Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.9.1 (build 3096) - 31 October 2020 (please see announcement regarding releases since 3.5.0)
Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of the NOAA report and Snow Index drop-down menus to 2030)

Use this Wiki link to Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items).

Davis VP2 wind speed

From build 3044 the development baton passed to Mark Crossley. Mark has been responsible for all the Builds since. He has made the code available on GitHub. It is Mark's hope that others will join in this development, but at the very least he welcomes your ideas for future developments (see Cumulus MX Development suggestions).

Moderator: mcrossley

Post Reply
TXRweather
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun 31 Jul 2016 3:19 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage PRO 2
Operating System: OS X Catalina V.10.15.6
Location: Lebanon TN.

Davis VP2 wind speed

Post by TXRweather »

Quick question: In looking at the wind speed on the Admin Interface, my wind speed on the gauges only registers as a whole digit. It shows a decimal point with a zero after it, but the zero never changes state to something greater than zero. My PWS is a Davis VP2, running firmware version 3.80. I am running Cumulus MX 3.8.3 b3093. Is this a capability limitation of the Davis station not being able to display 1 digit to the right of the decimal point or this a limitation of the CumulusMX software? Or....am I missing something in the INI setup that would allow a decimal point reading on the gauge in the Admin Interface?

I added the 2 lines into the INI file to allow a 0, 1 or 2 place reading and I am seeing that reflected in the tables.

TXRweather
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun 31 Jul 2016 3:19 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage PRO 2
Operating System: OS X Catalina V.10.15.6
Location: Lebanon TN.

Re: Davis VP2 wind speed

Post by TXRweather »

Never mind..... :groan: Think I answered my own question by searching back through the threads. Although, the Davis manual does show in one of it's graphics in the user manual, the anemometer displaying in tenths of a mile per hour, which led me to ask the question in the first place. Must have been something on their punchlist when it was on the drawing board that never got implemented......
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 7141
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Davis VP2 wind speed

Post by mcrossley »

Yep, VP2 only reports whole mph for all wind speeds. The WLL reports whole mph for the current reading (that's what the ISS sends), but does use tenths for averages.

Post Reply