Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.9.6 (build 3101) - 20 January 2021 (please see announcement regarding releases since 3.5.0)
Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of the NOAA report and Snow Index drop-down menus to 2030)

Use this Wiki link to Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items).

Moonfusion

From build 3044 the development baton passed to Mark Crossley. Mark has been responsible for all the Builds since. He has made the code available on GitHub. It is Mark's hope that others will join in this development, but at the very least he welcomes your ideas for future developments (see Cumulus MX Development suggestions).

Moderator: mcrossley

Vegit8
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri 27 Sep 2013 2:11 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Win 10
Location: Somerset
Contact:

Moonfusion

Post by Vegit8 »

I manage 2 sites 1 is my own and the other belongs to a friend, we are separated by about 3 miles as the crow flies.

Recently I have noticed an oddity with the moon images on each site.
This is his https://www.charlesdowding.co.uk/weather/index.htm
and this is mine http://www.geoffwebber.co.uk/weather/index.htm
Both sites are identical in terms of design and setup.
I have checked settings in the local Dashboard pages and they are the same

I have checked both FTP sites and the date time stamps are the same for both files.

So.. if anyone has an idea I would love to hear it.

PS I think my version is actually the correct one.
Last edited by Vegit8 on Mon 08 Jun 2020 1:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

freddie
Posts: 1048
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2011 11:19 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Operating System: GNU/Linux Ubuntu 20.04 LXC
Location: Alcaston, Shropshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Moonfusion

Post by freddie »

I get access denied when clicking on the first link.
Freddie
Image

Vegit8
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri 27 Sep 2013 2:11 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Win 10
Location: Somerset
Contact:

Re: Moonfusion

Post by Vegit8 »

Updated the links - so they point at the page not the image..

freddie
Posts: 1048
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2011 11:19 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Operating System: GNU/Linux Ubuntu 20.04 LXC
Location: Alcaston, Shropshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Moonfusion

Post by freddie »

It really doesn't like me - I still get the same message:

Code: Select all

Error 1020 Ray ID: 5a03022c7e3c0736 • 2020-06-08 13:37:36 UTC
Access denied
What happened?
This website is using a security service to protect itself from online attacks.

Cloudflare Ray ID: 5a03022c7e3c0736
Your IP: 2001:470:1f09:45e:a05f:9a32:e09a:7c59
Performance & security by Cloudflare
Freddie
Image

Vegit8
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri 27 Sep 2013 2:11 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Win 10
Location: Somerset
Contact:

Re: Moonfusion

Post by Vegit8 »

Hmm - odd
Can you get to it by going to the Charles Dowding site (via a search perhaps) and then navigate down via the 'Learn' menu, then Weather Now

User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 2403
Joined: Sun 28 Sep 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2+ Cumulus1 / CummulusMX
Operating System: Windows8 / Windows10
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: Moonfusion

Post by PaulMy »

I can see both sites, and the moon images look the same to me. One is VP2 3-min interval and the other WLL 5-minute.

Enjoy,
Paul

freddie
Posts: 1048
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2011 11:19 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Operating System: GNU/Linux Ubuntu 20.04 LXC
Location: Alcaston, Shropshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Moonfusion

Post by freddie »

Vegit8 wrote:
Mon 08 Jun 2020 2:02 pm
Hmm - odd
Can you get to it by going to the Charles Dowding site (via a search perhaps) and then navigate down via the 'Learn' menu, then Weather Now
I have logged on to my work computer and can access the web sites just fine. I don't think the charlesdowding site likes requests that come in from IPv6 addresses.

The moon images look completely different to me - this is what I see:

Ditcheat:
ditcheat.png
Homeacres:
homeacres.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Freddie
Image

User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 3100
Joined: Tue 09 Dec 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: W10 - Threadripper 16core, etc
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: Moonfusion

Post by beteljuice »

@freddie

I just looked at the same time as you and both images look like the first capture !

Lately I have noticed a problem with another site, where somewhere the image is being cached, (a .txt file had the same problem ?)
Doing <cntl><f5> makes no difference (I use FF browser)

I think we are going to have to start to put no cache instructions in the header, and maybe even put in cache buster code :(
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !

User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 2403
Joined: Sun 28 Sep 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2+ Cumulus1 / CummulusMX
Operating System: Windows8 / Windows10
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: Moonfusion

Post by PaulMy »

Yes that top image is what I see on both.
As beteljuice says, a cache issue!

I have a serious problem with cached pages when I try to try to see updated pages after updates such as cumulusutils and wBox pages. I've got 2 computers going with 3 browsers on each just so I can find one that shows the updated page :bash:

Enjoy,
Paul

Mapantz
Posts: 902
Joined: Sat 17 Dec 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64
Location: Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: Moonfusion

Post by Mapantz »

I see two different images. The homeacres one is incorrect. It doesn't look like a caching issue, just that the image hasn't been updated their end.

Funnily enough, when Mark implemented the new moon icon update, I started getting problems with it caching and not updating properly - the only image on my site not to do so.

I just did this:

Code: Select all

<img src="images/moon.png?t=<?php echo time();?>" 
And it solved my problem.
Image

User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 2403
Joined: Sun 28 Sep 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2+ Cumulus1 / CummulusMX
Operating System: Windows8 / Windows10
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: Moonfusion

Post by PaulMy »

I still see two similar images, the same as the first one shown in the post:
Homeacres Weather as at 19:20 on 08 June 2020
Ditcheat Weather as at 19:21 on 08 June 2020
the same as it was a few hours ago.

Enjoy,
Paul

Mapantz
Posts: 902
Joined: Sat 17 Dec 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64
Location: Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: Moonfusion

Post by Mapantz »

I just tested via a 4G connection and several TOR connections, all show two different images.

There may be a problem with your ISP's DNS cache. They're supposed to refresh after a short period of time, but many worldwide take hours or even days to refresh.
Image

User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 3100
Joined: Tue 09 Dec 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: W10 - Threadripper 16core, etc
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: Moonfusion

Post by beteljuice »

Just had a revisit ..

The first one appeared 'stuck', but putting the image url directly into my browser and then adding ?g1bber1sh gave a new image, but revisiting the original url still no change.

Second site seems to update OK.

I'm a bit concerned that this seems to be happening (to me anyway) in the last month.
Where is it happening, and can we stop it (as I said before, it's not just png, I've had with txt files as well)
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 7549
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Moonfusion

Post by mcrossley »

More and more ISP's are using Cloudflare to do their caching for them. Cloudflare is not without it's occasional hiccups like this. One of the other weather forums had problems with different users around the world seeing the latest forum software updates, others not - it was Cloudflare caching the old site on some gateways.

Not saying it is a Cloudflare issue in this case, but it's possible.

User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 3100
Joined: Tue 09 Dec 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: W10 - Threadripper 16core, etc
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: Moonfusion

Post by beteljuice »

Not saying it is a Cloudflare issue in this case, but it's possible.
Ahh .. a third party in the middle would make sense. An image cached just because somebody viewed, not necessarily you, and depending which 'gateway' you came in would determine which 'version' you saw.

I always thought it was a bad idea, way back in the dawn of time when M$ wanted everything working to them, not personal PCs.
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !

Post Reply