Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.19.0 (build 3191) - 5 July 2022

Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of drop-down menus to 2030)

Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items) from the Wiki

If you are interested in supporting Cumulus then maybe you would like to contribute to the maintenance of the Wiki? This need not take hours of your time - just a half hour here and there can make a big difference, particularly if many people are doing this. Any contributions are very welcome, whether they involve new content or editing of existing content. It will be very helpful to current and future users of Cumulus software if the Wiki is kept well-maintained and current. If you are interested then please contact forum user saratogaWX and ask for a Wiki account.

Davis AirLink Professional Air Quality Sensor (7210UK)

Discussion specific to Davis weather stations
Phil23
Posts: 848
Joined: Sat 16 Jul 2016 11:59 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2+ & GW1000 (Standalone)
Operating System: Win10 Pro / rPi Buster
Location: Australia

Re: Davis AirLink

Post by Phil23 »

mcrossley wrote: Mon 24 Aug 2020 10:43 pm No comms with VP2 or WLL.
In a sense that's a Plus for us here in Aus, as we pay a big premium on locally supplied units with the compliant 915-928MHz frequency range.

Complete station 24 Hour Fars & Solar/UV is $1850AUD.
Same config from the US is $783USD.
Any other add-on Wireless stuff is at an even greater premium.
:Now: :Today/Yesterday:

Image

Main Station Davis VP2+ Running Via Win10 Pro.
Secondary Stations, Ecowitt HP2551/GW1000 Via rPi 3 & 4 Running Buster GUI.
:Local Inverell Ecowitt Station: :Remote Ashford Ecowitt Station:
Phil23
Posts: 848
Joined: Sat 16 Jul 2016 11:59 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2+ & GW1000 (Standalone)
Operating System: Win10 Pro / rPi Buster
Location: Australia

Re: Davis AirLink Professional Air Quality Sensor (7210UK)

Post by Phil23 »

ConligWX wrote: Thu 27 Aug 2020 7:19 pm Supported documents are now available from here:

https://www.davisinstruments.com/produc ... _documents
Page 7 of the user manual invites the user to unscrew the cover & see what's inside.
Obviously no warranty voided.

Phil.
:Now: :Today/Yesterday:

Image

Main Station Davis VP2+ Running Via Win10 Pro.
Secondary Stations, Ecowitt HP2551/GW1000 Via rPi 3 & 4 Running Buster GUI.
:Local Inverell Ecowitt Station: :Remote Ashford Ecowitt Station:
prodata
Posts: 295
Joined: Sat 05 Feb 2011 7:13 pm
Weather Station: VP2
Operating System: Windows - all flavours
Location: Littleport, East Cambs, UK

Re: Davis AirLink Professional Air Quality Sensor (7210UK)

Post by prodata »

@Phil23: I know you were asking about the sensor. Check this picture for confirmation:
AL_sensor.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
John Dann
Prodata Weather Systems
Littleport, East Cambs, UK
http://www.weatherstations.co.uk
User avatar
ConligWX
Posts: 1334
Joined: Mon 19 May 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis vPro2+ w/DFARS
Operating System: Ubuntu 22.04 LTS
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: Davis AirLink Professional Air Quality Sensor (7210UK)

Post by ConligWX »

Regards Simon

https://www.conligwx.org - @conligwx
Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus with Daytime FARS • WeatherLink Live • Davis AirLink • PurpleAir PA-II-SD • CumulusMX •
User avatar
ConligWX
Posts: 1334
Joined: Mon 19 May 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis vPro2+ w/DFARS
Operating System: Ubuntu 22.04 LTS
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: Davis AirLink Professional Air Quality Sensor (7210UK)

Post by ConligWX »

prodata wrote: Fri 28 Aug 2020 9:01 am @Phil23: I know you were asking about the sensor. Check this picture for confirmation:

AL_sensor.JPG
John.

Plantower A003? is that the Airlink then? not made or manufactured by Davis? I ask as i was being told something different here: https://www.wxforum.net/index.php?topic ... #msg413590
Regards Simon

https://www.conligwx.org - @conligwx
Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus with Daytime FARS • WeatherLink Live • Davis AirLink • PurpleAir PA-II-SD • CumulusMX •
prodata
Posts: 295
Joined: Sat 05 Feb 2011 7:13 pm
Weather Station: VP2
Operating System: Windows - all flavours
Location: Littleport, East Cambs, UK

Re: Davis AirLink Professional Air Quality Sensor (7210UK)

Post by prodata »

ConligWX wrote: Wed 02 Sep 2020 11:28 am I ask as i was being told something different here: https://www.wxforum.net/index.php?topic ... #msg413590
What were you told?

Well, if you open up the case and spot a Plantower part then it does rather seem to point to it being a Plantower sensor, no? (But obviously integrated into Davis circuitry etc.) That doesn't surprise me much - Davis are not, by and large,manufacturers of sensor elements - maybe relatively simple electromechanical units like the anemometer and rain gauge mechanism (and even then I'm not 100.00% sure, but probably). But more sophisticated sensor elements are bought in from specialist makers, eg the Sensirion T/H sensors, all the various compatible soil moisture sensors and so on. Why go to all the cost and delay of designing and making your own sensor when you can buy a good quality off-the-shelf sensor with a lot of R&D and production knowhow already invested in it.
John Dann
Prodata Weather Systems
Littleport, East Cambs, UK
http://www.weatherstations.co.uk
User avatar
ConligWX
Posts: 1334
Joined: Mon 19 May 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis vPro2+ w/DFARS
Operating System: Ubuntu 22.04 LTS
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: Davis AirLink Professional Air Quality Sensor (7210UK)

Post by ConligWX »

prodata wrote: Wed 02 Sep 2020 1:40 pm
ConligWX wrote: Wed 02 Sep 2020 11:28 am I ask as i was being told something different here: https://www.wxforum.net/index.php?topic ... #msg413590
What were you told?
The product is Davis designed, manufactured and tested in the USA. - thats a bit of a stretch I guess.
Regards Simon

https://www.conligwx.org - @conligwx
Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus with Daytime FARS • WeatherLink Live • Davis AirLink • PurpleAir PA-II-SD • CumulusMX •
prodata
Posts: 295
Joined: Sat 05 Feb 2011 7:13 pm
Weather Station: VP2
Operating System: Windows - all flavours
Location: Littleport, East Cambs, UK

Re: Davis AirLink Professional Air Quality Sensor (7210UK)

Post by prodata »

ConligWX wrote: Wed 02 Sep 2020 2:01 pm The product is Davis designed, manufactured and tested in the USA. - thats a bit of a stretch I guess.
Just a careful choice of words I'd suggest. Certainly designed and tested. And the station (or AL unit in this case) is manufactured, ie assembled in the US without question. Where the individual components come from is more of a grey area. There are very few products that are manufactured from raw materials at a single site, so buying in components from outside is assumed for the vast majority of products.

If you buy a car that's manufactured in a particular factory then often only the assembly happens there. All the individual parts - engine, gearbox, shock absorbers, windows, seats, ICE etc etc are manufactured elsewhere and typically by other unrelated specialist companies who have particular expertise in making those components well. But you still think of the car as a VW Golf, Jaguar F-Pace, whatever and it's marketed and warrantied by the nominal manufacturer..
Last edited by prodata on Wed 02 Sep 2020 2:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
John Dann
Prodata Weather Systems
Littleport, East Cambs, UK
http://www.weatherstations.co.uk
User avatar
ConligWX
Posts: 1334
Joined: Mon 19 May 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis vPro2+ w/DFARS
Operating System: Ubuntu 22.04 LTS
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: Davis AirLink Professional Air Quality Sensor (7210UK)

Post by ConligWX »

indeed.
Regards Simon

https://www.conligwx.org - @conligwx
Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus with Daytime FARS • WeatherLink Live • Davis AirLink • PurpleAir PA-II-SD • CumulusMX •
User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 3292
Joined: Tue 09 Dec 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: W10 - Threadripper 16core, etc
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: Davis AirLink Professional Air Quality Sensor (7210UK)

Post by beteljuice »

The beteljuice is finding his interpretation of the mark up of the API json file a little confusing (and Davis do not provide an example)
So when one of you can load up to the web, or publish one pretty please ....

Edit: Redundant link removed - post for Information Only
Last edited by beteljuice on Mon 05 Oct 2020 1:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !
prodata
Posts: 295
Joined: Sat 05 Feb 2011 7:13 pm
Weather Station: VP2
Operating System: Windows - all flavours
Location: Littleport, East Cambs, UK

Re: Davis AirLink Professional Air Quality Sensor (7210UK)

Post by prodata »

I see that AL updates to the v2 wl.com API have now been made overnight (UK time).
John Dann
Prodata Weather Systems
Littleport, East Cambs, UK
http://www.weatherstations.co.uk
User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 10161
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2/WLL
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Davis AirLink Professional Air Quality Sensor (7210UK)

Post by mcrossley »

beteljuice wrote: Thu 03 Sep 2020 7:26 am The beteljuice is finding his interpretation of the mark up of the API json file a little confusing (and Davis do not provide an example)
So when one of you can load up to the web, or publish one pretty please ....

My current guess
It will be the same structure as the WLL JSON, the data fields obviously differ - https://weatherlink.github.io/weatherli ... local-api/
User avatar
ConligWX
Posts: 1334
Joined: Mon 19 May 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis vPro2+ w/DFARS
Operating System: Ubuntu 22.04 LTS
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: Davis AirLink Professional Air Quality Sensor (7210UK)

Post by ConligWX »

Regards Simon

https://www.conligwx.org - @conligwx
Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus with Daytime FARS • WeatherLink Live • Davis AirLink • PurpleAir PA-II-SD • CumulusMX •
User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 3292
Joined: Tue 09 Dec 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: W10 - Threadripper 16core, etc
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: Davis AirLink Professional Air Quality Sensor (7210UK)

Post by beteljuice »

Got to love early release stuff ...

Within the last 24hrs Davis have changed the data structure type number, changed the names of some of the fields, but at least they have included an example json file :)
[paranoia thought ... perhaps the US really are trawling my work :shock: ]

Code: Select all

{
  "data":{
    "did":"001D0A100021",
    "name":"My AirLink",
    "ts":1599150192,
    "conditions":[
      {
        "lsid":123456,
        "data_structure_type":6,
        "temp":75.8,
        "hum":54.3,
        "dew_point":58.2,
        "wet_bulb":62.7,
        "heat_index":76.0,
        "pm_1_last":1,
        "pm_2p5_last":1,
        "pm_10_last":1,
        "pm_1":0.96,
        "pm_2p5":1.21,
        "pm_2p5_last_1_hour":2.30,
        "pm_2p5_last_3_hours":2.29,
        "pm_2p5_last_24_hours":4.81,
        "pm_2p5_nowcast":2.30,
        "pm_10":1.21,
        "pm_10_last_1_hour":2.84,
        "pm_10_last_3_hours":2.80,
        "pm_10_last_24_hours":6.03,
        "pm_10_nowcast":2.84,
        "last_report_time":1599150192,
        "pct_pm_data_last_1_hour":100,
        "pct_pm_data_last_3_hours":100,
        "pct_pm_data_nowcast":100,
        "pct_pm_data_last_24_hours":80
      }
    ]
  },
  "error":null
}
... and already they are referring to "old versions of the firmware" :lol:

The beteljuice is confused by the address http://192.168.1.3/v1/current_conditions , why doesn't it have a .json ext ?
No matter, that will be for you lot to work out how to copy it to where you want ;)
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !
User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 10161
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2/WLL
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Davis AirLink Professional Air Quality Sensor (7210UK)

Post by mcrossley »

Yep, they made a typo in the original firmware and have corrected it. They decided to increment the data structure number for the new firmware models, so ideally your decode needs to take account of both data structure types to cope with all the stations that may be out there
Post Reply