Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.6.5 (build 3081) - 28 May 2020 (please see important announcement regarding releases since 3.5.0)
Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of the NOAA report and Snow Index drop-down menus to 2030)

See the Wiki to download the software or click on the Downloads link in the Forum Banner.

Convert Weather Display data to Cumulus?

Discussion and questions about Cumulus weather station software version 1. This section is the main place to get help with Cumulus 1 software developed by Steve Loft that ceased development in November 2014.
User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26704
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Convert Weather Display data to Cumulus?

Post by steve »

Can you not just post the same line here from the file that the converter created?
Steve

gandalf
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun 22 May 2011 6:10 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage pro 2
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Slovenia

Re: Convert Weather Display data to Cumulus?

Post by gandalf »

new log line

line10789 08.02.14;15:52;6,5;87;4,5;3,5;5,4;184;0,0;8,8;1006,00;124,5;0,0;0;5,4;6,5;6,5;0;0;0,00;0,00;4,6;0;0,0;184;0,0;8,8 new
Image

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26704
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Convert Weather Display data to Cumulus?

Post by steve »

I have no idea how the runtime can write "0,0" for an integer, perhaps it's a bug in the runtime. That "87" is the humidity, also an integer, and written in exactly the same way. I'll try to find some time to try it myself - I don't understand why no-one else apparently is seeing this.
Steve

gandalf
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun 22 May 2011 6:10 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage pro 2
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Slovenia

Re: Convert Weather Display data to Cumulus?

Post by gandalf »

Is these mean that these new log file is not ok?
Image

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26704
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Convert Weather Display data to Cumulus?

Post by steve »

Sorry, I miscounted the fields. And you edited your previous post (after I had replied!) so I didn't see that it had changed. In this latest example, the bearing is correctly written as an integer - 184.

So now I don't understand what your previous post means - what are 'old' 'problems' and 'new' supposed to mean?
Steve

gandalf
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun 22 May 2011 6:10 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage pro 2
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Slovenia

Re: Convert Weather Display data to Cumulus?

Post by gandalf »

it mean that i try to convert these log file feb14log again to see if is working ok.

line10789 08.02.14;15:52;6,5;87;4,5;3,5;5,4;0,0;0,0;8,8;1006,00;124,5;0,0;0;5,4;6,5;6,5;0;11;0,40;0,00;4,6;0;0,0;0,0;0,0;8,8 old log file
line10789 08.02.14;15:52;6,5;87;4,5;3,5;5,4;184;0,0;8,8;1006,00;124,5;0,0;0;5,4;6,5;6,5;0;0;0,00;0,00;4,6;0;0,0;184;0,0;8,8 these is is new.
Image

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26704
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Convert Weather Display data to Cumulus?

Post by steve »

So the converter is working OK?
Steve

gandalf
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun 22 May 2011 6:10 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage pro 2
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Slovenia

Re: Convert Weather Display data to Cumulus?

Post by gandalf »

Yes its working ok. :clap:
Image

legi
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue 18 Aug 2015 7:26 am
Weather Station: WMR200
Operating System: Windows10
Location: Henggart, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Convert Weather Display data to Cumulus?

Post by legi »

Hi
I come from WD as well. First, I stayed too long with WD, not that this is a bad App, but for me, it's menues are too complicated and confused. Cumulus is perfect for me. I downloaded it yesterday and have already better results on my Homepage than ever.
Maybe I'm asking some stupid questions in the beginning :oops:

I have imported all the logfiles in the "data" directory. Seems all ok.
Question is - can I get these data in the view section "this year" and get old data from the converted WD files.
Or is the only way to see the data in the "data logs" view?

Thanks Peter

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26704
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Convert Weather Display data to Cumulus?

Post by steve »

You can use the editors in Cumulus (on the edit menu) to update the various high/low data. Start with dayfile.txt and then move on to the others.
Steve

stu_iow
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri 11 Sep 2015 8:23 am
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Win 10
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Convert Weather Display data to Cumulus?

Post by stu_iow »

Is the output from this convertor Ok to go straight into Cumulus, create day files, then go straight into CumulusMX?
Running CumulusMX on a RPI2. Coming over straight from using WD for 10 years.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26704
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Convert Weather Display data to Cumulus?

Post by steve »

That's the hope, yes, but I can't guarantee it will always do a perfect job, given what I had to work with.
Steve

gwminor
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri 29 Apr 2016 1:16 pm
Weather Station: Oregon Scientific WMR968
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Texas

Re: Convert Weather Display data to Cumulus?

Post by gwminor »

Is the WDconverter available at a different location? The Sandaysoft link doesn't work, I believe the author retired?

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 6473
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Convert Weather Display data to Cumulus?

Post by mcrossley »

I have uploaded a copy to the Software Download page in the Wiki - https://cumuluswiki.wxforum.net/a/Software

gwminor
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri 29 Apr 2016 1:16 pm
Weather Station: Oregon Scientific WMR968
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Texas

Re: Convert Weather Display data to Cumulus?

Post by gwminor »

Ah, thank you very much!

Post Reply