Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.9.1 (build 3096) - 31 October 2020 (please see announcement regarding releases since 3.5.0)
Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of the NOAA report and Snow Index drop-down menus to 2030)

Use this Wiki link to Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items).

Connection HP1000SE PRO//HP2553 to MX

GW1000 WiFi gateway
Post Reply
User avatar
Eoledhv
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun 08 Mar 2020 4:30 pm
Weather Station: WMR200 / HP1000SE PRO
Operating System: Windows 7 / Windows 10

Connection HP1000SE PRO//HP2553 to MX

Post by Eoledhv »

Hello to All,
I'm finally the happy owner of an Ecowitt station bought in Germany from Froggit (Big price difference between Germany and the US for an order from France...!) to replace my WMR200 Oregon.
It's an HP1000SE PRO (https://www.froggit.de/product_info.php ... ation.html), equivalent of the HP2553 on the Ecowitt website (http://www.ecowitt.com/weather_station/119.html)
After installing the outdoor sensors, in parallel with those of the WMR200, made the connection to Ecowitt weather (https://www.ecowitt.net/home/index?id=28624), I intended to make the connections to CumulusMX.
With my WMR200, I was using Cumulus 1 (plus publication on https://meteodeshautsvents.pagesperso-o ... /index.htm) and for several weeks, in parallel, CumulusMX.
So I installed the latest version of MX (Ver: 3.8.2 b3092) under Windows 10.
In Settings/setting station, I selected "Ecowitt GW1000" then in Settings/Ecowitt GW1000 Settings, I checked "Auto-Discovery" and indicated the IP address as "000.000.000.000".
This does not seem to be enough because all the dials are at zero. On the other hand, in "Dashbord/Local Time", the clock works, "Last Cumulus update" also but the "last station update" doesn't increment (stays at 00:00:00).
In the HP2553 console, I inserted a micro SD card and connected the console to the PC via a USB cable.
On my Internet Box, I made the IP address fixed.
My FireWall allows MX.
I don't understand. Where did I make a mistake? What didn't I do?
If someone can help me I will be very happy!
Thanks to the community for your help.

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 7239
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Connection HP1000SE PRO//HP2553 to MX

Post by mcrossley »

Cumulus does not support that station, the only Ecowitt product supported at the moment is the GW1000 as you have selected in settings

User avatar
Eoledhv
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun 08 Mar 2020 4:30 pm
Weather Station: WMR200 / HP1000SE PRO
Operating System: Windows 7 / Windows 10

Re: Connection HP1000SE PRO//HP2553 to MX

Post by Eoledhv »

Thank you for the feedback.
I thought if I took the HP2553 as a console it would react like the GW1000 and the difference was only the display part .
Now, the question that comes directly to mind is: If I take a GW1000, can I make it work with the HP2553?
Normally by removing the connection to my HP2553 box and setting the GW1000 on the box, this should allow MX, Ecowitt Weather and other website/software to retrieve the data. But is it possible that the instruments transmit their data to 2 receivers?

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 7239
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Connection HP1000SE PRO//HP2553 to MX

Post by mcrossley »

The transmitters transmit, they don't care who is listening, it could be no one, or a hundred receiver's, it does not matter, the communication is purely one way.

User avatar
Eoledhv
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun 08 Mar 2020 4:30 pm
Weather Station: WMR200 / HP1000SE PRO
Operating System: Windows 7 / Windows 10

Re: Connection HP1000SE PRO//HP2553 to MX

Post by Eoledhv »

Thank you all for your answers and precious help
Best regards

User avatar
galfert
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue 03 May 2016 2:57 pm
Weather Station: Ecowitt GW1000
Operating System: Linux Mint or Raspberry Pi OS
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: Connection HP1000SE PRO//HP2553 to MX

Post by galfert »

If you have a Froggit HP1000SE PRO my recommendation is to add the Froggit DP1500. The DP1500 is the same as a GW1000. Then CumulusMX will be able to see your sensors via the DP1500. Just treat the DP1500 as a GW1000 in CumulusMX.
WS-2000 & WS-2902A | Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Tele-Pole flag pole

Post Reply