Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.9.1 (build 3096) - 31 October 2020 (please see announcement regarding releases since 3.5.0)
Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of the NOAA report and Snow Index drop-down menus to 2030)

Use this Wiki link to Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items).

Meteobridge / CumulusMX

From build 3044 the development baton passed to Mark Crossley. Mark has been responsible for all the Builds since. He has made the code available on GitHub. It is Mark's hope that others will join in this development, but at the very least he welcomes your ideas for future developments (see Cumulus MX Development suggestions).

Moderator: mcrossley

webcam
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed 11 Nov 2015 7:50 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Win10
Location: Brienz

Meteobridge / CumulusMX

Post by webcam »

Hello everybody,
I want to install Cumulus MX on my Rasperry PI.
That seems to work as I read.
I use a Lufft weather station and I read it out with Meteobridge Pro.
Now my question:
Can you access the Meteobridge system with CumulusMX via IP and port 22222?
Thanks for your answers and your help.
Greeting
Daniel

NavyGuy
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed 16 Mar 2016 9:25 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Operating System: Windows 10 64bit
Location: South-east South Australia

Re: Meteobridge / CumulusMX

Post by NavyGuy »

Yes you can, that is what i am using, you just need the IP address of your Meteobridge

webcam
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed 11 Nov 2015 7:50 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Win10
Location: Brienz

Re: Meteobridge / CumulusMX

Post by webcam »

Hey, merci for the answer. Would first of all familiarize myself with the Rasperry Pi.
Then it goes behind Cumulus and Meteobridge.
I'll get in touch here if it works.
Merci.
Greeting
Daniel

webcam
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed 11 Nov 2015 7:50 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Win10
Location: Brienz

Re: Meteobridge / CumulusMX

Post by webcam »

Hello,
times I loaded CumulusMX onto the Windows PC for testing. Unfortunately I cannot get a connection to Meteobridge.
What am I doing wrong?
Greeting
Daniel

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 7024
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Meteobridge / CumulusMX

Post by mcrossley »

I'm not familiar with the meteobridge, but is anything else connected to it? It will probably only support one connection at a time.

You have selected the station as Davis VP2, and the Davis connection type as IP, and entered the correct IP address?

You then restarted Cumulus?

webcam
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed 11 Nov 2015 7:50 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Win10
Location: Brienz

Re: Meteobridge / CumulusMX

Post by webcam »

Hello,
so my weather station is a Lufft WS700UMB.
Meteobridge only reads this station. Nothing is connected anymore. If I specify the Davis Cumulus crashes and can no longer be started. (see picture) With the Weather Display software, it works via the IP and port 22222 from Meteobridge.
Greeting
Daniel
cumulus.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 7024
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Meteobridge / CumulusMX

Post by mcrossley »

Zip up your MXdiags folder and post it here please.

webcam
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed 11 Nov 2015 7:50 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Win10
Location: Brienz

Re: Meteobridge / CumulusMX

Post by webcam »

Hello in the attachment times the file.
As I understand it, Meteobridge denies access.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 7024
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Meteobridge / CumulusMX

Post by mcrossley »

Yes, the Meteobridge is refusing the connection for some reason. If nobody here has any ideas I'd ask for help on the cause of this over on the Meteobridge forum

webcam
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed 11 Nov 2015 7:50 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Win10
Location: Brienz

Re: Meteobridge / CumulusMX

Post by webcam »

With the software Weather-Display I still have to enter the user and the password and then the data comes cleanly to Weather-Display. Now wait until my Rasperry PI comes, maybe it will work with this one.
Greeting
Daniel

philpugh
Posts: 136
Joined: Tue 24 May 2011 8:34 am
Weather Station: DAVIS VantageVue
Operating System: Debian 10 (Buster)
Location: Antrobus, Cheshire
Contact:

Re: Meteobridge / CumulusMX

Post by philpugh »

I have use Meteobridge with my Davis VantageVue I was using a TL3020 router and it worked well with my CumulusMX-RaspberryPi for a while then the Meteobridge updated to V4.2 and the connection wasn't reliable so I 'fixed' it at V4.1 (an option in the Meteobrisge setup). Support for the DIY meteobridge software is not what it was as they are concentrating on their own platform.

I have since removed the Meteobridge from the loop and gone back to direct connection to the VantageVue.

When your Pi arrives I would suggest tring the direct connection first - it will be easier to fix any issues via this forum for one thing!

Good luck
Phil Pugh
Davis Vantage Vue Raspberry Pi 3A Debian Buster
http://goosegate.uk/

webcam
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed 11 Nov 2015 7:50 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Win10
Location: Brienz

Re: Meteobridge / CumulusMX

Post by webcam »

Hello, Cumulus runs on the PI. Unfortunately it doesn't run together with Meteobrige. (See attachement)
Have to find another solution. A pity....
Greeting
Daniel
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 7024
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Meteobridge / CumulusMX

Post by mcrossley »

I don't understand when you say you have to put in a username and password when connecting to port 22222 with WD. There should not be any authentication required. Indeed there is no protocol for it defined afaik.

webcam
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed 11 Nov 2015 7:50 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Win10
Location: Brienz

Re: Meteobridge / CumulusMX

Post by webcam »

Hello, yes, I also find it strange that it doesn't work.
I really tried everything.
And with WeatherDisplay it looks and works.
Will try again next week.
Greeting
Daniel
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 7024
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Meteobridge / CumulusMX

Post by mcrossley »

You will need to disable the username/password requirement on port 22222 for your meteobridge to work with Cumulus.
I have never heard of this requirement for a username/password before, it is supposed to be emulating a Davis WLIP which does not require authentication.

Post Reply