Welcome to the new home of the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3044 7 December 2018. See the Wiki for download

Cumulus Support for Weathercloud

Discussion and questions about Cumulus weather station software version 1. This section and its subforums are the main place to get help with Cumulus. Anything which is not specific to the type of weather station goes in here; for anything specific to a type of weather station, please use the appropriate subforum. Use the 'website development' section for any questions relating to creating or running a web site for Cumulus data. Discussion of the stations themselves in these sections is fine.
User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26714
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Support for Weathercloud

Post by steve » Wed 11 Nov 2015 10:58 am

Note that this is now built in to Cumulus MX, for those using it.
Steve

User avatar
gluepack
Posts: 460
Joined: Tue 22 Jan 2013 9:20 pm
Weather Station: PCE-FWS 20
Operating System: Win 7 Pro
Location: Zlatina, Bulgaria

Re: Cumulus Support for Weathercloud

Post by gluepack » Tue 17 Nov 2015 10:11 pm

I notice that humidity is expressed in ºC, as opposed to % (at least, it is for my data).
Image

PWS links: WundergroundIVARNAPR3CWOP/APRSE(W)2048PWSWeatherZLATINABGAwekas10631Twitter@Zlatina_weather
Station type: PCE-FWS 20…Webcam link: View south to edge of Provadisko plateau

User avatar
gluepack
Posts: 460
Joined: Tue 22 Jan 2013 9:20 pm
Weather Station: PCE-FWS 20
Operating System: Win 7 Pro
Location: Zlatina, Bulgaria

Re: Cumulus Support for Weathercloud

Post by gluepack » Tue 17 Nov 2015 10:18 pm

Come to think of it, it looks like wind direction is expressed in km/h :)
Image

PWS links: WundergroundIVARNAPR3CWOP/APRSE(W)2048PWSWeatherZLATINABGAwekas10631Twitter@Zlatina_weather
Station type: PCE-FWS 20…Webcam link: View south to edge of Provadisko plateau

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26714
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Support for Weathercloud

Post by steve » Wed 18 Nov 2015 7:32 am

That seems to be a glitch on the 'your devices' page, they are displayed correctly elsewhere on the site.
Steve

User avatar
gluepack
Posts: 460
Joined: Tue 22 Jan 2013 9:20 pm
Weather Station: PCE-FWS 20
Operating System: Win 7 Pro
Location: Zlatina, Bulgaria

Re: Cumulus Support for Weathercloud

Post by gluepack » Wed 18 Nov 2015 11:12 am

They have reported to me on FB that the bug is fixed and it is.
Admittedly having only just joined them and having no clue as to how long they have been operating, it seems strange to me that I am the first person to have reported this.
Image

PWS links: WundergroundIVARNAPR3CWOP/APRSE(W)2048PWSWeatherZLATINABGAwekas10631Twitter@Zlatina_weather
Station type: PCE-FWS 20…Webcam link: View south to edge of Provadisko plateau

William Siqueira
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu 18 Dec 2014 12:05 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vue - Oregon Scientific
Operating System: XP - 7 - 8
Location: Maria da Fé - MG

Re: Cumulus Support for Weathercloud

Post by William Siqueira » Tue 29 Dec 2015 1:54 pm

I'm from Brazil, my cumulus reports correct pro wunder, however pro weathercloud it only reports the bizarre -17.8 ° C, not out of it, all the configurations are correct, already tried everything and does not work, please help me

These are the configuration files has an Error?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 1731
Joined: Sun 28 Sep 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2+ w/Envoy USB
Operating System: Windows-8
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Support for Weathercloud

Post by PaulMy » Wed 14 Dec 2016 4:26 am

After working perfect for a couple of years my Weathercloud quit working and I have been trying to get it going again. It appears the weathercloud.exe has been changed to 0 bytes. Then whenever I try to unzip the download from http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.p ... ud#p104663 it only unzips the readme file. Then noticed my Windows Defender was active and appears it stopped the unzip due to a Trojan: Win32/Zeltune.B!cl

I tried to unzip on another computer and the same unsuccessful.

I have now read this forum about this as a possible "false positive". Do you have any suggestion how I can get it to unzip fully, and is it safe?

Thanks,
Paul

User avatar
ConligWX
Posts: 736
Joined: Mon 19 May 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
Operating System: MeteoBridge Nano SD
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Support for Weathercloud

Post by ConligWX » Wed 14 Dec 2016 7:53 am

PaulMy wrote:I tried to unzip on another computer and the same unsuccessful.

I have now read this forum about this as a possible "false positive". Do you have any suggestion how I can get it to unzip fully, and is it safe?

Thanks,
Paul
Paul I tried to download that zip and got the following:
sophos.JPG
sophos1.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by ConligWX on Wed 14 Dec 2016 9:06 am, edited 1 time in total.
Regards Simon

https://www.conligwx.org
https://twitter.com/conligwx
Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus - Meteobrige Nano SD + Saratoga/PWS Templates

User avatar
pernaczy
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu 15 Nov 2012 5:42 pm
Weather Station: Fine Offset WH 2080, TFA Spring
Operating System: XP SP3
Location: Niesiolowice, Northern Poland
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Support for Weathercloud

Post by pernaczy » Wed 14 Dec 2016 9:05 am

I have downloaded this zip file with no problem. I'm using the newest version of "Bitdefender" antivirus software.
Piotr
The day when I have learned anything is not the lost one.

Image

User avatar
ConligWX
Posts: 736
Joined: Mon 19 May 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
Operating System: MeteoBridge Nano SD
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Support for Weathercloud

Post by ConligWX » Wed 14 Dec 2016 9:19 am

pernaczy wrote:I have downloaded this zip file with no problem. I'm using the newest version of "Bitdefender" antivirus software.
Piotr

just downloaded from another PC using McAfee Enterprise.
mcafee.PNG
3 different AV's from 3 different PCs and you think it is ok? good luck with that.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Regards Simon

https://www.conligwx.org
https://twitter.com/conligwx
Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus - Meteobrige Nano SD + Saratoga/PWS Templates

Adrian Hudson
Posts: 215
Joined: Mon 03 Jan 2011 4:27 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Win 7
Location: Willand, mid Devon.
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Support for Weathercloud

Post by Adrian Hudson » Thu 15 Dec 2016 9:48 am

Hello all.

I'm the author of this utility.

The program is written in a language called Autoit (https://www.autoitscript.com) which is very good but has the unfortunate problem that many antivirus programs flag programs written in it as viruses  (https://www.autoitscript.com/forum/topi ... -infected/). 

The issue with autoit seems to be that, while it is, as I say, very good, it is also very easy for people to write malicious applications with it. This means that other, non-malicous applications that are also written in Autoit are often flagged by antivirus packages. It seems to go in phases as you seem to be finding here. Suddenly, a program that has been working for ages is suddenly flagged as suspicious. What has happend is someone, somewhere has written a "virus" in Autoit and been caught by antivirus programs. The antivirus vendors then update their signatures and all of a sudden, legitimate Autoit programs get zapped. Very irritating.

You have two options.
1.Disable your antivirus program, download a new copy, install it and exclude its exe from your antivirus - finally reenable your AV program.
-or-
2. Stop using the program.

A third, altogether better solution, is to change to using CumulusMX which has support for Weathercloud built in.

EA1AY
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu 02 May 2013 11:17 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: N.W. SPAIN

Re: Cumulus Support for Weathercloud

Post by EA1AY » Thu 15 Dec 2016 2:48 pm

William Siqueira wrote:I'm from Brazil, my cumulus reports correct pro wunder, however pro weathercloud it only reports the bizarre -17.8 ° C, not out of it, all the configurations are correct, already tried everything and does not work, please help me

These are the configuration files has an Error?
Me too :roll:

https://app.weathercloud.net/d0270448339#current

Sent data to 6 o 7 sites OK but weahtercloud no... -17.8ºC

Using Cumulus 1.9.4 (1099) over Windows XP.

Greetings from NW Spain.

User avatar
N0BGS
Posts: 200
Joined: Sat 10 Nov 2012 2:26 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Operating System: Win7vm,VMWare ESXi 6.5
Location: Hermon, Maine USA
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Support for Weathercloud

Post by N0BGS » Thu 15 Dec 2016 5:53 pm

Adrian Hudson wrote:Hello all.

I'm the author of this utility.

The program is written in a language called Autoit (https://www.autoitscript.com) which is very good but has the unfortunate problem that many antivirus programs flag programs written in it as viruses  (https://www.autoitscript.com/forum/topi ... -infected/). 

The issue with autoit seems to be that, while it is, as I say, very good, it is also very easy for people to write malicious applications with it. This means that other, non-malicous applications that are also written in Autoit are often flagged by antivirus packages. It seems to go in phases as you seem to be finding here. Suddenly, a program that has been working for ages is suddenly flagged as suspicious. What has happend is someone, somewhere has written a "virus" in Autoit and been caught by antivirus programs. The antivirus vendors then update their signatures and all of a sudden, legitimate Autoit programs get zapped. Very irritating.

You have two options.
1.Disable your antivirus program, download a new copy, install it and exclude its exe from your antivirus - finally reenable your AV program.
-or-
2. Stop using the program.

A third, altogether better solution, is to change to using CumulusMX which has support for Weathercloud built in.
I believe Adrian. I ran this program for over a month with no issues. It is not a virus. Since then I have upgraded to CumulusMX so I no longer need it.

As he says above, If you want to download and use it in Windows, first go to Control Panel/Administrative Tools/Services. In the Services applet temporarily turn your AV program OFF. Download the file and install as described in the readme. You must add weathercloud.exe to your AV or anti-malware programs exception list. If you are uncertain how to do that Google it.

I've been an IT professional for 20 years and have dealt with hundreds of viruses. Despite all the false positives, the program is safe.

--Kurt
Blitzortung Station 1809

User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 1731
Joined: Sun 28 Sep 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2+ w/Envoy USB
Operating System: Windows-8
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Support for Weathercloud

Post by PaulMy » Fri 16 Dec 2016 4:27 am

Thank you Adrian and Kurt for giving me confidence. I have reinstalled and now Weathercloud upload is working again as it had for a couple of years http://app.weathercloud.net/d0280022074.

Enjoying,
Paul

Red Raspberry
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri 07 Mar 2014 7:05 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Operating System: Windows 7 Pro 64 bit
Location: Ashkum, Illinois

Re: Cumulus Support for Weathercloud

Post by Red Raspberry » Wed 04 Oct 2017 3:00 pm

William Siqueira wrote:I'm from Brazil, my cumulus reports correct pro wunder, however pro weathercloud it only reports the bizarre -17.8 ° C, not out of it, all the configurations are correct, already tried everything and does not work, please help me

These are the configuration files has an Error?
I just installed Weather Cloud a month ago and it too displays the bad numbers and reports an error.

The only thing I can figure out is my Cumulus folder is not on the C:/ drive, rather my E:/ drive. All the instructions reference C:/Cumulus for the files.

Post Reply