Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release v3.4.6 (build 3070) - 23 March 2020
Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014

See the Wiki for downloading either version.

2nd Anemometer Failing

Discussion specific to Davis weather stations
Mapantz
Posts: 670
Joined: Sat 17 Dec 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64
Location: Dorset - UK
Contact:

2nd Anemometer Failing

Post by Mapantz » Fri 03 Feb 2017 6:10 pm

I have just witnessed my 2nd anemometer failing, within 10 months. It's the same issue too, the consoles are reading 360 ° permanently, sometimes they flick to a different bearing briefly, but then go back to 360 °
It has been moving back to where it should be slightly more now, but it still flicks to 360 ° even though it is not pointing in that direction.

Why does this keep happening? I got sent a new one for free last time it happened, but they won't do it now.

I see so many people praise Davis stations, but I had problems with the Vue, and multiple problems with the VP2 - and at that sort of money, its unnaceptable :x
Image

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 6134
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Stretch Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: 2nd Anemometer Failing

Post by mcrossley » Fri 03 Feb 2017 9:16 pm

Mine lasted about 9 years (its first 7 years were in a coastal location) so it sounds like you were unlucky. But if you've got the dosh...
http://www.lcjcapteurs.com/product/soni ... c/?lang=en

Mapantz
Posts: 670
Joined: Sat 17 Dec 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64
Location: Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: 2nd Anemometer Failing

Post by Mapantz » Fri 03 Feb 2017 10:08 pm

I think that's a bit out of my price range! :D

What i'm trying to work out, is what version of the anemometer I have? I have been reading about 'reed switch' issues and wondered if I had the old version? But then I thought to myself, I was supposed to have the newer Davis VP2 setup - EU 6152 SIM VER 2.0 with the newer rain cone & bird spikes.
The anemometer that I got with it, and the replacement had the Davis logo on the vane, but when I looked at the 6410 version, here:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Davis-Anemome ... SwxcRW-RQh

There's no logo, but it does state: Improved design without the troublesome reed switch.

So, do I have the older version? And what is the difference between ones with logo's and ones without?
Obviously, i'll purchase that particular one anyway - looks like i'll be climbing up 11m to the chimney next week. :mrgreen:
Image

RayProudfoot
Posts: 2734
Joined: Wed 06 May 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: 2nd Anemometer Failing

Post by RayProudfoot » Sat 04 Feb 2017 9:58 am

If you bought the second one only 10 months ago it's almost certainly the 'new' version without the reed switch. The brass tip on the vane is only on the newer model. Don't you get a 12 month warranty with Davis kit?

My anemometer bought in April 2009 broke in Jan 2014. Its last measurement was 56mph - a new record for me but well within the limits for a Davis. I complained long and hard to Davis and eventually they sent replacement cups. But to ensure I kept continuous records I bought the new one from Prodata. The cups are still sitting in a drawer.

I agree that their claims about durability don't match reality but hopefully what they've leant from the Mk 1 won't be repeated in the Mk 2. As for that anemometer Mark pointed to they've got to be taking the mick with that price! :shock:
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image

AllyCat
Posts: 1066
Joined: Sat 26 Feb 2011 1:58 pm
Weather Station: Fine Offset 1080/1 & 3080
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: SE London

Re: 2nd Anemometer Failing

Post by AllyCat » Sat 04 Feb 2017 11:07 am

Hi,

Is it actually the anemometer (windspeed sensor) or the Vane that's causing problems? If the speed is reported as zero then AFAIK Cumulus will/may report 360 degrees (north) regardless of the actual vane direction.

The reed switch (which in practice can be a remarkably reliable component) was in the anemometer and the new "Hall effect" semiconductor magnetic sensor "should" be more reliable. But it does need a power supply (taken from the vane sensor I believe) and of course other faults could occur, for example in the bearing.

The wind Vane (still) uses a mechanical potentiometer which (as an engineer) I found very surprising. But it is produced by a well-known specialist manufacturer, so I would hope it was "designed for the job".

Cheers, Alan.

Mapantz
Posts: 670
Joined: Sat 17 Dec 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64
Location: Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: 2nd Anemometer Failing

Post by Mapantz » Sat 04 Feb 2017 11:33 am

It is the vane causing the problems. I have spotted a trend to it as well, it starts going tits up when the wind direction was roughly from the West, this is what happened the first time around.

We had a bit of a squall come through yesterday, prior to that, the wind was coming from the South - No problems with the vane then. As soon as the squall passed through, and the wind changed to West and gusting to 35mph, it kept hopping back and forth from 360 ° to 279 °for over an hour. This is exactly what happened with the first anemometer. It has been doing it again this morning, I stood outside with the console, watching the vane, there was no wind, the vane was pointing roughly West, and the console continuously bounced from North to West every few seconds.

I did think it was a possible fault with the transmitter, but then it occurred to me that I bought the anemometer transmitter back in September, so I could situate it on the chimney. So, that means that this fault has happened on two different anemometers, on two different transmitters.
Image

Mapantz
Posts: 670
Joined: Sat 17 Dec 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64
Location: Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: 2nd Anemometer Failing

Post by Mapantz » Sat 04 Feb 2017 12:58 pm

After doing a bit of searching re the same issue as mine, it seems to be a common problem. It is either a failed potentiometer, or there's a break in the cable. I can't see how i've suffered a break in the cable twice in a row?! I have always been careful, and the cable has been wrapped up and secured well so that it doesn't move around or rub against anything.

It's very disappointing to have suffered this twice! :(
Image

RayProudfoot
Posts: 2734
Joined: Wed 06 May 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: 2nd Anemometer Failing

Post by RayProudfoot » Sat 04 Feb 2017 1:20 pm

Mapantz, do you have a warranty?
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 6134
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Stretch Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: 2nd Anemometer Failing

Post by mcrossley » Sat 04 Feb 2017 4:30 pm

It does sound like the direction pot may have failed. Like Alan I find it a surprising solution. Pots can get 'noisy' with wear and contamination, and these are being put in quite a harsh environment, but I guess it's cheap solution.

If the sliding contacts fail to do their job on any section, then it will go open circuit and the "North" resistor will be the only thing in circuit, hence the North reading. If the cable is broken then usually there will be an open circuit which would result in a "not connected" state being reported - if it lasts for any length of time.

zooeyhall
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat 04 Feb 2017 9:53 pm
Weather Station: David Vantage Pro 2
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: 2nd Anemometer Failing

Post by zooeyhall » Sat 04 Feb 2017 9:56 pm

Came across this thread just now, while researching a similar issue.

I've had a Vantage Pro2 since 2010. In 2014 the anemometer gave out (bearing failure). Now the replacement is giving out, only a little more than 2 years later.

I have contacted Davis about it. But was wondering if others had this problem?

uncle_bob
Posts: 493
Joined: Wed 17 Aug 2011 2:58 pm
Weather Station: WeatherDuino Pro2
Operating System: 2008
Location: Canberra

Re: 2nd Anemometer Failing

Post by uncle_bob » Sun 05 Feb 2017 7:47 am

AllyCat wrote:
The wind Vane (still) uses a mechanical potentiometer which (as an engineer) I found very surprising
Gee, that is surprising, and kind of disappointing.
Interested in building your own Weather Station? Maybe check out the WeatherDuino Pro Project Here
Conder, Canberra Weather
Image

User avatar
ConligWX
Posts: 751
Joined: Mon 19 May 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis VPro2 Plus +DFARS
Operating System: MeteoBridge Nano SD
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: 2nd Anemometer Failing

Post by ConligWX » Sun 05 Feb 2017 10:45 pm

I'm glad I got 3 Years warranty then with mine :)
Regards Simon

https://www.conligwx.org - @conligwx
Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus + DFARS - Meteobrige Nano SD + Saratoga Templates

Mapantz
Posts: 670
Joined: Sat 17 Dec 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64
Location: Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: 2nd Anemometer Failing

Post by Mapantz » Mon 06 Feb 2017 11:31 am

Good news!

I got in touch with the German suppliers, and they are going to send me another one, and take a look at the one I send back to them. I asked them to let me know what the exact problem is too. :)
Image

Mapantz
Posts: 670
Joined: Sat 17 Dec 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64
Location: Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: 2nd Anemometer Failing

Post by Mapantz » Sun 19 Feb 2017 4:33 pm

Anemometer has been put up, normal service has resumed. I have upgraded to a 1.5" steel galvanized pole, instead of a cranked aluminium aerial pole. It's far more rigid now, especially having 4ft of pole below the bracket, and 6ft above. let's hope I won't need a 3rd anemometer/wind vane?! :twisted:
P2190097.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Image

RayProudfoot
Posts: 2734
Joined: Wed 06 May 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: 2nd Anemometer Failing

Post by RayProudfoot » Sun 26 Mar 2017 2:44 pm

I've posted in a separate anemometer thread but I'll post here too. It looks like the new style anemometer I've had since Jan 2014 is now playing up. Wind speed remain zero in obvious breeze. They do spin eventually but it requires a stronger breeze to kick-start them.

I'll be speaking to my UK supplier tomorrow as any failure this soon after purchase is not acceptable given the cost of these supposedly quality components.
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image

Post Reply