Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.10.1 (build 3116) - 26 February 2021 (please see announcement regarding releases since 3.5.0)
Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of the NOAA report and Snow Index drop-down menus to 2030)

Use this Wiki link to Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items).

Wind issue

From build 3044 the development baton passed to Mark Crossley. Mark has been responsible for all the Builds since. He has made the code available on GitHub. It is Mark's hope that others will join in this development, but at the very least he welcomes your ideas for future developments (see Cumulus MX Development suggestions).

Moderator: mcrossley

Post Reply
picca
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon 02 Jan 2012 4:35 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Raspbian 9
Location: Valdisotto

Wind issue

Post by picca »

Hi.
I ran into a strange problem. When there is wind, everything works. Instead when there is no wind the data in Cumulus is shown (changing every 5/6 seconds) as in the gif below (14 seconds gif).

Video here (maybe most clear then the gif): https://streamable.com/ss56ea

Meanwhile, the Davis VP2 console always shows 0 instead of:

windspeed":0.0,"winddir":0
windspeed":1.6,"winddir":315
windspeed":0.0,"winddir":0
windspeed":1.6,"winddir":315

... repeated by Cumulus until the wind is really there.


Any idea about the "problem"?
Build 3107 (If I'm not mistaken also present in previous versions but never noticed)


Thank you,
Davide

ezgif-1-60eceada7b19.gif
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

freddie
Posts: 1126
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2011 11:19 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Operating System: GNU/Linux Ubuntu 20.04 LXC
Location: Alcaston, Shropshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Wind issue

Post by freddie »

To me it looks as if there is a small amount of breeze that is occasionally strong enough to move the anemometer cups. That is backed up by your average (10 minute) speed.

It doesn't explain why your console doesn't indicate anything, though.
Freddie
Image

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 7874
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2/WLL
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Wind issue

Post by mcrossley »

If this happens again can you switch on both debug and data logging to capture the events, then post the MXdiags file please.

Post Reply