Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release v3.3.0 build 3063 - 10 January 2020.
    Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014

    See the Wiki for downloading either version.

    Cumulus 1 Freezes - revisited!

    Discussion specific to Oregon Scientific weather stations
    Post Reply
    geoffw
    Posts: 423
    Joined: Fri 08 May 2009 3:12 pm
    Weather Station: Oregon WMR200
    Operating System: Windows 10
    Location: Pembrokeshire West Wales UK
    Contact:

    Cumulus 1 Freezes - revisited!

    Post by geoffw » Wed 11 Apr 2018 11:00 am

    Here I am again with my old chestnut. Cumulus 1 on a Windows 10 machine keeps freezing. It all seems to have start months ago. I seem to have tried everything - at least I think I have. It is intermittent but the longest it manages to run without crashing is about 6 hours. Often I re-starting five of six times a day. Data is never corrupted, it will just freeze while still updating or run happily for up to 6 hours.

    I've tried it on two laptops and a desktop. They seem OK for about half a day and then it all starts over again. I was starting to think it was an issue with the WMR200 station but, although it doesn't appeal to me I installed CumulusMX yesterday. It has been running now for 24 hours without a hitch!

    I really do prefer the Cumulus 1.9.4 interface so come on help me out........ I might add I've also been toying with buying Brian Hamilton's "Weather Display" I had a demo version running for a couple of days without a problem last week - but I hate his interface.

    I've been with Cumulus since 2009 and really do want to stay!
    Geoff
    Image

    User avatar
    steve
    Cumulus Author
    Posts: 26717
    Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
    Weather Station: None
    Operating System: None
    Location: Vienne, France
    Contact:

    Re: Cumulus 1 Freezes - revisited!

    Post by steve » Wed 11 Apr 2018 11:13 am

    Sorry, Geoff, I don’t know what to suggest.
    Steve

    User avatar
    ConligWX
    Posts: 751
    Joined: Mon 19 May 2014 10:45 pm
    Weather Station: Davis VPro2 Plus +DFARS
    Operating System: MeteoBridge Nano SD
    Location: Bangor, NI
    Contact:

    Re: Cumulus 1 Freezes - revisited!

    Post by ConligWX » Wed 11 Apr 2018 1:33 pm

    just guessing since not knowledge of your setup or configuration, what measure have to taken into account to stop power management from stopping USB devices and putting them into power saving mode?

    here are a few links to start with:

    https://support.wdc.com/knowledgebase/a ... 3875#win10

    https://www.windowscentral.com/how-prev ... sb-devices

    https://www.hamoperator.com/Fusion/Fusi ... F-0023.pdf

    also turn off hibernation too.
    Regards Simon

    https://www.conligwx.org - @conligwx
    Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus + DFARS - Meteobrige Nano SD + Saratoga Templates

    sfws
    Posts: 466
    Joined: Fri 27 Jul 2012 11:29 am
    Weather Station: Final post in top ten topic
    Operating System: Tempermental Win. 10 PC
    Location: Moving

    Re: Cumulus 1 Freezes - revisited!

    Post by sfws » Wed 11 Apr 2018 4:25 pm

    If I remember correctly, in your previous postings (including a few months ago) on this problem, you stated you had tried the power management suggestions. I have no idea whether my suggestions below might help, but it sounds as if you are desperate to try anything. I don't know how Cumulus 1 works in terms of starting threads etc, but I too have sometimes had it freeze and found it goes after a restart, and I wonder if it can be affected by an external program. I don't have knowledge or skills to understand what happens on my pc or indeed how Cumulus might work.

    On my windows 10 pc, I have sometimes experienced feezing of all the applications I have running at the time. I find using a memory mangement tool tends to improve things. I don't want to advertise a trade name but what I have running is a free application and has "memory optimizer" in its name.

    I don't know what else you have running on your pc in Pembrokeshire, but virus checkers and back up applications can lock log files that Cumulus uses and demands exclusive access to. I suspect you have already eliminated that, but mention it in case.

    As my final thought, Geoff, for a long time I had Cumulus running a script for me using the realtime program facility in Cumulus 1, and I found on the rare occaision when that script exited with a fatal error, it locked everything up. Presumably whatever component Steve uses to run external programs got some sort of error feedback? I only run end of day scripts now, and (fingers crossed, touch wood, etc) I seem to have been able to have 24 hour running of Cumulus and other applications without any failures since that change (even the few times when my script does a premature exit), but I do need to add that most days my PC is off whenever I am out.

    RayProudfoot
    Posts: 2723
    Joined: Wed 06 May 2009 6:29 pm
    Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
    Operating System: Windows XP SP3
    Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
    Contact:

    Re: Cumulus 1 Freezes - revisited!

    Post by RayProudfoot » Wed 11 Apr 2018 6:46 pm

    Might it be worth looking at Event Viewer. That logs many things and there might be something relating to the lockup / freeze.

    Start - Run - eventvwr.

    On the left pane select Event Viewer (Local) and look for Errors or Warnings in the last hour or 24 hours.
    Cheers,
    Ray, Cheshire.

    Image

    geoffw
    Posts: 423
    Joined: Fri 08 May 2009 3:12 pm
    Weather Station: Oregon WMR200
    Operating System: Windows 10
    Location: Pembrokeshire West Wales UK
    Contact:

    Re: Cumulus 1 Freezes - revisited!

    Post by geoffw » Thu 12 Apr 2018 11:01 am

    Thanks for the responses and the advice. Unfortunately most of your suggestions I seem to have tried with no success. However, CumulusMX soldiers on and has now been running over 48 hours without a hitch, so it look like that is the way to go. a steep learning curve I fear!

    I've just replaced my website with Steves basic offering http://www.winterman.org.uk/weather/. Much to do to get the webcam back etc.....

    Thanks again! Now how do I get back my weather tag at the base of my message?
    Geoff
    Image

    Colt94
    Posts: 1
    Joined: Sun 11 Jun 2017 1:28 pm
    Weather Station: Wmr200
    Operating System: Win10 64bit

    Re: Cumulus 1 Freezes - revisited!

    Post by Colt94 » Fri 28 Dec 2018 4:01 am

    Hi Geoff,
    Just to let you know that you are not alone, my Cumulus does exactly the same thing on Win 10 64 bit. I can restart Cumulus up to 7 times a day. I tried it on 2 PC and same result. Same problem on mx. Too bad. The problem has been going on for more than a year. To me it’s a problem with WMR200.
    If anyone could help it would be great!

    Max
    Canada

    Ubbe
    Posts: 21
    Joined: Wed 13 Nov 2013 5:21 pm
    Weather Station: Oregon WMR 200
    Operating System: Windows 10 64 bit
    Location: Sweden

    Re: Cumulus 1 Freezes - revisited!

    Post by Ubbe » Tue 08 Jan 2019 5:30 am

    Hi Max, try USB Hub with its one powersupply! Worked for me!
    Had the same problem, that my laptop was too weak, with power!

    But the USB HUB has worked now for 3 years 24-7 :D

    johnijssel
    Posts: 1
    Joined: Mon 27 May 2019 7:12 pm
    Weather Station: WMR200
    Operating System: Windows 10

    Re: Cumulus 1 Freezes - revisited!

    Post by johnijssel » Mon 27 May 2019 7:47 pm

    Hi, I've been using WMR200 for 5 years with Cumulus 1.9.4 on Win7/SP3 without any problems. Now moved to Win 10/64, Cumulus 1.9.4 works, but when downloading data it freezes after few minutes and the only remedy is to force a shutdown using the task manager. By re-starting Cumulus again with the station connected , it continues to download until it freezes again at variable intervals. I had to repeat this 6 times to download one month's of data. Any suggestion? Would moving to Cumulus MX improve the situation? Thanks, John

    water01
    Posts: 1568
    Joined: Sat 13 Aug 2011 9:33 am
    Weather Station: WH1081
    Operating System: Windows 7 64bit HP SP1
    Location: Somewhere in the USA
    Contact:

    Re: Cumulus 1 Freezes - revisited!

    Post by water01 » Mon 27 May 2019 7:50 pm

    It would certainly improve your chances if there is a problem with the code as Cumulus 1 is no longer being developed, whereas Cumulus MX is currently being supported and bugs looked at.

    Post Reply