Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release v3.4.0 (build 3064) - 19 February 2020.
    Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014

    See the Wiki for downloading either version.

    Wind Vane display in Watson 8681 solar

    Discussion and questions about Cumulus weather station software version 1. This section and its subforums are the main place to get help with Cumulus. Anything which is not specific to the type of weather station goes in here; for anything specific to a type of weather station, please use the appropriate subforum. Use the 'website development' section for any questions relating to creating or running a web site for Cumulus data. Discussion of the stations themselves in these sections is fine.
    Post Reply
    abarnett1934
    Posts: 47
    Joined: Mon 03 Aug 2009 2:04 pm
    Weather Station: Watson W-8681-Solar
    Operating System: Windows 10
    Location: Shropshire
    Contact:

    Wind Vane display in Watson 8681 solar

    Post by abarnett1934 » Sat 25 Apr 2015 5:39 pm

    When I visit the web pages of other Cumulus users, I notice that their wind direction graph shows a great deal more information than mine does. (Melrosecrescentweather.co.uk) Look under the heading of Graphs and you will see that my wind direction graph is a very patchy. The average wind speed does not always show. Do you think a new weather vane would improve my display of my wind direction graph or do you think my display is normal?
    Best wishes, Arthur

    User avatar
    steve
    Cumulus Author
    Posts: 26717
    Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
    Weather Station: None
    Operating System: None
    Location: Vienne, France
    Contact:

    Re: Wind Vane display in Watson 8681 solar

    Post by steve » Sat 25 Apr 2015 5:48 pm

    I've moved your post as I don't think it has anything to do with the SteelSeries gauges.

    Firstly, Fine Offset vanes do tend to 'flap around' a lot. The average calculated by Cumulus solves this to a certain extent.

    Secondly, it looks like you're not running Cumulus all the time. When running live, it plots an entry to the graph once a minute. When it starts up, it initialises the graphs from the log files. So the logger intervals that you have configured in Cumulus and in the logger have a bearing on how many points are plotted. It looks like you are using a long interval in one or both - 30 minutes, by the look of it.
    Steve

    Post Reply