Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.10.5 (build 3122) - 06 April 2021 (please see announcement regarding releases since 3.5.0)
Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of drop-down menus to 2030)

Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items) from the Wiki

Cumulus 1 migration to Cumulus MX

From build 3044 the development baton passed to Mark Crossley. Mark has been responsible for all the Builds since. He has made the code available on GitHub. It is Mark's hope that others will join in this development, but at the very least he welcomes your ideas for future developments (see Cumulus MX Development suggestions).

Moderator: mcrossley

TwoTonTed
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed 26 Aug 2015 5:39 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: St Brides, Vale of Glamorgan

Cumulus 1 migration to Cumulus MX

Post by TwoTonTed »

I've been reading all about this on the wiki pages and I cant find a simple guide to upgrading from 1 to MX, and I've non-technical!!

I have a Davis Vantage Vue communicating using Weatherlink 6.0.3. I've been using Cumulus 1 for around 5 years and now want to move onto MX.

Can anyone point me to a thread here which details how to do this? Searches I've tried haven't thrown up anything and the wiki pages are very technical!

Thanks

TwoTonTed
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed 26 Aug 2015 5:39 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: St Brides, Vale of Glamorgan

Re: Cumulus 1 migration to Cumulus MX

Post by TwoTonTed »

I've got as far as managing to run CumulusMx.exe (as admin in Windows 10). I've downloaded the software into a new directory under C:Windows and copied my Cumulus.ini file and data directory into this space as directed with the instructions here.

It's asking me to enter my ip address followed by :8998/ into my browser (Chrome) which I've done but it just comes back saying "This site can't be reached"

Any help from here?

Thanks

User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 2580
Joined: Sun 28 Sep 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2+ Cumulus1 / CummulusMX
Operating System: Windows8 / Windows10
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: Cumulus 1 migration to Cumulus MX

Post by PaulMy »

For the IP address, in your browser enter it as localhost:8998 that's all
Also see PM.

Enjoy,
Paul

TwoTonTed
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed 26 Aug 2015 5:39 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: St Brides, Vale of Glamorgan

Re: Cumulus 1 migration to Cumulus MX

Post by TwoTonTed »

thanks Paul that worked, however no data is appearing, guess I now have to do something else? I've tried closing the ap down and reloading. Cumulus 1 is closed. Weatherlink is running and reporting data from the station.

User avatar
ConligWX
Posts: 1223
Joined: Mon 19 May 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis vPro2 Plus w/DFARS
Operating System: Ubuntu 20.04.2 LTS - NUC
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: Cumulus 1 migration to Cumulus MX

Post by ConligWX »

have you setup the vue/datalogging in the settings of cumulusmx?

https://cumuluswiki.org/a/MX_Administra ... g_Settings

it maybe looking for more input.

you could also looki at the recent logfile in the MXDIAGS folder for what could be wrong
Regards Simon

https://www.conligwx.org - @conligwx
Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus with Daytime FARS • WeatherLink Live • Davis AirLink • PurpleAir PA-II-SD • CumulusMX •

TwoTonTed
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed 26 Aug 2015 5:39 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: St Brides, Vale of Glamorgan

Re: Cumulus 1 migration to Cumulus MX

Post by TwoTonTed »

no I havent Simon, will take a look thanks.

User avatar
ConligWX
Posts: 1223
Joined: Mon 19 May 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis vPro2 Plus w/DFARS
Operating System: Ubuntu 20.04.2 LTS - NUC
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: Cumulus 1 migration to Cumulus MX

Post by ConligWX »

do you ahve a website url we can take a look and see if we can diagnose?
Regards Simon

https://www.conligwx.org - @conligwx
Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus with Daytime FARS • WeatherLink Live • Davis AirLink • PurpleAir PA-II-SD • CumulusMX •

TwoTonTed
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed 26 Aug 2015 5:39 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: St Brides, Vale of Glamorgan

Re: Cumulus 1 migration to Cumulus MX

Post by TwoTonTed »

hi again

I've now looked at the settings and they are all defaulted it appears.

'Set the Davis Logger interval to match Cumulus MX interval' - is not ticked, do I need to do this?

I dont have a website but I do publish my station through Met Office WOW and wunderground

freddie
Posts: 1232
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2011 11:19 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Operating System: GNU/Linux Ubuntu 20.04 LXC
Location: Alcaston, Shropshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Cumulus 1 migration to Cumulus MX

Post by freddie »

TwoTonTed wrote:
Tue 09 Mar 2021 4:02 pm
'Set the Davis Logger interval to match Cumulus MX interval' - is not ticked, do I need to do this?
This by itself doesn't lead to lack of data in the dashboard. It can make downloading of data from the logger slow on start-up though.
TwoTonTed wrote:
Tue 09 Mar 2021 4:02 pm
I dont have a website but I do publish my station through Met Office WOW and wunderground
Could you please zip up the contents of the MXdiags folder in your CumulusMX installation, and attach to a reply on this topic?

Also, you can't run Weatherlink at the same time when you run Cumulus MX. Only one application can access your weather station at one time.
Freddie
Image

TwoTonTed
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed 26 Aug 2015 5:39 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: St Brides, Vale of Glamorgan

Re: Cumulus 1 migration to Cumulus MX

Post by TwoTonTed »

Ah, I'm getting somewhere, I closed Cumulus 1 for a start and noticed that I was connecting via Com 3 there and it was set to Com 1 in MX - so I changed that.

It's downloaded the logger contents but a warning message is showing.

'Your station logger interval 30 mins does not match your Cumulus MX logging interval 15 mins' - does this matter, do I need to change something?

The dashboard looks great but I cant find how to view data from Month X year Y as you can in Cumulus 1? Is there a user guide I can read more about this and other differences between 1 and MX?

TwoTonTed
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed 26 Aug 2015 5:39 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: St Brides, Vale of Glamorgan

Re: Cumulus 1 migration to Cumulus MX

Post by TwoTonTed »

our replies crossed!

I thought weather link was essential as that is how my PC communicates with the Vantage Vue hardware? No?

freddie
Posts: 1232
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2011 11:19 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Operating System: GNU/Linux Ubuntu 20.04 LXC
Location: Alcaston, Shropshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Cumulus 1 migration to Cumulus MX

Post by freddie »

TwoTonTed wrote:
Tue 09 Mar 2021 4:57 pm
I thought weather link was essential as that is how my PC communicates with the Vantage Vue hardware? No?
Weatherlink software isn't essential, no. If you mean something else, then I'm happy to stand corrected.
Freddie
Image

TwoTonTed
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed 26 Aug 2015 5:39 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: St Brides, Vale of Glamorgan

Re: Cumulus 1 migration to Cumulus MX

Post by TwoTonTed »

thanks. Can I come back to my other question about data reporting?

On Cumulus 1 I can go back months by month, year by year. If I wanted Aug rainfall in, say, 2017, I can. It's not obvious to me in CX how I can find this from the menus available?

freddie
Posts: 1232
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2011 11:19 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Operating System: GNU/Linux Ubuntu 20.04 LXC
Location: Alcaston, Shropshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Cumulus 1 migration to Cumulus MX

Post by freddie »

TwoTonTed wrote:
Tue 09 Mar 2021 8:23 pm
It's not obvious to me in CX how I can find this from the menus available?
charts -> recent select-a-chart
Freddie
Image

TwoTonTed
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed 26 Aug 2015 5:39 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: St Brides, Vale of Glamorgan

Re: Cumulus 1 migration to Cumulus MX

Post by TwoTonTed »

that doesnt work, there's loads of data still missing I reckon.

Charts - Historical Charts gives me data from 24 Aug 2015 (when I installed the station) to 16 Nov 2016, and that's it, nothing showing since!
Charts -Recent Selectachart gives me today's data but nothing else.

Highs and Lows data is all there
Current Data is not showing rain this year
NOAA reports all seem ok!

Any ideas?

Thanks

Post Reply