Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release v3.2.3 build 3059 - 04 December 2019.
    Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014

    See the Wiki for downloading either version.

    Enter trace for rainfall

    Discussion and questions about Cumulus weather station software version 1. This section and its subforums are the main place to get help with Cumulus. Anything which is not specific to the type of weather station goes in here; for anything specific to a type of weather station, please use the appropriate subforum. Use the 'website development' section for any questions relating to creating or running a web site for Cumulus data. Discussion of the stations themselves in these sections is fine.
    Post Reply
    Red Raspberry
    Posts: 23
    Joined: Fri 07 Mar 2014 7:05 pm
    Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
    Operating System: Windows 7 Pro 64 bit
    Location: Ashkum, Illinois

    Enter trace for rainfall

    Post by Red Raspberry » Mon 18 Jan 2016 10:57 pm

    I'm part of the CoCoRHaS rainfall network. When entering my daily report they have a way to enter trace amounts of rain or snow, using T. It would be nice to be able to enter this too in Cumulus .

    User avatar
    PaulMy
    Posts: 2009
    Joined: Sun 28 Sep 2008 11:54 pm
    Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2+ w/Envoy USB
    Operating System: Windows-8
    Location: Komoka, ON Canada
    Contact:

    Re: Enter trace for rainfall

    Post by PaulMy » Tue 19 Jan 2016 1:12 am

    I use the "Current" field to get the previous 24 hours snowfall on my Cumulus template page, including 'Trace', and the "Weather Diary" for the snow "Lying, Depth and Falling" - if there is a trace of snow I leave the "Lying" and "Depth" un-ticked, and tick "Falling". However, I don't do anything manual in Cumulus for rain. I do keep a manual log of the CoCoRaHS daily precipitation reported and what the Davis/Cumulus shows.

    Paul

    User avatar
    steve
    Cumulus Author
    Posts: 26717
    Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
    Weather Station: None
    Operating System: None
    Location: Vienne, France
    Contact:

    Re: Enter trace for rainfall

    Post by steve » Tue 19 Jan 2016 8:30 am

    Cumulus isn't intended for manual observations, it's for reading and displaying data from an automatic weather station. I did add the manual entry of snow as an exception, because at the time I lived somewhere with significant snowfall, and occasionally I allow myself the luxury of adding something to Cumulus which I find useful myself.

    As Paul says, there are fields for entering text manually, such as the current conditions field, and the 'diary'.
    Steve

    Post Reply