Welcome to the new home of the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3044 7 December 2018. See the Wiki for download

Windows 8

Discussion and questions about Cumulus weather station software version 1. This section and its subforums are the main place to get help with Cumulus. Anything which is not specific to the type of weather station goes in here; for anything specific to a type of weather station, please use the appropriate subforum. Use the 'website development' section for any questions relating to creating or running a web site for Cumulus data. Discussion of the stations themselves in these sections is fine.

Will you be running Cumulus on Windows 8?

Yes, definitely
102
43%
No, definitely not
102
43%
I'm undecided
34
14%
 
Total votes: 238

Cambium
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed 03 Aug 2011 11:19 pm
Weather Station: EasyWeather
Operating System: Windows10
Location: Coastal CT, USA
Contact:

Re: Windows 8

Post by Cambium » Mon 28 Jul 2014 2:24 am

Just wanted to add that I had bought a new laptop with Windows8 and returned it the next day. Horrible OS!

So since all new PCs had Windows8 I decided to just reinstall new Windows7 on the laptop that dropped and damaged the hard-drive. It's worth the $50 and living with an old computer.

NZian
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue 02 Oct 2012 6:05 am
Weather Station: fineoffset clone
Operating System: W7/64
Location: Taranaki, NZ

Re: Windows 8

Post by NZian » Sun 02 Nov 2014 8:43 pm

Have had on W7 and then W8, worked fine.
Now trying to get back onto a low power netbook W7. Hiccups at present.
Hence undecided.
Ian

User avatar
GlueGuy2
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri 16 Jan 2015 5:39 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 8.1
Location: US - California

Re: Windows 8

Post by GlueGuy2 » Fri 16 Jan 2015 5:47 pm

I had to replace my old computer running Windows 7. There was no choice but to get Windows 8.1, so I am stuck.

I am currently using Cumulus 1.9.0 build 958 (hey, if it ain't broke, etc.).

Cumulus seems to run fine, and I copied the cumulus.ini file to the new program directory. BUT... It seems to have lost all my weather history from the last 4 years. This is a major bummer!

Is there a way to fix this problem? I am hesitant to upgrade cumulus, and the old log files are still there....

thanks for any help!

bp
bp

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26714
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Windows 8

Post by steve » Fri 16 Jan 2015 6:34 pm

I assume you did copy the data folder as well as Cumulus.ini? If so, your Windows format settings are probably different from what they were on the old system. But I'm sorry, I can't support a five year old version of Cumulus.
Steve

User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 1730
Joined: Sun 28 Sep 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2+ w/Envoy USB
Operating System: Windows-8
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: Windows 8

Post by PaulMy » Fri 16 Jan 2015 6:58 pm

Do a backup, as you should always do when updating, and just upgrade. I can appreciate your hesitation but it is usually painless, and you'll love the changes since 1.9.0. Make sure your new install is in C:\Cumulus even if you need to do a new install and copy over the \data folder and your cumulus.ini from existing.

Good luck,
Paul

User avatar
GlueGuy2
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri 16 Jan 2015 5:39 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 8.1
Location: US - California

Re: Windows 8

Post by GlueGuy2 » Fri 16 Jan 2015 7:18 pm

I assume you did copy the data folder as well as Cumulus.ini? If so, your Windows format settings are probably different from what they were on the old system. But I'm sorry, I can't support a five year old version of Cumulus.
I copied the entire folder /Program Files (x86)/cumulus/*, including subfolders.

Where things are stored beyond that is a mystery to me, but I will check that after I get this machine running.

MS updates installed, and failed, so now it is busy rolling back Windows.

This is not a fun exercise.
bp

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26714
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Windows 8

Post by steve » Fri 16 Jan 2015 7:22 pm

Having it under Program Files may well be the cause of the problem. The data doesn't get stored where Cumulus thinks it is stored.
Steve

User avatar
GlueGuy2
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri 16 Jan 2015 5:39 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 8.1
Location: US - California

Re: Windows 8

Post by GlueGuy2 » Fri 16 Jan 2015 7:39 pm

steve wrote:Having it under Program Files may well be the cause of the problem. The data doesn't get stored where Cumulus thinks it is stored.
i gather that. I just put it where it wanted to default. Do I need to copy cumulus somewhere else (e.g. AppData)?

Actually, cumulus seems to be in several places now:
  • <user>/AppData/Local/VirtualStore/Program Files (x86)/cumulus
  • <user>/AppData/Roaming/Microsoft/Windows/Recent Items
  • C:/Program Files (x86)/cumulus
The cumulus/data file is there. If I pull up the select-a-graph it will show historical data, but it does not show in the all time records display.
Last edited by GlueGuy2 on Fri 16 Jan 2015 7:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
bp

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26714
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Windows 8

Post by steve » Fri 16 Jan 2015 7:44 pm

You can put it pretty much anywhere outside the program files stuff. C:\Cumulus keeps it simple. The all-time records are in alltime.ini. At least, they are now. I changed it as some point, I can't remember when. The later code converts from the old file.
Steve

User avatar
GlueGuy2
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri 16 Jan 2015 5:39 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 8.1
Location: US - California

Re: Windows 8

Post by GlueGuy2 » Fri 16 Jan 2015 7:50 pm

steve wrote:You can put it pretty much anywhere outside the program files stuff. C:\Cumulus keeps it simple. The all-time records are in alltime.ini. At least, they are now. I changed it as some point, I can't remember when. The later code converts from the old file.
Do I need to upgrade in sequence, or can I just install the current version?
bp

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26714
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Windows 8

Post by steve » Fri 16 Jan 2015 7:54 pm

You can just install the current version.
Steve

User avatar
GlueGuy2
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri 16 Jan 2015 5:39 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 8.1
Location: US - California

Re: Windows 8

Post by GlueGuy2 » Fri 16 Jan 2015 7:56 pm

I copied the subfolders to <user>\AppData\Local\VirtualStore\Program Files (x86)\Cumulus

and it found all its data. Thanks!

Guess I should put another nickel in the meter. Last time I donated to cumulus is when I installed 1.9.0.
bp

anabatic
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat 26 Nov 2011 9:29 am
Weather Station: Fineoffset
Operating System: Windows XP Pro 64-bit
Location: Burray, Orkney

Re: Windows 8

Post by anabatic » Wed 21 Jan 2015 11:09 am

I built a new PC last weekend after my last home built PC died after 10 years of good service.

I decided to take the plunge and I have installed Windows 8.1 Pro (64-bit). So far Cumulus seems to be running without any issues.

I've not tried linking it to my twitter feed or Wunderground page yet, as I'm waiting for a window in the weather to get outside and replace the broken wind speed sensor before I start uploading weather data to the world :)
It's only a breeze until the windspeed gets into 3-figures then it's windy.

Lonski
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon 06 Jan 2014 2:08 am
Weather Station: Oregon Scientific WMR-968
Operating System: Windows Server 2012R2
Location: Brisbane Australia

Re: Windows 8

Post by Lonski » Fri 23 Jan 2015 3:28 am

Mine runs on Server 2012R2, I guess that's kind of W@indows 8.1-ish. Works fine.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26714
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Windows 8

Post by steve » Fri 23 Jan 2015 10:24 am

Time to start a similar thread about Winds 10 soon, I guess...
Steve

Locked