Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.9.0 (build 3095) - 09 October 2020 (please see announcement regarding releases since 3.5.0)
Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of the NOAA report and Snow Index drop-down menus to 2030)

Use this Wiki link to Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items).

Cumulus program has stopped working (Windows 7 PC)

Discussion and questions about Cumulus weather station software version 1. This section is the main place to get help with Cumulus 1 software developed by Steve Loft that ceased development in November 2014.
Post Reply
User avatar
odintheterrible
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed 16 Jan 2013 8:18 am
Weather Station: Aercus WS3083 Wireless
Operating System: Windows 10 64-bit
Location: Torre-Pacheco, Murcia, Spain

Cumulus program has stopped working (Windows 7 PC)

Post by odintheterrible »

Greetings one and all,

Don't know if anyone can help but I seem to have developed a serious 'issue' with running Cumulus (last stable version available) on my Windows 7 (64bit) PC.

In short, when I open the program, it simple freezes and the little red error icon glows. Then it simple defies all attempts to close the window: the only course of action left is to close it via the Task Manager function (Ctrl + Alt + Del) which does actually close the program.

If I try and restart, then the same happens. I've tried downloading the program again and reinstalling but it makes no difference ... same result.

Anyone else suffering this or have an idea as to what's going on ????? Any input appreciated.

Thanks

Image
"Qui Custodit Ipsos Custodes ? ..."

Duct Tape is like 'The Force' ... it has a 'Light Side' AND a 'Dark Side' and it binds the Universe together !

bruce45
Posts: 365
Joined: Wed 07 Jan 2009 10:36 pm
Weather Station: wh1081
Operating System: windows 10
Location: Oban Scotland

Re: Cumulus program has stopped working (Windows 7 PC)

Post by bruce45 »

check in device manager that the base station is been seen as a human interface device by unplugging a the usb cable and then reconnecting. you might hear the relay click as you plug the usb cable in but that really only indicates that power is getting to the unit and windows may not be seeing it for data. could be a faulty cable or usb port or the base station has given up.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26702
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Cumulus program has stopped working (Windows 7 PC)

Post by steve »

See the FAQ: http://wiki.sandaysoft.com/a/FAQ#Cumulu ... to_kill_it

The terse 'no response' message is telling you that your station isn't responding. Not being able to do anything with Cumulus subsequently is a bug which I fixed in 1.9.4.

If Bruce's suggestions don't help, you will probably have to reset the station, as in the FAQ.
Steve

User avatar
odintheterrible
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed 16 Jan 2013 8:18 am
Weather Station: Aercus WS3083 Wireless
Operating System: Windows 10 64-bit
Location: Torre-Pacheco, Murcia, Spain

Re: Cumulus program has stopped working (Windows 7 PC)

Post by odintheterrible »

bruce45 wrote:check in device manager that the base station is been seen as a human interface device by unplugging a the usb cable and then reconnecting. you might hear the relay click as you plug the usb cable in but that really only indicates that power is getting to the unit and windows may not be seeing it for data. could be a faulty cable or usb port or the base station has given up.
Cheers for that.
I've checked the cable and tried unplugging and plugging back in to a different USB port and indeed, the unit does respond and then does show in the Device Manager list ... but, now that you mention it, when starting Cumulus, the initial Data progress window doesn't actually shown any progress ... then that's where the prog freezes.
I had bought some Philips AA Lithium Ultra batteries for the winter so that the transmitter on the mast outside wouldn't stop working when the temperature dips (these FR6 batteries have a wide operating temperature range that extends from - 20 to + 30 degrees Celsius, so no unexpected gaps in enjoyment in extreme weather! Additionally, The battery remains fresh for use for up to 7 years. Every battery suffers from energy loss when not in use. Philips guarantee that the battery contains at least 80% of its initial energy within the best before date, which in the case of the one's I've bought is 10-2022!) ... so I'll reset the unit and take the opportunity to fit these new batteries to both Tx & Rx.
Thanks again for the input :-)

Image
"Qui Custodit Ipsos Custodes ? ..."

Duct Tape is like 'The Force' ... it has a 'Light Side' AND a 'Dark Side' and it binds the Universe together !

User avatar
odintheterrible
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed 16 Jan 2013 8:18 am
Weather Station: Aercus WS3083 Wireless
Operating System: Windows 10 64-bit
Location: Torre-Pacheco, Murcia, Spain

Re: Cumulus program has stopped working (Windows 7 PC)

Post by odintheterrible »

steve wrote:See the FAQ: http://wiki.sandaysoft.com/a/FAQ#Cumulu ... to_kill_it

The terse 'no response' message is telling you that your station isn't responding. Not being able to do anything with Cumulus subsequently is a bug which I fixed in 1.9.4.

If Bruce's suggestions don't help, you will probably have to reset the station, as in the FAQ.
Hi,
Many thanks for the input.
I think I'm defo heading for a hard reset of the station.
"Qui Custodit Ipsos Custodes ? ..."

Duct Tape is like 'The Force' ... it has a 'Light Side' AND a 'Dark Side' and it binds the Universe together !

Post Reply