Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.9.0 (build 3095) - 09 October 2020 (please see announcement regarding releases since 3.5.0)
Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of the NOAA report and Snow Index drop-down menus to 2030)

Use this Wiki link to Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items).

A novel real-time gauge display

Discussion and questions about Cumulus weather station software version 1. This section is the main place to get help with Cumulus 1 software developed by Steve Loft that ceased development in November 2014.
User avatar
Super-T
Posts: 842
Joined: Tue 09 Sep 2008 3:37 am
Weather Station: wh-1081
Operating System: Weather Laptop - Windows 10 Pro
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: A novel real-time gauge display

Post by Super-T »

Text window a bit upset in IE11......I blame MS :-)

User avatar
Super-T
Posts: 842
Joined: Tue 09 Sep 2008 3:37 am
Weather Station: wh-1081
Operating System: Weather Laptop - Windows 10 Pro
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: A novel real-time gauge display

Post by Super-T »

It changed. Text ok but other problem.
Still OK in Firefox
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 6986
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: A novel real-time gauge display

Post by mcrossley »

Super-T wrote:Text window a bit upset in IE11......I blame MS :-)
Doh, I feel another VM coming on to load the IE11 preview - I've avoided up till now :(

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 6986
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: A novel real-time gauge display

Post by mcrossley »

Hmm, I tried IE11 in Windows 8.1 and I got a scaling issue on the page first load which I'll look into (the cause is IE11 displaying a scroll bar on the right whilst the page loads, then removing when the page is complete). Scaling issues can be resolved by resizing the window, then restoring it, that forces my rescaling code to run and sort everything out. After that it initial load seemed to work OK, especially once everything was in the browser cache. Its a tad slow but I am running Win8.1 in a VM on my laptop.

User avatar
Super-T
Posts: 842
Joined: Tue 09 Sep 2008 3:37 am
Weather Station: wh-1081
Operating System: Weather Laptop - Windows 10 Pro
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: A novel real-time gauge display

Post by Super-T »

I see the temporary scroll bar in IE11
Today on first load I get this. Reload fixed it.
Sorry....just being lazy about resizing.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 6986
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: A novel real-time gauge display

Post by mcrossley »

HiTerry. Yep that is the result of removing the scroll bar and not triggering a resize event. I already call the resize code twice on load. Looks like I'll have to see if I can conjure up another method.

BCJKiwi
Posts: 1005
Joined: Mon 09 Jul 2012 8:40 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Cabled with Solar
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: A novel real-time gauge display

Post by BCJKiwi »

Yes,
Looks like two steps forward one step back - oh the joys of programming!

FYI
It still takes around 10 secs to fully load on my win8 IE10 setup (if not cached).
It now shows 2 things it did not before (presumably the IE11 mods).
The wind gauge is blank for a short period after the other gauges have popped up (together),
The LCD is displaced up and left.

n9mfk
Posts: 845
Joined: Sun 10 May 2009 8:52 pm
Weather Station: davis vp2 Serial datalogger
Operating System: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Springfield, IL

Re: A novel real-time gauge display

Post by n9mfk »

very cool wood love to try it
beau

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 6986
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: A novel real-time gauge display

Post by mcrossley »

BCJKiwi wrote:Yes,
Looks like two steps forward one step back - oh the joys of programming!

FYI
It still takes around 10 secs to fully load on my win8 IE10 setup (if not cached).
It now shows 2 things it did not before (presumably the IE11 mods).
The wind gauge is blank for a short period after the other gauges have popped up (together),
The LCD is displaced up and left.
I don't think I'd made any changes then, but I have now.

Version 0.5
* Removes the cloudy sky background image and replaces it with a simple gradient - hopefully the load time should more accurately reflect to time for the 'gadget' rather than the gadget + background.
* Removes the 'loading...' image and replaces it with text, again an attempt at a speed up.
* Keeps the 'Loading...' message up until the wind speed gauge has loaded - this may slow the apparent page load a little, but gives a cleaner display.
* Incorporates a frig/fix for IE11 display scaling on initial load
* Delays the pre-caching of the pop-up background.

It is still quite slow on initial load (around 10 seconds), most of which (~8.5 seconds) is loading the background image (~340KB) from my old laptop over my ADSL line. I'll try and squeeze the image smaller, but it is already fairly well optimised - the price of having a 'realistic' rendition I am afraid.

prodata
Posts: 256
Joined: Sat 05 Feb 2011 7:13 pm
Weather Station: VP2
Operating System: Windows - all flavours
Location: Littleport, East Cambs, UK

Re: A novel real-time gauge display

Post by prodata »

[from afar, well the IOW at least]

Mark, what's 'initial load'? Is that first time ever? Or first time in a session? Looking at my server, clearing the browser cache still gives a reload in around a second, but maybe that's not a good test?

What's the initial load time for you from the elyweather site?
John Dann
Prodata Weather Systems
Littleport, East Cambs, UK
http://www.weatherstations.co.uk

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 6986
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: A novel real-time gauge display

Post by mcrossley »

prodata wrote:[from afar, well the IOW at least]

Mark, what's 'initial load'? Is that first time ever? Or first time in a session? Looking at my server, clearing the browser cache still gives a reload in around a second, but maybe that's not a good test?

What's the initial load time for you from the elyweather site?
I using initial load to mean a browser with nothing in the cache. Your page loads much faster than mine - about 2-3 seconds - but yours is running on a proper web server rather than a home hosted multi-tasking single CPU ancient laptop like mine. I expect version 0.5 should get down to 1-2 seconds on your server for me.

PS: You're supposed to be on holiday! ;-)

BCJKiwi
Posts: 1005
Joined: Mon 09 Jul 2012 8:40 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Cabled with Solar
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: A novel real-time gauge display

Post by BCJKiwi »

Mark,
I can confirm the load is much faster off prodata's server (still the previous version) and about the same off your server.
Both issues mentioned in my previous post fixed but the wind gauge still does some funny needle jumps as it is being first displayed - it seems to come up with the needles in the right place (i.e. showing values), jumps to zero and moves back to the current values - but not every time it is refreshed!

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 6986
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: A novel real-time gauge display

Post by mcrossley »

Are you using IE11 by any chance? It seems to behave differently from the other browsers in that if you change the rotation angle whilst the pervious animation is still running, then it jumps back to the start of the previous animation and moves from there. The other browsers start the new animation from where the previous one had got up to. The effect is only on the second load of the real-time data, because the first load could be at anytime after the file has been updated. So less than the update interval. Subsequent updates will synchronised with the file update.

Probably not very well explained. But I know about it. It is not usually visible on the prodata version because the animation is much shorter than the update period.

BCJKiwi
Posts: 1005
Joined: Mon 09 Jul 2012 8:40 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Cabled with Solar
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: A novel real-time gauge display

Post by BCJKiwi »

Mark, if that Q is for me, then no, I use IE10 as my main browser and for that test.

User avatar
odintheterrible
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed 16 Jan 2013 8:18 am
Weather Station: Aercus WS3083 Wireless
Operating System: Windows 10 64-bit
Location: Torre-Pacheco, Murcia, Spain

Re: A novel real-time gauge display

Post by odintheterrible »

Greetings,
These look very nice.
As an only occasional visitor to the forum I'd be interested in integrating these into a web page so can you tell me where/how one can obtain a copy of the scripts/codes etc ?
Many thanks
"Qui Custodit Ipsos Custodes ? ..."

Duct Tape is like 'The Force' ... it has a 'Light Side' AND a 'Dark Side' and it binds the Universe together !

Post Reply