Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.10.5 (build 3122) - 06 April 2021 (please see announcement regarding releases since 3.5.0)
Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of drop-down menus to 2030)

Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items) from the Wiki

Changed website hosts an no ftp updates in Cumulus 1

Discussion and questions about Cumulus weather station software version 1. This section is the main place to get help with Cumulus 1 software developed by Steve Loft that ceased development in November 2014.
Post Reply
User avatar
Super-T
Posts: 850
Joined: Tue 09 Sep 2008 3:37 am
Weather Station: wh-1081
Operating System: Weather Laptop - Windows 10 Pro
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Changed website hosts an no ftp updates in Cumulus 1

Post by Super-T »

Going around in circles here. I have changed the address to the new server, see pic.
Also changed daily.ftp file info see pic.
The filezilla location is, see last pic
My question is, what have I missed or is it a problem with the Host at Netneeds. I am also having problems sending emails but can receive so I would guess it is a host problem.
What do I need from the the Host at Netneeds?
2021-03-30_171052.png
2021-03-30_171216.png
2021-03-30_171413.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

water01
Posts: 2137
Joined: Sat 13 Aug 2011 9:33 am
Weather Station: WH1081
Operating System: Windows 10 64bit
Location: Burnham-on-Sea
Contact:

Re: Changed website hosts an no ftp updates in Cumulus 1

Post by water01 »

Your directory should be public_html/httpdocs/weather and I would also check that they accept an old style ftp connection as most now only accept a secure ftp connection (FTPS or SFTP). To do that you are going to have to swap to CumulusMX or use an external program in Cumulus 1 as it does not support secure connections.
David
Image

User avatar
Super-T
Posts: 850
Joined: Tue 09 Sep 2008 3:37 am
Weather Station: wh-1081
Operating System: Weather Laptop - Windows 10 Pro
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Changed website hosts an no ftp updates in Cumulus 1

Post by Super-T »

Error pic doesn't show the public_html/httpdocs/weather.

Other pics show the setup.

Its very strange as I tried to put the weather directory after the public_html and I changed the upload program and internet setting but it still wanted to put the httpdocs in the uploading. Perhaps there is somewhere else that I need to change but couldn't find anywhere.

I ftp with filezilla so I assume it is OK with standard ftp but will check with the Host tomorrow,
2021-03-30_231619.png
2021-03-30_231819.png
2021-03-30_231903.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Super-T
Posts: 850
Joined: Tue 09 Sep 2008 3:37 am
Weather Station: wh-1081
Operating System: Weather Laptop - Windows 10 Pro
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Changed website hosts an no ftp updates in Cumulus 1

Post by Super-T »

All up and running thanks to BCJKiwi.

Mostly due to where the root directory should be. It needed to be \public_html\weather

RayProudfoot
Posts: 2942
Joined: Wed 06 May 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Changed website hosts an no ftp updates in Cumulus 1

Post by RayProudfoot »

As one of the few Cumulus1 users left I can confirm I upload to /public_html which appears to the default location unless the user wishes to change it.
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image

User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 2573
Joined: Sun 28 Sep 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2+ Cumulus1 / CummulusMX
Operating System: Windows8 / Windows10
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: Changed website hosts an no ftp updates in Cumulus 1

Post by PaulMy »

Hi Ray,
For me with GoDaddy Cumulus1 (yes I still use that too) is just public_html (no leading nor trailing /) and the same for CumulusMX.

Enjoy,
Paul

RayProudfoot
Posts: 2942
Joined: Wed 06 May 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Changed website hosts an no ftp updates in Cumulus 1

Post by RayProudfoot »

@PaulMy, when something just works and gives you all you need I don’t feel the need to change it. HostPresto have been brilliant. No issues whatsoever.
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image

User avatar
Super-T
Posts: 850
Joined: Tue 09 Sep 2008 3:37 am
Weather Station: wh-1081
Operating System: Weather Laptop - Windows 10 Pro
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Changed website hosts an no ftp updates in Cumulus 1

Post by Super-T »

Ray. Can you post images of your Internet configuration along with the files folder please?

RayProudfoot
Posts: 2942
Joined: Wed 06 May 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Changed website hosts an no ftp updates in Cumulus 1

Post by RayProudfoot »

Terry,

Here you are. There are extra files I upload and those are added by hand in the Cumulus.ini file.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image

User avatar
Super-T
Posts: 850
Joined: Tue 09 Sep 2008 3:37 am
Weather Station: wh-1081
Operating System: Weather Laptop - Windows 10 Pro
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Changed website hosts an no ftp updates in Cumulus 1

Post by Super-T »

Hi Ray
It's interesting that you only have auto Update in the Web Settings box. I also have ftp rename and UTF-8 ticked. I'll have to have a play and read the instructions for them.
I'll also have to study your Files uploads. Some of them probably apply for me.

Thanks :-)

RayProudfoot
Posts: 2942
Joined: Wed 06 May 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Changed website hosts an no ftp updates in Cumulus 1

Post by RayProudfoot »

Hi Terry,

I haven’t changed any of those settings in years except when Steve ended his hosting and I switched to HostPresto. All I can say is everything works. I should change the forum link as the redirection won’t last forever.
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image

User avatar
Super-T
Posts: 850
Joined: Tue 09 Sep 2008 3:37 am
Weather Station: wh-1081
Operating System: Weather Laptop - Windows 10 Pro
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Changed website hosts an no ftp updates in Cumulus 1

Post by Super-T »

Ive gone to the same settings as you to see what happens.
In files I have none for process as a trial and all seems ok.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

RayProudfoot
Posts: 2942
Joined: Wed 06 May 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Changed website hosts an no ftp updates in Cumulus 1

Post by RayProudfoot »

Terry, a quick glance at your website suggests you’ve used Steve’s default template. I modified several of mine which perhaps explains why I upload more files than you.

The only change in the last few years has been the adoption of a new Data Summary page replacing the original. One of the live gauges page requires Silverlight which was withdrawn ages ago. I’ll remove that when I next do some work on it.
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image

Post Reply