Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release v3.2.4 build 3060 - 10 December 2019.
    Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014

    See the Wiki for downloading either version.

    Data Errors

    Discussion and questions about Cumulus weather station software version 1. This section and its subforums are the main place to get help with Cumulus. Anything which is not specific to the type of weather station goes in here; for anything specific to a type of weather station, please use the appropriate subforum. Use the 'website development' section for any questions relating to creating or running a web site for Cumulus data. Discussion of the stations themselves in these sections is fine.
    RayProudfoot
    Posts: 2714
    Joined: Wed 06 May 2009 6:29 pm
    Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
    Operating System: Windows XP SP3
    Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
    Contact:

    Re: Data Errors

    Post by RayProudfoot » Thu 14 Nov 2019 1:49 pm

    Altocumulus, did you stop Cumulus when you edited dayfile.txt?
    Cheers,
    Ray, Cheshire.

    Image

    User avatar
    PaulMy
    Posts: 2009
    Joined: Sun 28 Sep 2008 11:54 pm
    Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2+ w/Envoy USB
    Operating System: Windows-8
    Location: Komoka, ON Canada
    Contact:

    Re: Data Errors

    Post by PaulMy » Thu 14 Nov 2019 3:16 pm

    daytime file easy enough to alter (not through the editor, though, there's no OK save button!).
    Cumulus 1 Edit Dayfile.txt does have an [OK] button to accept the changes and also a Create missing, but CumulusMX does not have the Dayfile editor so would need to be done manually - and use notepad++ instead of notepad.
    t wouldn't be too bad if I could run both side-by-side so that if the MX gets upset at least I won;t have lost any data :D. VP is an option, but that's another set of steps!

    I suppose at the worst one could lose a few hours of data if one had to revert back.....
    the \data folder files are fully compatible between Cumulus 1 and CumulusMX. You could run Cumulus 1 and edit dayfile.txt and then move the edited file to CumulusMX. Not ideal, but works.

    Or, you can stop Cumulus 1, run CumulusMX for a while then stop it, and go back to Cumulus 1 which will then download the data from the logger since the last run of Cumulus 1 and be current and up to date. Then stopping Cumulus 1 you can run CumulusMX again and it will get the data logger data since last run of CumulusMX - each is independent from the other.

    With a few exceptions the settings in Cumulus 1 cumulus.ini and CumulusMX Cumulus.ini are compatible and interchangeable (with renaming from cumulus.ini to Cumulus.ini)

    Just to be up front, I have Davis VP2 Plus, 2 consoles - Envoy and Vue, and two loggers - Davis USB and third-party WiFiLogger, so can run 2 programs or 2 versions of Cumulus at the same time. I have continued to use Cumulus 1 with the Envoy/USB and upload to my websites. I use CumulusMX with Vue console/WiFilogger for testing both WiFiLogger and CumulusMX www.komokaweather.com/cumulusmx. The ability to interchange data files between the Cumulus versions has been a reassuring benefit.

    If I had to choose one only I'd now pick CumulusMX as it is actively being updated - Windy, WL Live, built-in ss-gauges, easier extra web files FTP, and built-in Weathercloud, and as recently posted by Mark also adding Ecowitt GW1000 (Fine-Offset WiFi) as compatible station.

    Enjoy,
    Paul

    Altocumulus
    Posts: 86
    Joined: Sat 18 May 2013 1:58 pm
    Weather Station: Davis pro vue+
    Operating System: Windows 10 Home
    Location: NE Scotland

    Re: Data Errors

    Post by Altocumulus » Thu 14 Nov 2019 4:15 pm

    Hi Ray - Indeed.

    Hi Paul, if it does contain an OK button I could not find it - mind the editor leaves a lot to be desired - especially as Cumulus continually pauses as it updates.

    But your suggestion on toggling makes sense, thank you. How much, time-wise, is contained within the buffer for update?

    ExperiMentor
    Posts: 130
    Joined: Tue 24 Nov 2015 11:30 pm
    Weather Station: Fine Offset & Davis Vantage Vue
    Operating System: Windows 10; Raspbian Buster
    Location: Switzerland

    Re: Data Errors

    Post by ExperiMentor » Fri 15 Nov 2019 9:45 pm

    Altocumulus wrote:
    Thu 14 Nov 2019 9:18 am
    It wouldn't be too bad if I could run both side-by-side so that if the MX gets upset at least I won;t have lost any data :D. VP is an option, but that's another set of steps!

    I suppose at the worst one could lose a few hours of data if one had to revert back..... :lol:
    My simple Maplin weather station logs more than a month of 10-minute-apart data. So as long as I run each of Cumulus 1 or CumulusMX at least once a month, each will get all the data, without any loss. That's because each program looks in the log for data it hasn't got; rather than the station 'being sure to send the data somewhere'.

    Altocumulus
    Posts: 86
    Joined: Sat 18 May 2013 1:58 pm
    Weather Station: Davis pro vue+
    Operating System: Windows 10 Home
    Location: NE Scotland

    Re: Data Errors

    Post by Altocumulus » Sat 16 Nov 2019 7:32 am

    Good to know, thank you....

    User avatar
    PaulMy
    Posts: 2009
    Joined: Sun 28 Sep 2008 11:54 pm
    Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2+ w/Envoy USB
    Operating System: Windows-8
    Location: Komoka, ON Canada
    Contact:

    Re: Data Errors

    Post by PaulMy » Sat 16 Nov 2019 2:48 pm

    Hi Paul, if it does contain an OK button I could not find it - mind the editor leaves a lot to be desired - especially as Cumulus continually pauses as it updates.
    c1-dayfileedit.png
    Perhaps your station with Cumulus behaves different and I don't have that continuous pause with the Davis.

    Enjoy,
    Paul
    You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

    Altocumulus
    Posts: 86
    Joined: Sat 18 May 2013 1:58 pm
    Weather Station: Davis pro vue+
    Operating System: Windows 10 Home
    Location: NE Scotland

    Re: Data Errors

    Post by Altocumulus » Sun 17 Nov 2019 7:35 am

    No worries Paul.

    It's odd, on previous occasions I've never been able to find the OK section when I've needed it.
    My start was in 2011, whilst you have data from 2008, but that's unlikely to have changed this edit section between builds. Odd indeed!

    I've mentioned the pause before and it was explained it's likely to be the program pausing while it creates data files.

    Thanks.....

    Altocumulus
    Posts: 86
    Joined: Sat 18 May 2013 1:58 pm
    Weather Station: Davis pro vue+
    Operating System: Windows 10 Home
    Location: NE Scotland

    Re: Data Errors

    Post by Altocumulus » Mon 18 Nov 2019 9:23 am

    I guess my unit is in need of a service!

    Last night at 00, 01 and 02 hrs, the temperature, again, was recorded at minus 67.8C!

    Oh Joy....

    RayProudfoot
    Posts: 2714
    Joined: Wed 06 May 2009 6:29 pm
    Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
    Operating System: Windows XP SP3
    Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
    Contact:

    Re: Data Errors

    Post by RayProudfoot » Mon 18 Nov 2019 9:50 am

    Replacement temperature / humidity sensor required I'm afraid.
    Cheers,
    Ray, Cheshire.

    Image

    Altocumulus
    Posts: 86
    Joined: Sat 18 May 2013 1:58 pm
    Weather Station: Davis pro vue+
    Operating System: Windows 10 Home
    Location: NE Scotland

    Re: Data Errors

    Post by Altocumulus » Mon 18 Nov 2019 10:50 am

    My thought, too Ray....

    Altocumulus
    Posts: 86
    Joined: Sat 18 May 2013 1:58 pm
    Weather Station: Davis pro vue+
    Operating System: Windows 10 Home
    Location: NE Scotland

    Re: Data Errors

    Post by Altocumulus » Wed 27 Nov 2019 7:40 am

    New Sensor.....

    Last night, for one observation, around 01:00; minimum temperature was -67.8C :groan:

    RayProudfoot
    Posts: 2714
    Joined: Wed 06 May 2009 6:29 pm
    Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
    Operating System: Windows XP SP3
    Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
    Contact:

    Re: Data Errors

    Post by RayProudfoot » Wed 27 Nov 2019 9:08 am

    It must be faulty. Can't think of any software reason why it would happen. Where did you buy it from? Definitely new?
    Cheers,
    Ray, Cheshire.

    Image

    Altocumulus
    Posts: 86
    Joined: Sat 18 May 2013 1:58 pm
    Weather Station: Davis pro vue+
    Operating System: Windows 10 Home
    Location: NE Scotland

    Re: Data Errors

    Post by Altocumulus » Wed 27 Nov 2019 9:24 am

    Hi Ray,

    Bought from Prodata, the company from where the unit came from originally. I'll see what they say about it.....

    RayProudfoot
    Posts: 2714
    Joined: Wed 06 May 2009 6:29 pm
    Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
    Operating System: Windows XP SP3
    Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
    Contact:

    Re: Data Errors

    Post by RayProudfoot » Wed 27 Nov 2019 9:39 am

    Same company where I bought mine from. Strange. They'll swap it I'm sure.
    Cheers,
    Ray, Cheshire.

    Image

    Altocumulus
    Posts: 86
    Joined: Sat 18 May 2013 1:58 pm
    Weather Station: Davis pro vue+
    Operating System: Windows 10 Home
    Location: NE Scotland

    Re: Data Errors

    Post by Altocumulus » Wed 27 Nov 2019 9:42 am

    Indeed, at least I hope they'll come up with a solution. Funny how it was for just one observation, and all these issues (old sensor and new) only started after I installed a fresh battery (they last 14 months).

    Post Reply