Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.6.10 (build 3086) - 24 June 2020 (please see important announcement regarding releases since 3.5.0)
Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of the NOAA report and Snow Index drop-down menus to 2030)

See the Wiki to download the software or click on the Downloads link in the Forum Banner.

User Interface

Discussion of the Cumulusutils tool and website generator.

Moderator: HansR

User avatar
HansR
Posts: 1090
Joined: Sat 20 Oct 2012 6:53 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2+
Operating System: Raspbian GNU/Linux 10 (Buster)
Location: Wagenborgen (NL)
Contact:

Re: User Interface

Post by HansR »

sutne wrote:
Fri 15 May 2020 10:48 am
I have set Solar and UV to False in the ini-file, but still I have a Sun-box in the Dashboard.
I am not really complaining about that, because now it is 12 boxes which makes it look nice. Reducing it to 11 would not.
That is really strange, I tested this myself and it worked. If you still have the Sun info than you probably did not set the parameter correct.
It must be:

Code: Select all

ShowUV=true or false
ShowSolar=true or false
I do not force lowercase but simply write out the value in the inifile to the code. So, if you have a capital letter than something fails: true or false MUST be lowercase.
In future I shall force it lowercase.
sutne wrote:
Fri 15 May 2020 10:48 am
Then I will put out a question: For us that do not have Solar, could we have something else in that box?
Any suggestions?
Unfortunately no. That would increase the complexity enormous. For now this is only a show/no show.
The number of boxes btw if both are switched off should be 10 making the sun and the moon the only two boxes on the lower row, filling the row evenly spaced.
That, I thought, was quite nice. It still shows symmetry.

The situation with only UV or only solar is of such minor occurrence (mostly sun/UV go together) that I am not thinking of making exceptions here.
sutne wrote:
Fri 15 May 2020 10:48 am
Another minor thing: on the iPad the Status is centered, should have been next to the Led.
I don't have an iPad, but an Android tablet where it does not do that (neither does it on my phone).
So, sorry for Apple, guess they are wrong :lol:

Actually, it is a right align of the menu handled by bootstrap so there is unfortunately little I can do here. I assume the Apple iPad is the only thing that does that?
https://meteo-wagenborgen.nl / Cumulus 3.6.8 (build: 3084)
Davis Vantage Pro 2+ / Raspberry Pi 3 Model B Plus Rev 1.3
Raspbian Linux 10 (buster) / 4.19.118-v7+ armv7l
Mono JIT compiler version 6.8.0.123 (tarball Tue May 12 15:31:43 UTC 2020)

sutne
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun 14 Oct 2012 4:23 pm
Weather Station: Oregon Scientific WMR100
Operating System: Raspbian Buster
Location: Rjoanddalen, Voss, Norway

Re: User Interface

Post by sutne »

I assume the Apple iPad is the only thing that does that?
Both Apple iPad and iPhone.

sutne
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun 14 Oct 2012 4:23 pm
Weather Station: Oregon Scientific WMR100
Operating System: Raspbian Buster
Location: Rjoanddalen, Voss, Norway

Re: User Interface

Post by sutne »

I assume the Apple iPad is the only thing that does that?
No,
this is from a Windows10 PC running Chrome:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
HansR
Posts: 1090
Joined: Sat 20 Oct 2012 6:53 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2+
Operating System: Raspbian GNU/Linux 10 (Buster)
Location: Wagenborgen (NL)
Contact:

Re: User Interface

Post by HansR »

@sutne: Regarding the solar/UV
I see I only worked on the second dashboard where both solar and UV are removed.
Indeed on the first dashboard there is only one box -solar - to disappear.
Sorry for the misunderstanding, my fault.

I will have a look at it because 1) the box must not show and 2) I will see how it behaves when it has disappeared. As you correctly remark, it is dependent on the size of the screen and above that, I have configured it to arrange automatic so I cannot predict now what the result will be.

It will be a bit later though because the number of remarks is increasing and I need to finish something first.

Regarding the alignment on iPad / Chrome
As the accompanying image shows, from my laptop, your site looks OK in Chrome (as it is with the other users, see the map).
Looking again and a third time I see that you have chrome there in a small window because the menu toggle has triggered. OK so that means, that if the menu toggle is active apparently the navigation bar does justification of its content. I'll see if it is possible to change that behaviour but it has no priority.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
https://meteo-wagenborgen.nl / Cumulus 3.6.8 (build: 3084)
Davis Vantage Pro 2+ / Raspberry Pi 3 Model B Plus Rev 1.3
Raspbian Linux 10 (buster) / 4.19.118-v7+ armv7l
Mono JIT compiler version 6.8.0.123 (tarball Tue May 12 15:31:43 UTC 2020)

sutne
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun 14 Oct 2012 4:23 pm
Weather Station: Oregon Scientific WMR100
Operating System: Raspbian Buster
Location: Rjoanddalen, Voss, Norway

Re: User Interface

Post by sutne »

In Day Records numbers have two decimals. Should be one as the rest of the system.

User avatar
HansR
Posts: 1090
Joined: Sat 20 Oct 2012 6:53 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2+
Operating System: Raspbian GNU/Linux 10 (Buster)
Location: Wagenborgen (NL)
Contact:

Re: User Interface

Post by HansR »

Yes, good spot. Did not see it since its genesis :)
Just missed it for 3.5.7, will be in the next release.
https://meteo-wagenborgen.nl / Cumulus 3.6.8 (build: 3084)
Davis Vantage Pro 2+ / Raspberry Pi 3 Model B Plus Rev 1.3
Raspbian Linux 10 (buster) / 4.19.118-v7+ armv7l
Mono JIT compiler version 6.8.0.123 (tarball Tue May 12 15:31:43 UTC 2020)

User avatar
kocher
Posts: 181
Joined: Sat 19 Apr 2014 7:57 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2+
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: San Sebastian - Spain
Contact:

Re: User Interface

Post by kocher »

The Compass Rose works well on my page. :clap: :clap: :clap:

A curiosity; if you stop at the records menu, by selecting the desired month, you can see that, for all of us, March has disappeared:

http://kocher.es/cumulusMX/FWI/
Image

User avatar
HansR
Posts: 1090
Joined: Sat 20 Oct 2012 6:53 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2+
Operating System: Raspbian GNU/Linux 10 (Buster)
Location: Wagenborgen (NL)
Contact:

Re: User Interface

Post by HansR »

@kocher: Thank you... records will be fixed in next release.
Interesting nobody saw that before ;)
https://meteo-wagenborgen.nl / Cumulus 3.6.8 (build: 3084)
Davis Vantage Pro 2+ / Raspberry Pi 3 Model B Plus Rev 1.3
Raspbian Linux 10 (buster) / 4.19.118-v7+ armv7l
Mono JIT compiler version 6.8.0.123 (tarball Tue May 12 15:31:43 UTC 2020)

User avatar
HansR
Posts: 1090
Joined: Sat 20 Oct 2012 6:53 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2+
Operating System: Raspbian GNU/Linux 10 (Buster)
Location: Wagenborgen (NL)
Contact:

Re: User Interface

Post by HansR »

@kocher: btw, the wind in 2017 seems to have an aberration with all other years. Data corruption? Error in software or was it a strange year? That may disappear with 3.6.1 because of the change of fields in calculation.
https://meteo-wagenborgen.nl / Cumulus 3.6.8 (build: 3084)
Davis Vantage Pro 2+ / Raspberry Pi 3 Model B Plus Rev 1.3
Raspbian Linux 10 (buster) / 4.19.118-v7+ armv7l
Mono JIT compiler version 6.8.0.123 (tarball Tue May 12 15:31:43 UTC 2020)

User avatar
kocher
Posts: 181
Joined: Sat 19 Apr 2014 7:57 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2+
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: San Sebastian - Spain
Contact:

Re: User Interface

Post by kocher »

Saludos a todos

First of all, I must point out that, thanks to the information provided by the "cumulusutils.log" file, I have discovered several errors in the cumulusMX file "ago14log.txt" that would otherwise have been very difficult to detect; Now, I think, everything is solved. :D

I have a couple of possibly stupid :bash: questions:

1) how can I change the name of the user menu?

2) Can I configure multiple user menus?

Thanks to Hans for his patience

Greetings from San Sebastián
Image

User avatar
HansR
Posts: 1090
Joined: Sat 20 Oct 2012 6:53 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2+
Operating System: Raspbian GNU/Linux 10 (Buster)
Location: Wagenborgen (NL)
Contact:

Re: User Interface

Post by HansR »

kocher wrote:
Sun 24 May 2020 11:02 am
of possibly stupid :bash: questions:
No stupid questions, only if you ask three times the same thing in a row... ;)
kocher wrote:
Sun 24 May 2020 11:02 am
First of all, I must point out that, thanks to the information provided by the "cumulusutils.log" file, I have discovered several errors in the cumulusMX file "ago14log.txt" that would otherwise have been very difficult to detect; Now, I think, everything is solved. :D
:D Good to hear!
kocher wrote:
Sun 24 May 2020 11:02 am
how can I change the name of the user menu?
The file CUsermenu-example.txt has the following content:

Code: Select all

<li class='nav-item dropdown'>
  <!-- Just put a link on the UserMenu text                                                  -->
  <!-- a class='nav-link' href='http://google.com'>Google</a                                 -->

  <a class='nav-link dropdown-toggle' href='#' id='navbarDropdown' role='button' data-toggle='dropdown' aria-haspopup='true' aria-expanded='false'>
    UserMenu
  </a>
  <div class='dropdown-menu' aria-labelledby='navbarDropdown'>
    <a class='nav-link' href="https://www.windy.com/station/pws-f06f5696?53.259,6.932,8" target="_blank">Windy (excl)</a>
    <span class='nav-link' onclick="LoadUtilsReport('Windy.txt');"> Windy (incl)</span>
    <a class='nav-link' href="https://wow.knmi.nl/#1211bb08-6c93-e911-80e7-0003ff59889d" target="_blank">KNMI WOW</a>
    <a class='nav-link' href="https://www.wunderground.com/dashboard/pws/IWAGEN6" target="_blank">WU</a>
    <div class='dropdown-divider'></div>
    <a class='nav-link' href="https://topotijdreis.nl" target="_blank">Topo NL</a>
    <a class='nav-link' href="https://waterinfo.rws.nl/#!/kaart/waterhoogte-t-o-v-nap/">Waterstanden</a>
    <div class='dropdown-divider'></div>
    <a class='nav-link' href="/wp/" target="_blank">The Blog</a>
  </div>
</li>
If you change the word: UserMenu you ave changed the word visible on the menubar which I guess would be the name of the menu.
kocher wrote:
Sun 24 May 2020 11:02 am
Can I configure multiple user menus?
Yes, you can. Actually it is only one usermenu, but you create more drop-down columns in that menu if you create a new <li></li> pair below (or above) the existing one and fill that in a way similar to the example you will have the second user menu (see e.g. Segur-le-Chateau who has three such entries).

Good luck!
https://meteo-wagenborgen.nl / Cumulus 3.6.8 (build: 3084)
Davis Vantage Pro 2+ / Raspberry Pi 3 Model B Plus Rev 1.3
Raspbian Linux 10 (buster) / 4.19.118-v7+ armv7l
Mono JIT compiler version 6.8.0.123 (tarball Tue May 12 15:31:43 UTC 2020)

User avatar
kocher
Posts: 181
Joined: Sat 19 Apr 2014 7:57 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2+
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: San Sebastian - Spain
Contact:

Re: User Interface

Post by kocher »

Thank you very much Hans.

Sometimes the most obvious things are hidden. :idea:
Image

Post Reply