Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.6.5 (build 3081) - 28 May 2020 (please see important announcement regarding releases since 3.5.0)
Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of the NOAA report and Snow Index drop-down menus to 2030)

See the Wiki to download the software or click on the Downloads link in the Forum Banner.

Cumulus unable to upload to website

From build 3044 the development baton passed to Mark Crossley. Mark has been responsible for all the Builds since. He has made the code available on GitHub. It is Mark's hope that others will join in this development, but at the very least he welcomes your ideas for future developments (see Cumulus MX Development suggestions).

Moderator: mcrossley

User avatar
john09cw
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun 03 Jan 2010 9:35 am
Weather Station: Maplin N96GY
Operating System: Raspberry Pi/Raspbian
Location: Clifton, Penrith, Cumbria
Contact:

Cumulus unable to upload to website

Post by john09cw »

Hi All,
I've been using Cumulus for 10 years now with hardly any issues i couldn't work out, but this one has me stumped, since the 18th December MX been unable to to upload to my website, i haven't changed anything, I enabled ftp logging, and I've attached the part what I think the problem is, but can anyone explain how i FTP using TLS.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
john09cw
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun 03 Jan 2010 9:35 am
Weather Station: Maplin N96GY
Operating System: Raspberry Pi/Raspbian
Location: Clifton, Penrith, Cumbria
Contact:

Re: Cumulus unable to upload to website

Post by john09cw »

Ok, so MX is giving an error at the cmd window asking me to post the MX diags folder, so here we go.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

water01
Posts: 1880
Joined: Sat 13 Aug 2011 9:33 am
Weather Station: WH1081
Operating System: Windows 10 64bit
Location: Burnham-on-Sea
Contact:

Re: Cumulus unable to upload to website

Post by water01 »

Looks like your ISP has changed their FTP server to only use TLS connections, hence why it is saying "Please reconnect using TLS security mechanisms" and then "Sorry, cleartext sessions and Weak Ciphers are not accepted on this server".
David
Image

User avatar
john09cw
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun 03 Jan 2010 9:35 am
Weather Station: Maplin N96GY
Operating System: Raspberry Pi/Raspbian
Location: Clifton, Penrith, Cumbria
Contact:

Re: Cumulus unable to upload to website

Post by john09cw »

Is there any way to get MX to upload using TLS?

RichK_Northwich
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat 21 Dec 2019 10:44 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Cumulus unable to upload to website

Post by RichK_Northwich »

John - Are you by any chance hosted with TSOHosting? They switched to SFTP only on 18/12/2019, and I'm currently going through the agony of getting it re-connected.
I've had medium success. Only realtime.txt is causing problems now.
Cheers, Richard

User avatar
john09cw
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun 03 Jan 2010 9:35 am
Weather Station: Maplin N96GY
Operating System: Raspberry Pi/Raspbian
Location: Clifton, Penrith, Cumbria
Contact:

Re: Cumulus unable to upload to website

Post by john09cw »

Thanks Richard, in am indeed with TSOHosting, what have you been doing to get up and running again?

RichK_Northwich
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat 21 Dec 2019 10:44 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Cumulus unable to upload to website

Post by RichK_Northwich »

Cursing their appalling tech support mostly... :)

FTP works from CumulusMX, so I've used Bitvise as an ftp bridge to do SFTP with TSOHosting, but pass on the FTP requests from MX.
https://www.bitvise.com/ftp-bridge

Key thing is TSO are using a non-standard SFTP port. Normal port is 22 for SFTP. TSO are using 2510.

So I set up following the instructions on that FTP bridge page, but on the Login panel use port 2510. Use your cpanel login, as I've found other created logins dont have the necessary privs.

In CumulusMX, set the address to 127.0.0.1, which is effectively your own computer.
In CumulusMX, set up with cpanel user/password. Again, I had permission issues when I didnt. The FTP bridge webpage instructions arent clear on this.

Your directory will be somewhere under public_html\.... Put this in Bitvise on the Services SFTP start directory. I configured a different port than 21 for the bridge settings.

Login on Bitvise. You should see it say connected. If you dont want the terminal or SFTP user interfaces (only really useful during debugging) then uncheck Open Terminal and Open SFTP in the Options\OnLogin panel.

To make best use of the Bitvise SFTP, I have set the Initial Directory to /home/<username>/public_html/<website path>

Start Bitvise first, then trigger an FTP Now. You should see activity in the Bitvise panel, and in your ftplog.txt file. Should give you plenty of debug info.

I'm still trying to work out how to send realtime.txt. It doesnt seem to be getting generated!

Hope that helps.
Richard

Bridger
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri 01 Jun 2012 4:58 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows XP Pro
Location: New Forest. UK
Contact:

Re: Cumulus unable to upload to website

Post by Bridger »

My site is also with tsoHost an stopped uploading on 18/12/19 due to the change to FTPS (without any notification!).
I was facing a double whammy of running Cumulus 1 on an old laptop running XP.
I have now got MX running on a Model B Raspberry Pi thanks to ExperiMentor's excellent instructions.
I am trying to upload the basic website but seem to have run into the same FTP problems mentioned above.

User avatar
john09cw
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun 03 Jan 2010 9:35 am
Weather Station: Maplin N96GY
Operating System: Raspberry Pi/Raspbian
Location: Clifton, Penrith, Cumbria
Contact:

Re: Cumulus unable to upload to website

Post by john09cw »

Thanks for that Richard,
Unfortunately I'm using Raspberry Pi not windows, don't know whether bitvise will work on linux :bash:

RichK_Northwich
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat 21 Dec 2019 10:44 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Cumulus unable to upload to website

Post by RichK_Northwich »

Hi Bridger.
Try port 2510. It seems to work better than 22. 21 is for old FTP and FTPS which TSO dont support.

Bridger
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri 01 Jun 2012 4:58 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows XP Pro
Location: New Forest. UK
Contact:

Re: Cumulus unable to upload to website

Post by Bridger »

Thanks Richard, Do I need to tick the setting "Use SSL for FTP(FTPS)"?

RichK_Northwich
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat 21 Dec 2019 10:44 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Cumulus unable to upload to website

Post by RichK_Northwich »

Nope. FTPS is not supported by TSO. So, you'll have to find a way to have an FTP->SFTP bridge on your Pi, with an SSH client that does the connecting to TSO.

No idea what is available on Linux, or a Pi.

Bridger
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri 01 Jun 2012 4:58 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows XP Pro
Location: New Forest. UK
Contact:

Re: Cumulus unable to upload to website

Post by Bridger »

Bridger wrote:
Sat 21 Dec 2019 5:21 pm
My site is also with tsoHost an stopped uploading on 18/12/19 due to the change to FTPS (without any notification!).
I was facing a double whammy of running Cumulus 1 on an old laptop running XP.
I have now got MX running on a Model B Raspberry Pi thanks to ExperiMentor's excellent instructions.
I am trying to upload the basic website but seem to have run into the same FTP problems mentioned above.
I have been doing a lot of searching about how to get Cumulus MX, now running on a raspberry Pi, to load to my website now that TShost has discontinued FTP and doesn't support FTPS. I have not had much success.
My options seem to be,
1. Find a solution to SFTP to TShost from the raspberry Pi - beyond my knowledge.
2. Move to a new Windows 10 machine and use Bitvise, as recommended by Richard. This would allow me to continue with Cumulus 1
3. Move to Windows 10 and change webhost - some hosts seem to provide FTPS for Windows but only SFTP for LINUX - and stay with MX.

Any advice would be welcome.
This request may reveal my lack of knowledge on the subject!

Peter

User avatar
john09cw
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun 03 Jan 2010 9:35 am
Weather Station: Maplin N96GY
Operating System: Raspberry Pi/Raspbian
Location: Clifton, Penrith, Cumbria
Contact:

Re: Cumulus unable to upload to website

Post by john09cw »

I've had a reply from TSOHosting support, Apparently they DO support FTPS, but when connecting we have to "Always trust this certificate in this session", which is something I've seen in Filezilla, but not sure if a way to trust a certificate is in MX. Also the FTP Client must support TLS 1.2, i assume MX is the FTP Client, so can anyone tell me if it does support TLS 1.2?

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 6467
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Cumulus unable to upload to website

Post by mcrossley »

MX does support TLS 1.2 using FTPS by default.

Blindly accepting a certificate is almost as bad as not using encryption at all - you have no idea who you are talking to!
If their certificate is not publicly verifiable (why wouldn't it be?), then I think your only option is to grab their certificate and add in to your trusted hosts certificate store.
I don't want to let MX accept any old untrusted certificate.

Post Reply