Welcome to the new home of the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See the Wiki for download

Unresponsive

Discussion and questions about Cumulus weather station software version 1. This section and its subforums are the main place to get help with Cumulus. Anything which is not specific to the type of weather station goes in here; for anything specific to a type of weather station, please use the appropriate subforum. Use the 'website development' section for any questions relating to creating or running a web site for Cumulus data. Discussion of the stations themselves in these sections is fine.
Post Reply
Altocumulus
Posts: 50
Joined: Sat 18 May 2013 1:58 pm
Weather Station: Davis pro vue+
Operating System: Windows 10 Home
Location: NE Scotland

Unresponsive

Post by Altocumulus » Sun 11 Feb 2018 1:34 pm

Hi All.....

Just (finally) started making plans to upload data to a webpage. During this process I have set Cumulus up to copy relevant files through to a directory on the same PC.
Coincidentally I've started to notice the Cumulus Title change with an unresponsive error added. Is this a consequence of the processing being done to create relevant pages for a web upload? The unresponsiveness lasts for no longer than 5 seconds with the window shifting slightly when control re-established by Cumulus.

I am using standard images, and tags, onto my own template. Template starts as a txt file, renaming as php. (I use php to change CSS colours on negative temperatures, also a conversion of C to F for us 'older' folk :D)

Geoff

sfws
Posts: 461
Joined: Fri 27 Jul 2012 11:29 am
Weather Station: Customised mix of Fine Offset
Operating System: Tempermental Win. 10 PC
Location: UK

Re: Unresponsive

Post by sfws » Sun 11 Feb 2018 9:16 pm

Yes, the various processes in Cumulus 1 updating lots of images and then Copying them (or file transferring them) can make the main screen show that it is unresponsive. Based on my limited understanding of how Cumulus works, many of the default settings (e.g. use of 'realtime' updating) can involve several potentially simultaneous 'threads' that Steve uses for handling the various processes running in the background.

Altocumulus
Posts: 50
Joined: Sat 18 May 2013 1:58 pm
Weather Station: Davis pro vue+
Operating System: Windows 10 Home
Location: NE Scotland

Re: Unresponsive

Post by Altocumulus » Mon 12 Feb 2018 9:06 am

Thanks.
After switching off the process for web site part, there's no longer any non-responsive errors.
I did wonder if it was something else, but glad to see it confirmed as not just me!

Post Reply