Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release v3.2.3 build 3059 - 04 December 2019.
    Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014

    See the Wiki for downloading either version.

    Two Directories at once?

    Discussion specific to Oregon Scientific weather stations
    Post Reply
    Greg_M
    Posts: 34
    Joined: Tue 28 Mar 2017 1:34 pm
    Weather Station: Davis VP2
    Operating System: Windows XP SP3

    Two Directories at once?

    Post by Greg_M » Mon 26 Jun 2017 6:11 pm

    Cumulus
    Configuration
    Internet
    Sites/Options
    Directory

    Is it possible to put two directory addresses on that line and have the data uploaded to two places at once?
    The addresses are on two of my domains on the same server.
    Just trying to move from one domain to the other.
    Will it do it?

    User avatar
    steve
    Cumulus Author
    Posts: 26717
    Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
    Weather Station: None
    Operating System: None
    Location: Vienne, France
    Contact:

    Re: Two Directories at once?

    Post by steve » Mon 26 Jun 2017 6:14 pm

    No. But you could add all the files to the 'extra files' and specify another path there.
    Steve

    freddie
    Posts: 521
    Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2011 11:19 am
    Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
    Operating System: GNU/Linux (Ubuntu 18.04)
    Location: Dorrington, Shropshire
    Contact:

    Re: Two Directories at once?

    Post by freddie » Mon 26 Jun 2017 9:35 pm

    ... or you could use a symbolic link on the server to link the two directories.
    Freddie
    Image

    Greg_M
    Posts: 34
    Joined: Tue 28 Mar 2017 1:34 pm
    Weather Station: Davis VP2
    Operating System: Windows XP SP3

    Re: Two Directories at once?

    Post by Greg_M » Tue 27 Jun 2017 12:17 pm

    freddie wrote:... or you could use a symbolic link on the server to link the two directories.

    What's that?

    freddie
    Posts: 521
    Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2011 11:19 am
    Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
    Operating System: GNU/Linux (Ubuntu 18.04)
    Location: Dorrington, Shropshire
    Contact:

    Re: Two Directories at once?

    Post by freddie » Tue 27 Jun 2017 1:00 pm

    Greg_M wrote:
    freddie wrote:... or you could use a symbolic link on the server to link the two directories.
    What's that?
    It's like a file system pointer from one directory to the other. If your two locations on the file system are:

    Code: Select all

    /var/www/site1
    and

    Code: Select all

    /var/www/site2
    and you were sending your Cumulus data to the first location, then (on a Linux system) you would issue the following command:

    Code: Select all

    ln -s /var/www/site1 /var/www/site2
    This would "soft link" the second location to the first such that they both point to the same location on the filesystem. That way, your data appears to a user of the filesystem to be in both locations at once. That means you only need to place your Cumulus data in the first location, and it will appear to exist at the second one too.

    There is a good write-up on Wikipedia - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Symbolic_link - which also shows you the command to use if your web server is a Windows platform and not Linux.

    HTH!
    Freddie
    Image

    Greg_M
    Posts: 34
    Joined: Tue 28 Mar 2017 1:34 pm
    Weather Station: Davis VP2
    Operating System: Windows XP SP3

    Re: Two Directories at once?

    Post by Greg_M » Tue 27 Jun 2017 7:55 pm

    Sounds over my pay scale, but thanks.

    Guess I'll get things all set and then take a down day and switch over.
    Thanks for trying
    G

    Post Reply