Welcome to the new home of the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release v3.0.0 build 3046 - 02 January 2019. See the Wiki for download

Cumulus 1 Freezes - revisited!

Discussion specific to Oregon Scientific weather stations
Post Reply
geoffw
Posts: 423
Joined: Fri 08 May 2009 3:12 pm
Weather Station: Oregon WMR200
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Pembrokeshire West Wales UK
Contact:

Cumulus 1 Freezes - revisited!

Post by geoffw » Wed 11 Apr 2018 11:00 am

Here I am again with my old chestnut. Cumulus 1 on a Windows 10 machine keeps freezing. It all seems to have start months ago. I seem to have tried everything - at least I think I have. It is intermittent but the longest it manages to run without crashing is about 6 hours. Often I re-starting five of six times a day. Data is never corrupted, it will just freeze while still updating or run happily for up to 6 hours.

I've tried it on two laptops and a desktop. They seem OK for about half a day and then it all starts over again. I was starting to think it was an issue with the WMR200 station but, although it doesn't appeal to me I installed CumulusMX yesterday. It has been running now for 24 hours without a hitch!

I really do prefer the Cumulus 1.9.4 interface so come on help me out........ I might add I've also been toying with buying Brian Hamilton's "Weather Display" I had a demo version running for a couple of days without a problem last week - but I hate his interface.

I've been with Cumulus since 2009 and really do want to stay!
Geoff
Image

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26717
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Cumulus 1 Freezes - revisited!

Post by steve » Wed 11 Apr 2018 11:13 am

Sorry, Geoff, I don’t know what to suggest.
Steve

User avatar
ConligWX
Posts: 744
Joined: Mon 19 May 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
Operating System: MeteoBridge Nano SD
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: Cumulus 1 Freezes - revisited!

Post by ConligWX » Wed 11 Apr 2018 1:33 pm

just guessing since not knowledge of your setup or configuration, what measure have to taken into account to stop power management from stopping USB devices and putting them into power saving mode?

here are a few links to start with:

https://support.wdc.com/knowledgebase/a ... 3875#win10

https://www.windowscentral.com/how-prev ... sb-devices

https://www.hamoperator.com/Fusion/Fusi ... F-0023.pdf

also turn off hibernation too.
Regards Simon

https://www.conligwx.org
https://twitter.com/conligwx
Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus - Meteobrige Nano SD + Saratoga Templates

sfws
Posts: 462
Joined: Fri 27 Jul 2012 11:29 am
Weather Station: Final post in top ten topic
Operating System: Tempermental Win. 10 PC
Location: Moving

Re: Cumulus 1 Freezes - revisited!

Post by sfws » Wed 11 Apr 2018 4:25 pm

If I remember correctly, in your previous postings (including a few months ago) on this problem, you stated you had tried the power management suggestions. I have no idea whether my suggestions below might help, but it sounds as if you are desperate to try anything. I don't know how Cumulus 1 works in terms of starting threads etc, but I too have sometimes had it freeze and found it goes after a restart, and I wonder if it can be affected by an external program. I don't have knowledge or skills to understand what happens on my pc or indeed how Cumulus might work.

On my windows 10 pc, I have sometimes experienced feezing of all the applications I have running at the time. I find using a memory mangement tool tends to improve things. I don't want to advertise a trade name but what I have running is a free application and has "memory optimizer" in its name.

I don't know what else you have running on your pc in Pembrokeshire, but virus checkers and back up applications can lock log files that Cumulus uses and demands exclusive access to. I suspect you have already eliminated that, but mention it in case.

As my final thought, Geoff, for a long time I had Cumulus running a script for me using the realtime program facility in Cumulus 1, and I found on the rare occaision when that script exited with a fatal error, it locked everything up. Presumably whatever component Steve uses to run external programs got some sort of error feedback? I only run end of day scripts now, and (fingers crossed, touch wood, etc) I seem to have been able to have 24 hour running of Cumulus and other applications without any failures since that change (even the few times when my script does a premature exit), but I do need to add that most days my PC is off whenever I am out.

RayProudfoot
Posts: 2644
Joined: Wed 06 May 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Cumulus 1 Freezes - revisited!

Post by RayProudfoot » Wed 11 Apr 2018 6:46 pm

Might it be worth looking at Event Viewer. That logs many things and there might be something relating to the lockup / freeze.

Start - Run - eventvwr.

On the left pane select Event Viewer (Local) and look for Errors or Warnings in the last hour or 24 hours.
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image

geoffw
Posts: 423
Joined: Fri 08 May 2009 3:12 pm
Weather Station: Oregon WMR200
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Pembrokeshire West Wales UK
Contact:

Re: Cumulus 1 Freezes - revisited!

Post by geoffw » Thu 12 Apr 2018 11:01 am

Thanks for the responses and the advice. Unfortunately most of your suggestions I seem to have tried with no success. However, CumulusMX soldiers on and has now been running over 48 hours without a hitch, so it look like that is the way to go. a steep learning curve I fear!

I've just replaced my website with Steves basic offering http://www.winterman.org.uk/weather/. Much to do to get the webcam back etc.....

Thanks again! Now how do I get back my weather tag at the base of my message?
Geoff
Image

Colt94
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun 11 Jun 2017 1:28 pm
Weather Station: Wmr200
Operating System: Win10 64bit

Re: Cumulus 1 Freezes - revisited!

Post by Colt94 » Fri 28 Dec 2018 4:01 am

Hi Geoff,
Just to let you know that you are not alone, my Cumulus does exactly the same thing on Win 10 64 bit. I can restart Cumulus up to 7 times a day. I tried it on 2 PC and same result. Same problem on mx. Too bad. The problem has been going on for more than a year. To me it’s a problem with WMR200.
If anyone could help it would be great!

Max
Canada

Ubbe
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed 13 Nov 2013 5:21 pm
Weather Station: Oregon WMR 200
Operating System: Windows 7 64 bit
Location: Sweden

Re: Cumulus 1 Freezes - revisited!

Post by Ubbe » Tue 08 Jan 2019 5:30 am

Hi Max, try USB Hub with its one powersupply! Worked for me!
Had the same problem, that my laptop was too weak, with power!

But the USB HUB has worked now for 3 years 24-7 :D

Post Reply