Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release v3.2.3 build 3059 - 04 December 2019.
    Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014

    See the Wiki for downloading either version.

    Pole diameter for Davis Vantage Vue

    Discussion specific to Davis weather stations
    RayProudfoot
    Posts: 2714
    Joined: Wed 06 May 2009 6:29 pm
    Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
    Operating System: Windows XP SP3
    Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
    Contact:

    Re: Pole diameter for Davis Vantage Vue

    Post by RayProudfoot » Tue 08 Dec 2015 9:30 am

    Grimers wrote:To add to this, the optimum siting for a Vue is around 6 m as that is in between 2 m and 10 m.
    But that would compromise wind, rain and temp measurements as well as being hard to access.

    At 2m the station is easily accessible and temp readings would be accurate, rain slightly compromised and wind heavily compromised.

    At 10m it's not easily accessible, temps and rain are highly compromised and wind okay.

    It's worth remembering that a separate anemometer and transmitter can be added to the Vue. Expensive but that makes it closer to a VP2 and you can get more accurate temp, rain and wind readings.
    Cheers,
    Ray, Cheshire.

    Image

    dionaea
    Posts: 162
    Joined: Sat 29 Nov 2008 10:42 pm
    Weather Station: WH1080 / Watson8681
    Location: Burnham Thorpe,N.Norfolk,UK
    Contact:

    Re: Pole diameter for Davis Vantage Vue

    Post by dionaea » Wed 09 Dec 2015 9:53 pm

    Nothing is ever straightforward is it?
    It arrived this afternoon. Set it up in the house to make sure everything works & it seems fine except that the indoor & outdoor temp. & humidity settings do not agree although the two units are sitting only a foot apart on my desk - this is after a few hours! Indoor T 25 C & H 55% - Outdoor 23 C & H 62%. My max/ min. Thermometer shows 23.6C . Is this another case for compromise? Problem is, which way do I go?

    Cheers,
    Chris

    prodata
    Posts: 209
    Joined: Sat 05 Feb 2011 7:13 pm
    Weather Station: VP2
    Operating System: Windows - all flavours
    Location: Littleport, East Cambs, UK

    Re: Pole diameter for Davis Vantage Vue

    Post by prodata » Wed 09 Dec 2015 10:16 pm

    In practice that's not a good test. The inside temp sensor is inside the console case of course and so can only equilibrate slowly to ambient temperature (which it will never do anyway if the room temperature is changing). And even the ISS needs moving air to equilibrate at any reasonable rate.

    If you put both into a constant temperature enclosure with circulating air then they'll likely get pretty close (or at least within specification, which is approx ±0.5°C each so there could be up to 1°C difference and still be within spec, but usually they get closer than that after a few hours of this more rigorous test).

    Once the ISS gets into the outside air with at least a little breeze most of the time it should perform to within spec.
    John Dann
    Prodata Weather Systems
    Littleport, East Cambs, UK
    http://www.weatherstations.co.uk

    dionaea
    Posts: 162
    Joined: Sat 29 Nov 2008 10:42 pm
    Weather Station: WH1080 / Watson8681
    Location: Burnham Thorpe,N.Norfolk,UK
    Contact:

    Re: Pole diameter for Davis Vantage Vue

    Post by dionaea » Wed 09 Dec 2015 10:23 pm

    Thanks John,
    So would you just go ahead & set it up tomorrow?
    Cheers,
    Chris

    User avatar
    Grimers
    Posts: 208
    Joined: Tue 24 Nov 2015 9:07 am
    Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
    Operating System: Windows 10 64-bit
    Location: Newton Poppleford, Devon, UK
    Contact:

    Re: Pole diameter for Davis Vantage Vue

    Post by Grimers » Thu 10 Dec 2015 9:07 pm

    prodata wrote:
    Grimers wrote:To add to this, the optimum siting for a Vue is around 6 m...
    Well, sorry, but no. The whole point of my post is that there isn't one single optimum height - it depends on the site and the user's preferences.

    If 6m works for you then that's great - I'm sure that it measures wind speeds well. But for many users 6m will be too high - I can't imagine that it makes for easy access to the ISS unless you have a cherrypicker or a pole that's easily demounted. Most Vue units that I'm aware of are mounted at a height of 2-3m, but it will vary according to personal preferences etc.
    Yes, unfortunately it's not very easily accessible, we have to remove all the guy wires and then simply pull the pole out of the tripod and then slowly rest it on the ground. It doesn't take long to do but it can be pretty hairy! :lol:
    William Grimsley.

    Red Raspberry
    Posts: 23
    Joined: Fri 07 Mar 2014 7:05 pm
    Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
    Operating System: Windows 7 Pro 64 bit
    Location: Ashkum, Illinois

    Re: Pole diameter for Davis Vantage Vue

    Post by Red Raspberry » Mon 18 Jan 2016 11:15 pm

    I mounted my 1" pole on a 14' 4x4. Cut the 4x4 in two and mounted a hinge. The hinge is 3' from the ground. Then use a metal pipe on the opposite side that is clamped in place to keep it upright.

    Just remove the pipe and lower the station down.

    I have the station so high to clear the corn.

    User avatar
    Super-T
    Posts: 816
    Joined: Tue 09 Sep 2008 3:37 am
    Weather Station: wh-1081
    Operating System: Weather Laptop - Windows 10 Pro
    Location: Auckland, New Zealand
    Contact:

    Re: Pole diameter for Davis Vantage Vue

    Post by Super-T » Tue 19 Jan 2016 8:40 pm

    How do you find the house amongst the corn? :-)

    User avatar
    duke
    Posts: 840
    Joined: Sun 03 Jul 2011 6:23 pm
    Weather Station: Davis VP2 Plus - 24hr FARS
    Operating System: Windows 10 - 64 bit
    Location: Eastleigh, Hampshire, UK
    Contact:

    Re: Pole diameter for Davis Vantage Vue

    Post by duke » Thu 21 Jan 2016 9:48 am

    Super-T wrote:How do you find the house amongst the corn? :-)
    Simple -
    1/ The house usually has the lights on.
    2/ 'RTFM'!
    Duke

    Nightingale Weather
    Eastleigh, Hampshire, UK
    ------------------------------------------------------
    Validate your pages - often!

    Post Reply