Welcome to the new home of the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release v3.0.0 build 3046 - 02 January 2019. See the Wiki for download

Gap in Weather Underground data upload

Discussion and questions about Cumulus weather station software version 1. This section and its subforums are the main place to get help with Cumulus. Anything which is not specific to the type of weather station goes in here; for anything specific to a type of weather station, please use the appropriate subforum. Use the 'website development' section for any questions relating to creating or running a web site for Cumulus data. Discussion of the stations themselves in these sections is fine.
Post Reply
barker_001
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon 29 Nov 2010 8:22 pm
Weather Station: Watson W-8681
Operating System: Windows 10

Gap in Weather Underground data upload

Post by barker_001 » Mon 07 Jan 2019 1:49 pm

Hi all,

Although I've been using Cumulus for almost 10 years, this is my first post to the Cumulus forum - I hope someone can help?

I've recently registered my station as a PWS on Weather Underground:

https://www.wunderground.com/personal-w ... =IRHONDDA2

Everything seems to be working, however each time Cumulus starts (normally when I switch my pc on for the first time each day), I end up with a 3 hour gap in the uploaded data (each end of the "gap" is highlighted in yellow):

Image

In this example, my W-8681 has been gathering data every 15 mins during the night. I turned my pc on at 10am, and the weather station uploaded its data to Cumulus V1.94 on the pc. Looking at the Cumulus daily log file, all the data is there, including that which should appear during the 3 hour gap. The "catch up" function of Cumulus is enabled, and the data log and upload intervals are both set at 15 minutes. Is there a setting in Cumulus (or Weather Underground) that I've missed, and would ensure that all the data, at the correct 15 min intervals, is uploaded? Is there a way of seeing exactly what Cumulus is sending to Weather Underground?

Thank you in advance for your advice,

Bryan

User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 1749
Joined: Sun 28 Sep 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2+ w/Envoy USB
Operating System: Windows-8
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: Gap in Weather Underground data upload

Post by PaulMy » Mon 07 Jan 2019 3:16 pm

Since your normal uploads are working then your settings must be correct.
Cumulus 1 starts with FTPlogging not active so it does not capture the initial processes, unless someone knows of a line that can be added to cumulus.ini before starting Cumulus.

The only thing I can suggest is to check your cumulus.ini and in the Weatherunderground section you have Catchup=1. It should be that way if you have it ticked in your WU settings, but just for verification.
[Wunderground]
ID=your ID
Password=yours
Enabled=1
RapidFire=1
Interval=5
SendUV=1
SendSR=1
SendAverage=0
CatchUp=1
SendIndoor=1
Enjoy,
Paul

barker_001
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon 29 Nov 2010 8:22 pm
Weather Station: Watson W-8681
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Gap in Weather Underground data upload

Post by barker_001 » Mon 07 Jan 2019 6:41 pm

Thanks for that Paul. Yes, CatchUp is set at 1 in my cumulus.ini:

[Wunderground]
ID=IRHONDDA2
Password=*********
Enabled=1
RapidFire=0
Interval=15
SendUV=0
SendSR=0
SendAverage=0
CatchUp=1
SendIndoor=0

The catchup indicator on the Cumulus display flashes for a few seconds after the program starts, presumably as the data is uploaded to Weather Underground. I can't understand why it just misses this 3 hour chunk every time though.

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 5314
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Stretch Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Gap in Weather Underground data upload

Post by mcrossley » Mon 07 Jan 2019 8:34 pm

Does the diags file show the catch-ups being uploaded to WU? I can't remember what C1 logs

freddie
Posts: 349
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2011 11:19 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Operating System: GNU/Linux (Ubuntu 18.04)
Location: Ystrad, Rhondda, Wales
Contact:

Re: Gap in Weather Underground data upload

Post by freddie » Mon 07 Jan 2019 10:23 pm

barker_001 wrote:
Mon 07 Jan 2019 1:49 pm
Hi all,

Although I've been using Cumulus for almost 10 years, this is my first post to the Cumulus forum - I hope someone can help?

I've recently registered my station as a PWS on Weather Underground:

https://www.wunderground.com/personal-w ... =IRHONDDA2
Hi Bryan,

Welcome to the forum. It's nice to have somebody else reporting from RCT - I'm just up the road in Ystrad Rhondda.

Regards,
Freddie
Image

barker_001
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon 29 Nov 2010 8:22 pm
Weather Station: Watson W-8681
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Gap in Weather Underground data upload

Post by barker_001 » Tue 08 Jan 2019 5:14 pm

freddie wrote:
Mon 07 Jan 2019 10:23 pm
Welcome to the forum. It's nice to have somebody else reporting from RCT - I'm just up the road in Ystrad Rhondda.
Thanks Freddie! I played in the Ystrad Rhondda Labour Club several times with my band a few years ago - happy days...

Mcrossley, my Cumulus diag file appears to show data being uploaded to Weather Underground. As an example, the following data refers to 9.08am yesterday, which was a set of readings taken within the "gap" period shown on the graphs:

07/01/2019 09:56:08.157 : 09:56:08 EWUSB: Processing history data for = 07/01/2019 09:08:56
07/01/2019 09:56:08.262 : Windrun: 0.7mph for 16 minutes = 0.2miles
07/01/2019 09:56:08.283 : Writing today.ini, LastUpdateTime = 07/01/2019 09:08:56 raindaystart = 4261.7998046875 rain counter = 4262.10009765625
07/01/2019 09:56:08.283 : Latest reading:
07/01/2019 09:56:08.284 : Rain last hour: 0.3
07/01/2019 09:56:08.284 : Creating WU URL #84
07/01/2019 09:56:08.284 : http://weatherstation.wunderground.com/ ... =updateraw

I can't immediately see anything wrong with this upload, compared with the earlier ones which were transferred successfully to the Wunderground graph.

Later in the file, the following messages appears to show that Wunderground has accepted the files:

07/01/2019 09:57:31.922 : Uploading Wunderground archive #84

07/01/2019 09:57:35.923 : Wunderground archive upload complete

barker_001
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon 29 Nov 2010 8:22 pm
Weather Station: Watson W-8681
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Gap in Weather Underground data upload

Post by barker_001 » Tue 08 Jan 2019 5:19 pm

Interestingly, I just copied and pasted the URL contained in the post above back into my web browser, having manually added my password. I had the message "success" returned.

The plot for 9.08am has been successfully added to my graph for yesterday (07/01/19).

So the data is there, it looks like Weather Underground is just not accepting it.

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 5314
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Stretch Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Gap in Weather Underground data upload

Post by mcrossley » Tue 08 Jan 2019 5:20 pm

Hmm, as you say it is constructing the URLs, submitting them to WU and getting a confirmation back. Sounds like a problem at the WU end.

There is lots of moaning on the WX forum about how unreliable/hit and miss the WU service has become. Wonder if they are not processing updates if they come in rapidly?

User avatar
ConligWX
Posts: 744
Joined: Mon 19 May 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
Operating System: MeteoBridge Nano SD
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: Gap in Weather Underground data upload

Post by ConligWX » Wed 09 Jan 2019 8:49 am

Hi Bryan

As long as you know your sending data, you cant really do much about it. I left WU since all I had for the last two years was issues with the data shown and the lack of customer support. I bit the bullet and left WU since it has become a joke and totally unreliable.

all other online services, WOW PWS, Weathercloud, CWOP etc, have run a service that is expected of them without issues.

Since IBM took over and removed most of WU's staff, its service is a failing big time and since complaining directly to them does nothing, its pointless using them.
Regards Simon

https://www.conligwx.org
https://twitter.com/conligwx
Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus - Meteobrige Nano SD + Saratoga Templates

RayProudfoot
Posts: 2644
Joined: Wed 06 May 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Gap in Weather Underground data upload

Post by RayProudfoot » Wed 09 Jan 2019 9:55 am

I've been uploading to WU for nearly 10 years now and although the service has worsened in recent times I've not had the problem of sending data. But I leave my computer running continuously with 15 minute updates.

Maybe the problem is with restarting the computer each morning. Why not leave it running 24/7? If it's a laptop then closing the lid turns off the screen. If it's a desktop then just turn off all power saving modes and turn the monitor off. My Samsung NC10 is nearly 10 years old now and just keeps running. No updates (it's XP) and it runs nothing else.

I've always worked on the principle that I'll get visitors through the night as well as during daylight hours. For them it's far more useful seeing current weather rather than that when the computer was turned off for the night.

Power consumed will be minimal too.
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image

Post Reply