Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.17.0 (build 3184) - 23 May 2022

Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of drop-down menus to 2030)

Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items) from the Wiki

If you are interested in supporting Cumulus then maybe you would like to contribute to the maintenance of the Wiki? This need not take hours of your time - just a half hour here and there can make a big difference, particularly if many people are doing this. Any contributions are very welcome, whether they involve new content or editing of existing content. It will be very helpful to current and future users of Cumulus software if the Wiki is kept well-maintained and current. If you are interested then please contact forum user saratogaWX and ask for a Wiki account.

Ecowitt Advice

GW1000 WiFi gateway
User avatar
Gyvate
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed 16 Dec 2020 2:14 pm
Weather Station: GW1x00/WH2650WiFi/HP2553/GW2000
Operating System: Win 11 (PC/RPi), Raspbian 11,WSL
Location: Saarbrücken, Germany
Contact:

Re: Ecowitt Advice

Post by Gyvate »

freddie wrote: Sat 15 Jan 2022 6:35 am The Path is literally /station/ecowitt - nothing to change, use as-is. Double-check the IP address is that of your raspberry pi, and that you have put in the correct port.

Also bear in mind that a majority of hp2551 users have reported that you should use your station's console to input the settings, as they don't appear to 'take' if you use the WS View app.
1. also, very important, put ONLY the IP address, and NO "http://" in front: e.g. 192.168.1.99 (and NOT http://192.168.1.99)
2. make sure your router allows communication between devices inside the network (console and RPi) - in some routers this needs to be explicitly allowed as the default setting is "not allowed".
3. regarding path, as @freddie pointed out, /station/ecowitt (NO closing "/" or the like !!)
These are the commonly known pitfalls
The WS View Plus app works in all cases I know (and they are quite a few) - but no harm doing the configuration inside the console with the "mouse piano".
In the WS View (Plus) app you have to press "save" and wait for a little "success" message/window to pop up !
Then sign out form the device and verify again from the start. If the config was successful, the new data will appear.
WS View may have some connectivity issues with the console depending on your network situation - you can of course avoid this by programming the console directly.

Your console WiFi firmware should be latest: 1.6.1 (console/device firmware should be 1.7.7, also the latest) - the HP2551 console has/needs two different types of firmware.
water01
Posts: 2507
Joined: Sat 13 Aug 2011 9:33 am
Weather Station: Ecowitt HP2551
Operating System: Windows 10 64bit
Location: Burnham-on-Sea
Contact:

Re: Ecowitt Advice

Post by water01 »

Your console WiFi firmware should be latest: 1.6.1
Searched the Ecowitt site and I can find no mention of WiFi Firmware only Console Firmware?
David
Image
User avatar
Gyvate
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed 16 Dec 2020 2:14 pm
Weather Station: GW1x00/WH2650WiFi/HP2553/GW2000
Operating System: Win 11 (PC/RPi), Raspbian 11,WSL
Location: Saarbrücken, Germany
Contact:

Re: Ecowitt Advice

Post by Gyvate »

water01 wrote: Sat 15 Jan 2022 10:28 am
Your console WiFi firmware should be latest: 1.6.1
Searched the Ecowitt site and I can find no mention of WiFi Firmware only Console Firmware?
WiFi firmware is usually offered via the WS View (plus) app. In the WS View Plus app you can see your actual WiFi firmware revision in the device list.
see attachment
EasyWeather is the firmware for consoles with separate WiFi and device firmware (the GW1x00,WH2650, and GW2000 have a combined firmware).
You may want to read: https://www.wxforum.net/index.php?topic=40730.0 (pictures only visible when you register [free]).
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
bpoos
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed 12 Jan 2022 11:08 am
Weather Station: Ecowitt HP2551
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Ecowitt Advice

Post by bpoos »

freddie wrote: Sat 15 Jan 2022 6:35 am The Path is literally /station/ecowitt - nothing to change, use as-is. Double-check the IP address is that of your raspberry pi, and that you have put in the correct port.

Also bear in mind that a majority of hp2551 users have reported that you should use your station's console to input the settings, as they don't appear to 'take' if you use the WS View app.
Thank you all for your help! It's been driving me crazy trying to set this up - silly me trying to put in the Ecowitt station name :lol:
I use the station console to put in settings.
bpoos
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed 12 Jan 2022 11:08 am
Weather Station: Ecowitt HP2551
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Ecowitt Advice

Post by bpoos »

So now I have my CumulusMX dashboard working with my pi zero and HP2551, but i would like to add in my Ecowitt wh32 temperature sensor (which I call my 'shade' temperature because i hang it in a tree). Both sensors show on the ecowitt net site, but the wh32 doesn't show on WS View or Wunderground views.

I can see that in the settings tab on CumulusMX there is a spot where it says to use Path:/station/ecowittextra to configure Custom Server for an extra sensor, but in both my WS view and on the HP2551 console, I can only see the possibility for one custom server configuration, and i have already used that to connect to the pi. I tried using Path: /station/ecowittextra but i lost my connection and have now reverted to /station/ecowitt

So i am wondering whether or not it is possible to connect an extra sensor from HP2551 to CumulusMX or would i need to get myself a GW1100 which i really don't want to do at this stage? Any tips?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
bpoos
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed 12 Jan 2022 11:08 am
Weather Station: Ecowitt HP2551
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Ecowitt Advice

Post by bpoos »

So now I have my CumulusMX dashboard working with my pi zero and HP2551, but i would like to add in my Ecowitt wh32 temperature sensor (which I call my 'shade' temperature because i hang it in a tree). Both sensors show on the ecowitt net site, but the wh32 doesn't show on WS View or Wunderground views.

I can see that in the settings tab on CumulusMX there is a spot where it says to use Path:/station/ecowittextra to configure Custom Server for an extra sensor, but in both my WS view and on the HP2551 console, I can only see the possibility for one custom server configuration, and i have already used that to connect to the pi. I tried using Path: /station/ecowittextra but i lost my connection and have now reverted to /station/ecowitt

So i am wondering whether or not it is possible to connect an extra sensor from HP2551 to CumulusMX or would i need to get myself a GW1100 which i really don't want to do at this stage? Any tips?
User avatar
Gyvate
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed 16 Dec 2020 2:14 pm
Weather Station: GW1x00/WH2650WiFi/HP2553/GW2000
Operating System: Win 11 (PC/RPi), Raspbian 11,WSL
Location: Saarbrücken, Germany
Contact:

Re: Ecowitt Advice

Post by Gyvate »

Your console can only send and/or display readings of ONE outdoor temperature/humidity sensor (Highlander principle 8-) ).
If you have a WH65/WS69 or WS80 outdoor array and want their readings replaced by your WH32, you will have to activate the WH32 in the Sensors ID section of the setup (setup [gear wheel] --> More [setup]). It will then ignore the reading from the array and send the WH32 readings instead. If you want more outdoor (or indoor) temperature readings, you will have to use extra temperature sensors from the WH31 family.
Their readings will appear in the CMX extra sensor section/page. In the console display they will be cycling (if the feature is activated) together with the indoor temperature sensor.
You want explicitly also the outdoor T/H readings from the array, you need a second console (e.g. GW1x00) where you don't activate/disable the T/H sensor.
I also recommend you read https://www.wxforum.net/index.php?topic=40730.0 (pictures only visible when you register [free]).
There are many topics/questions you have covered in that thread.
You could call it sort of "the Bible" for Ecowitt station users.
bpoos
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed 12 Jan 2022 11:08 am
Weather Station: Ecowitt HP2551
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Ecowitt Advice

Post by bpoos »

Gyvate wrote: Sat 15 Jan 2022 12:59 pm Your console can only send and/or display readings of ONE outdoor temperature/humidity sensor (Highlander principle 8-) ).
If you have a WH65/WS69 or WS80 outdoor array and want their readings replaced by your WH32, you will have to activate the WH32 in the Sensors ID section of the setup (setup [gear wheel] --> More [setup]). It will then ignore the reading from the array and send the WH32 readings instead. If you want more outdoor (or indoor) temperature readings, you will have to use extra temperature sensors from the WH31 family.
Their readings will appear in the CMX extra sensor section/page. In the console display they will be cycling (if the feature is activated) together with the indoor temperature sensor.
You want explicitly also the outdoor T/H readings from the array, you need a second console (e.g. GW1x00) where you don't activate/disable the T/H sensor.
I also recommend you read https://www.wxforum.net/index.php?topic=40730.0 (pictures only visible when you register [free]).
There are many topics/questions you have covered in that thread.
You could call it sort of "the Bible" for Ecowitt station users.
Really appreciating the help! I may have been inaccurate in describing my W32 - It is actually the indoor sensor that came with my HP2551 set. I read that it is weatherproof so I have it outside in the shade as a preference to the one up on the roof in the sun with the array. I tried to disable the sensor in the array on the console and register the WH32 indoor sensor but the WH32 does not seem to be overriding the one on the array. I checked the link you provided (thank you), but am guessing then that the instructions don't apply to the WH32 (indoor) type sensor? Does this mean that i need to purchase the W32 outdoor 2-in-one? And if I use the WH32 outdoor, will the pressure readings still come through from the array? (I see that only the indoor WH32 includes pressure readings)? I have attached some pictures of my console display. (For some reason the shade temp is hotter than on the roof this morning) :lol:
console 1.jpg
console 2.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Gyvate
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed 16 Dec 2020 2:14 pm
Weather Station: GW1x00/WH2650WiFi/HP2553/GW2000
Operating System: Win 11 (PC/RPi), Raspbian 11,WSL
Location: Saarbrücken, Germany
Contact:

Re: Ecowitt Advice

Post by Gyvate »

you don't seem to have read (at least not thoroughly) the thread offered in the wxforum. :(
All your questions are explained there and also your console.

A WH32 (outdoor T/H sensor) and a WH32B (indoor T/H/P) sensor are two completely different devices.
And the name in the parantheses says it all. They are not exchangeable. You can deactivate them, but you can't replace one by the other.
It's (somehow) like wanting to use a real bed instead of a sunbed on your balcony or in your garden.

The console doesn't allow, and honestly, it doesn't make sense either.
And, disabling/deactivating the sensor array will only leave the indoor T/H/P active - and if you deactivate this one too, you will have nothing the see on the console.
At least it will be a constant picture. :mrgreen:

The pressure readings don't come from the outdoor array but from the indoor combo sensor (WH32B).
There is no difference in air pressure in your apartment from outside (except you live in a pressure chamber).

As said already earlier, if you want to have two outdoor T/H readings (array + 2nd location), you will need an extra sensor (WH31 family), but it will not show as the main outdoor T/H sensor (console left ring symbol) but as extra temperature/humidity (console right, smaller circle).
If you don't want to have the array reading but a T/H reading at a different place and have it shown instead of the array reading for T/H, you will have to purchase a WH32(-EP) sensor and activate it (T/H).
User avatar
ConligWX
Posts: 1314
Joined: Mon 19 May 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis vPro2+ w/DFARS
Operating System: Ubuntu 22.04 LTS
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: Ecowitt Advice

Post by ConligWX »

I see weatherspares here in the UK are now selling Ecowitt devices.

https://weatherspares.co.uk/collections/ecowitt
Regards Simon

https://www.conligwx.org - @conligwx
Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus with Daytime FARS • WeatherLink Live • Davis AirLink • PurpleAir PA-II-SD • CumulusMX •
Post Reply