can pre-purchase if you choose too. Looks like it will have local api, like the WLL, so maybe in time, CumulusMX could support this device.

https://shop.weatherstations.co.uk/7210 ... 1910-p.asp

https://weatherspares.co.uk/collections ... ion-6xxxuk
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by ConligWX on Mon 24 Aug 2020 9:59 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Regards Simon

https://www.conligwx.org - @conligwx
Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus with Daytime FARS • WeatherLink Live • Davis AirLink • CumulusMX •

Mapantz
Posts: 861
Joined: Sat 17 Dec 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64
Location: Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: Davis AirLink

Post by Mapantz »

We know Davis' equipment can be pricey, but I was actually surprised when I saw the price... it's not too bad!

Is it a pre-order price, though? Will it go up after the release date?
AirLink is, literally, a product for anyone who breathes
Those who don't will be bummed out then? :lol:
Image

User avatar
ConligWX
Posts: 923
Joined: Mon 19 May 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis vPro2 Plus +DFARS
Operating System: Ubuntu 20.04.01 LTS
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: Davis AirLink

Post by ConligWX »

Mapantz wrote:
Mon 24 Aug 2020 8:25 pm
We know Davis' equipment can be pricey, but I was actually surprised when I saw the price... it's not too bad!

Is it a pre-order price, though? Will it go up after the release date?
AirLink is, literally, a product for anyone who breathes
Those who don't will be bummed out then? :lol:
yes haha.

Well perhaps @prodata could chip in with pricing. I am surprised at the device is not able to talk directly to the WLL since it can handle 8 sensor/devices and is new too.

but still its a cheaper option than the PurpleAir as you incur VAT/import taxes on that and its dearer. lets how the device has some functionality as regards to correctling Tems/humidity etc against a known Weather device.

JohnD do you know if this device will also have some form of firmware updates to fix any buggy software or sensor issues?

Also whats with the "Breathe Easy with AirLink" is this instead of a Ventilator? Cures Covid-19? :lol:
Regards Simon

https://www.conligwx.org - @conligwx
Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus with Daytime FARS • WeatherLink Live • Davis AirLink • CumulusMX •

User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 3064
Joined: Tue 09 Dec 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: W10 - Threadripper 16core, etc
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: Davis AirLink

Post by beteljuice »

Davis doing a 'stand-alone' product - finally moving with the times.(and will get a much enlarged take up group !)

No mention of power supply, although photo' on tree shows DC cable entering base.
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !

User avatar
ConligWX
Posts: 923
Joined: Mon 19 May 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis vPro2 Plus +DFARS
Operating System: Ubuntu 20.04.01 LTS
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: Davis AirLink

Post by ConligWX »

beteljuice wrote:
Mon 24 Aug 2020 9:35 pm
Davis doing a 'stand-alone' product - finally moving with the times.(and will get a much enlarged take up group !)

No mention of power supply, although photo' on tree shows DC cable entering base.
Indeed. PurpleAir was slow on the uptake but has grown quite large. I would guess Davis will overtake them quite soon with an affordable AQI sensor and a phone app to boot. the PA is just a 5v USB plug so I would guess Davis AirLink will be something similar.
Regards Simon

https://www.conligwx.org - @conligwx
Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus with Daytime FARS • WeatherLink Live • Davis AirLink • CumulusMX •

Phil23
Posts: 560
Joined: Sat 16 Jul 2016 11:59 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
Operating System: Win7 Pro
Location: Australia

Re: Davis AirLink Professional Air Quality Sensor (7210UK)

Post by Phil23 »

I'll take a punt & guess it's based on a Sensirion SPS30.

I Bought a couple last year with the intention of running them on a micro.
Still haven't bot past reading it via their Evaluation software.

It's protocol is well documented & the device supports Serial TTL or I2C.

Looking at their documentation the layout of the ports fits the above device.

Sensor alone was circa $80.00 AUD.

Even sitting in my office on the desk, the device is extremely responsive.

Cheers.

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 7209
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Davis AirLink Professional Air Quality Sensor (7210UK)

Post by mcrossley »

I have the API documentation and it is something I'll consider adding as the first* of a new class of "secondary sensors".

*Actually the RG-11 and the Blake Larsen solar sensors are already secondary sensors that MX supports. But they are 'hidden' away, config file only settings.

Phil23
Posts: 560
Joined: Sat 16 Jul 2016 11:59 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
Operating System: Win7 Pro
Location: Australia

Re: Davis AirLink

Post by Phil23 »

beteljuice wrote:
Mon 24 Aug 2020 9:35 pm
No mention of power supply, although photo' on tree shows DC cable entering base.
The sensor it's self doesn't use much if it's the SPS30, but then there's processor Wifi etc.
Com's to a VP2 console????? No mention if that actually exists.

In any case my go to cheap & dirty remote power solution is:

12V 7Ah SLA battery.
10W ebay solar panel & 3A charge controller.
Adjustable LM2596 DC regulator module.

Cheers.

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 7209
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Davis AirLink

Post by mcrossley »

Phil23 wrote:
Mon 24 Aug 2020 10:39 pm
Com's to a VP2 console????? No mention if that actually exists.
No comms with VP2 or WLL.

User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 3064
Joined: Tue 09 Dec 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: W10 - Threadripper 16core, etc
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: Davis AirLink Professional Air Quality Sensor (7210UK)

Post by beteljuice »

... Hmmm

... and they are including multi-standard trigger / colour code (Leuven PA script does not have UK)

... but the beteljuice tweak does - I did wonder about all those fake US / China sniffers I get :o
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !

prodata
Posts: 263
Joined: Sat 05 Feb 2011 7:13 pm
Weather Station: VP2
Operating System: Windows - all flavours
Location: Littleport, East Cambs, UK

Re: Davis AirLink Professional Air Quality Sensor (7210UK)

Post by prodata »

What were all the questions again ? :)

Price: TBH pricing is set by the sales team here, but AFAIAA the £179 is not just a pre-launch price. That said, prices are always subject to change, eg with exchange rates, Davis pricing, market conditions etc. We may well put it on Amazon but given the chunky % that they take for marketplace sellers, the price there will likely be higher - best to buy direct from us.

Supply will almost certainly be limited to start with. first shipments tentatively expected in 4-5 weeks but obviously subject to Davis manufacture and QC, airfreight schedules etc. If you're keen to get one then pre-ordering asap is advisable but I'm sure that supply will settle down before too long.

Firmware: Sorry, no details at all on this as yet. I'm guessing that it will be like WLL, ie not user-upgradeable but pushed from weatherlink.com when necessary. But that's just me speculating.

Was there anything else?
John Dann
Prodata Weather Systems
Littleport, East Cambs, UK
http://www.weatherstations.co.uk

User avatar
ConligWX
Posts: 923
Joined: Mon 19 May 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis vPro2 Plus +DFARS
Operating System: Ubuntu 20.04.01 LTS
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: Davis AirLink Professional Air Quality Sensor (7210UK)

Post by ConligWX »

Thanks for the clarification John.

Any specs on Power supply John? also looking at the inside and external pictures, the unit seems to have some sort of outside cover, am I right?
Regards Simon

https://www.conligwx.org - @conligwx
Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus with Daytime FARS • WeatherLink Live • Davis AirLink • CumulusMX •

prodata
Posts: 263
Joined: Sat 05 Feb 2011 7:13 pm
Weather Station: VP2
Operating System: Windows - all flavours
Location: Littleport, East Cambs, UK

Re: Davis AirLink Professional Air Quality Sensor (7210UK)

Post by prodata »

ConligWX wrote:
Tue 25 Aug 2020 1:55 pm
Any specs on Power supply John? also looking at the inside and external pictures, the unit seems to have some sort of outside cover, am I right?
Afraid that I haven't actually seen a data sheet yet, so no real details on power specs. The assumption is that it needs to be mains-powered. It will have a microcontroller onboard and is WiFi so I'm guessing the supply is likely to be 50-100mA @5v (could even be a regular Davis mains adapter actually), but please don't quote me that - it's just a best guess at this stage.

Yes, the sensor unit slides inside an outer cover (which is what you can see in the pictures with the Davis logo on) and clicks in place. I think you probably can use the unit indoors without the cover, but for outside locations then the cover provides some extra protection and helps with mounting. But the cover is just a cover and not a shield, so outside the unit should preferably be mounted in a shaded (eg N facing) location.
John Dann
Prodata Weather Systems
Littleport, East Cambs, UK
http://www.weatherstations.co.uk

User avatar
ConligWX
Posts: 923
Joined: Mon 19 May 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis vPro2 Plus +DFARS
Operating System: Ubuntu 20.04.01 LTS
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: Davis AirLink Professional Air Quality Sensor (7210UK)

Post by ConligWX »

prodata wrote:
Tue 25 Aug 2020 2:10 pm
Yes, the sensor unit slides inside an outer cover (which is what you can see in the pictures with the Davis logo on) and clicks in place. I think you probably can use the unit indoors without the cover, but for outside locations then the cover provides some extra protection and helps with mounting. But the cover is just a cover and not a shield, so outside the unit should preferably be mounted in a shaded (eg N facing) location.
Thanks, one thing that will be needed is cleaning from time to time. my own PA sensor was stilling like 380µg/m³ the other day. found a spider had decided to take up residence in the entrance to the B Channel sensor. a quick hoover rectified the fault.
Regards Simon

https://www.conligwx.org - @conligwx
Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus with Daytime FARS • WeatherLink Live • Davis AirLink • CumulusMX •

User avatar
ConligWX
Posts: 923
Joined: Mon 19 May 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis vPro2 Plus +DFARS
Operating System: Ubuntu 20.04.01 LTS
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: Davis AirLink Professional Air Quality Sensor (7210UK)

Post by ConligWX »

Supported documents are now available from here:

https://www.davisinstruments.com/produc ... _documents
Regards Simon

https://www.conligwx.org - @conligwx
Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus with Daytime FARS • WeatherLink Live • Davis AirLink • CumulusMX •

Post Reply